wazua Tue, Jul 22, 2025

5 Pages«<345
ethiopia powers on as kenya is reduced to a chattering shop
#81 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:00:43 PM

Proof that man is the most adaptable being.

Ethiopia Govt ignored human rights and instead offered the west a security partner to counter islamic radicalisation.

to get attention, the Oromo people opted to attack western interests, so as to get attention from the west, tell you what, its working.
PeterReborn
#82 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:12:03 PM

Kenya will be the beneficiary of all the riots.All those investors who had run away to Ethiopia will be back....
Consistency is better than intensity
PeterReborn
#83 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:14:23 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
The problem of growing in economics and ignoring the social aspects.The same issue we have in Kenya.It doesn't matter how well your infrastructure programs are if you ignore the social fabric.

i call it the idolatry of efficiency and progress. I see people talking about Singapore, Benevolent dictatorships e.t.c. Even Gadaffi was a benevolent dictator. You know what works? an open society! I think i once said that people need to differentiate a couple of things
1) Democracy
2) Modernity
3) Freedom
4) Prosperity
They are not always related and some can occur on their own... You know what develops a society? PEOPLE not governments... PEOPLE... Gava just catalyses this development and societies that everyone contributes and feels a part of a great societies.

Agreed.Politicians normally use the prosperity claim to promote their agenda.The benefits unfortunately do not trickle down to the common man.
#84 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:39:53 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Kenya will be the beneficiary of all the riots.All those investors who had run away to Ethiopia will be back....

Ethiopia has a much darker past and have endured worse situations

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qey_Shibir
chemirocha
#85 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:40:28 PM

chemirocha wrote:
majimaji wrote:

Ethiopia is a powder keg ready to explode. I do not understand how the people in the oldest african christian civilisation (ethiopia and eritrea) allow their rulers to oppress them.

Civil rights are restricted and the security agencies are only too willing to crack heads. The situation in Eritrea is even worse where conscription is mandatory and can last for decades.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
It's only mandatory once you complete their high school equivalent and lasts for a year-I think it is their NYS equivalent of the 80's

That might be the government position but the reality is that it is often several years of hard labour and poor wages. Conscription is one of the major reasons Eritrean asylum seekers use when they risk their lives to flee to western countries.
PeterReborn
#86 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:42:47 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Ethiopia has a much darker past and have endured worse situations

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qey_Shibir

I am talking of kina Dangote who was importing cheap cement into KE from Ethiopia.
#87 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:46:09 PM

chemirocha wrote:
majimaji wrote:

Ethiopia is a powder keg ready to explode. I do not understand how the people in the oldest african christian civilisation (ethiopia and eritrea) allow their rulers to oppress them.

Civil rights are restricted and the security agencies are only too willing to crack heads. The situation in Eritrea is even worse where conscription is mandatory and can last for decades.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
It's only mandatory once you complete their high school equivalent and lasts for a year-I think it is their NYS equivalent of the 80's

That might be the government position but the reality is that it is often several years of hard labour and poor wages. Conscription is one of the major reasons Eritrean asylum seekers use when they risk their lives to flee to western countries.

The Govt should really consider returning mandatory service for all youth who finish form 4 and are joining any govt tertiary institution.

They represent a treasure trove of cheap labour, and they can be used for cleaning up, teaching assistants, even traffic control in the estates etc.
sitaki.kujulikana
#88 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:58:54 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Ethiopia Govt ignored human rights and instead offered the west a security partner to counter islamic radicalisation.

to get attention, the Oromo people opted to attack western interests, so as to get attention from the west, tell you what, its working.

I don't think the west cares much about Ethiopia or the Oromo people, its a lose lose situation.
#89 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 4:00:44 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I don't think the west cares much about Ethiopia or the Oromo people, its a lose lose situation.

Off course they don't and that's why they have ignored the human rights abuses under this regime. However, they do care about their image and the investments from their countrymen, so soon you will hear that Europe will not accept "Blood roses" (just made that up).
#90 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 8:24:54 PM

Pray
#91 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 8:30:09 PM

Pray

Trump was right. Hii ni $hithole. Is this how you treat foreign investors?
#92 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 8:58:25 PM

Pray

Investing in another land is always going to be a challenge... wewe enda Russia saa hii and start a business uone.
#93 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 9:13:33 PM

Pray

Investing in another land is always going to be a challenge... wewe enda Russia saa hii and start a business uone.

How many get shot in US coz of business stuff?
#94 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 9:23:40 PM

Pray

I thought the Oromo would be pacified by having one of their own as PM!
#95 Posted : Wednesday, May 16, 2018 9:35:33 PM

Pray

With one of their own occupying "state house", the first time in history, they believe they are above the law. Expect more "haki yetu" chaos.....and righting the past wrongs.
#96 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 8:51:27 AM

Pray

With one of their own occupying "state house", the first time in history, they believe they are above the law. Expect more "haki yetu" chaos.....and righting the past wrongs.

No! The Oromo know that the appointment is mere tokenism! The real power is still with the Tigrinya
#97 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2018 2:14:46 PM

Ethiopia is a basket case. They need prayers.

https://www.the-star.co....sting-soldiers_c1833285

Ethiopia's prime minister has done press-ups with dozens of protesting soldiers, who marched with guns into his office in the capital, Addis Ababa.

Abiy Ahmed was unhappy that soldiers had brought weapons into his office and ordered them to do 10 press-ups.

They were among several hundred protesting soldiers who entered his office grounds to demand a pay rise.

#98 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2018 2:51:32 PM

Ethiopia's prime minister has done press-ups with dozens of protesting soldiers, who marched with guns into his office in the capital, Addis Ababa.

Abiy Ahmed was unhappy that soldiers had brought weapons into his office and ordered them to do 10 press-ups.

They were among several hundred protesting soldiers who entered his office grounds to demand a pay rise.

You see basket case, I see great leadership.

Soldiers enter the PMs office with guns demanding higher pay. What were his options:

1) Declare the situation a National Security matter and unleash heavy fire killing all of them. He would be justified. He is the Prime Minister and these guys had done something illegal and also terribly stupid. The repercussions in the country and around the world would only go to destabilise the country.

2) Lie to them that they will be paid or even if he does not lie to them accede to their demand. The situation is diffused the soldiers go away happy but a bad precedent has been set. They now know that when we have a problem we just need to walk to the PMs office with guns and he will do what we want.

3) What he did. Treat them like adult human beings and tell them the truth. Hakuna pesa, we are trying to develop something here and everyone is having to do with a little. And by the way this tabia of coming to my office with guns is not good so I will give you some punishment, do ten push ups and I will show you how. Just sit there for a moment and contemplate what this guy has achieved with that simple gesture. He has demonstrated strength, fairness, truthfulness and won hearts and minds of many who would be against him. The soldiers are confident that this guy will listen to us but he will also tell us the truth.

This is my opinion is the highest form of leadership I have ever seen in a leader in this region.
MugundaMan
#99 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2018 3:55:13 PM

Ethiopia indeed has serious issues.
You simply cannot compare that country to Kenya on all levels
How can a country with double our population have the same GDP as us (or slightly higher) and people are claiming they are "doing better?" Wapi?
We need to partner with them and teach them how to build a private sector, but for us to do that they need to open up their economy to foreign competition like we did many decades ago. Even China learned the hard way that operating a closed economy simply will not work to your benefit over the long term, despite the short term surges in GDP growth that a closed economy can experience.
The incident above with the pushups just shows how fragile that country is. For someone to say this country is "powering on" (with pushups?) compared to us is laughable at best. Ethiopia of today is like Kenya in 1982 with Ochuka and his rebels & a one party regime, which means they have a long way to go before they become a stable, progressive country.
#100 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2018 4:30:45 PM

The push up story is interesting because it seems to be saying that Ethiopia has changed in a way that may difficult to say as yet.

But it's true that they appear to have a great leader.

Could this be a sign of a resurgent and glorious Ethiopia? I think so.