wazua Mon, Jan 20, 2025

12 Pages<12345>»
Kenya Debt Watch
kizee
#41 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 2:13:35 PM

@ wa ithaka...u have a point..cbk however argue that many tbill issues are to basically absorb maturing obligations...but yeah GOK has tonnes of money yet they do zero with it..
Scubidu
#42 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 9:54:43 AM

@Wa_ithaka. Excellent point, maybe they need more CPAs and less economists in MOF. @kizee. Interesting that those 364 T-bills mature beginning August 2010 plus other 2&5 year bonds.

'Every Kenyan owes Sh30,000 in national debt'-the headline for yesterday's newspaper "The Star". Some excerpts from the article (couldn't find the paper online).

Treasury PS Joseph Kinyua told the Parliamentary Accounts Committee that the country's borrowing has been steadily rising over the last 10 years leading to the accumulation. "Mr PS, are you sure you are talking of Sh1.2 billion or Sh1.2 trillion? You had better be sure because what you are saying is scaring," Konoin MP Dr Julius Kones said when he was told that each Kenyan was now Sh30,000 in debt.

Kones asked the government to stop further borrowing to save Kenyans from incurring a huge debt burden. However, Kinyua said the government could not stop borrowing. "But we can't stop borrowing because this is done for purposes of development. We are however agreed that measures should be put in place to control the growing debt burden," Kinyua stated.

Kinyua said the government had introduced debt management strategies to rescue the public from "rogue borrowing". "Kenya is currently not among the countries listed as possible beneficiaries of debt relief. We are comfortable with that position, it is good for us," Kinyua said.

The director of Debt Management at the Treasury John Burugu explained that government borrowing had been done according to the law. "We have resorted to external borrowing because its is cheaper to domestic borrowing which is four times more expensive," Burugu said.
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
Scubidu
#43 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 7:54:57 AM

When debt becomes an issue you have to get creative and find every way to pay it down or simply pay it latter. The CBK decided to simply revise the figures for domestic interest payments in their recent weekly bulletin from Ksh49.0 billion to Ksh46.8 billion (the difference representing 27% y-o-y growth vs 21% now). The revision is on interest paid on Treasury Bills, so now we can see that the benefits of the lower T-bill.

Read more in the documents (pages 5 & 6) below:

http://www.centralbank.g...tin/2010/May/140510.pdf
http://www.centralbank.g...tin/2010/May/210510.pdf

How far down will T-bill go? Excerpts from BD article.

The falling return on government paper not only makes it easier for the government to borrow cheaply from the private sector, but it’s set to influence the direction of commercial bank lending and trading at the Nairobi Stock Exchange (NSE).

Financial analysts forecast that the rates could fall further as high liquidity, fewer investment options and risk aversion by high net worth investors push investors to place lower bids to allow them get larger allocations on the government paper.

“Chances are that the banks will continue to put money into government paper even if it sinks below the rate of inflation,” said a research analyst at an investment bank who spoke on condition of anonymity.

“In any case, they have too much cash lying idle and they can as well make something, however small it is.”

Read more:

http://www.businessdaily...76/-/9id2le/-/index.html
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
Scubidu
#44 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 11:24:08 AM

CBK wants to issue a 25 year T-bond latter this year. How long will the appetite for bonds be sustained? And if interest rates turn the corner (whenever that happens) won't this bond be the most risky.

The CBK also published the Monthly Economic Review for March 2010 showing that private sector credit has performed well in Q1 of 2010, but growth in govt credit is almost 2x. So if we look at the CBK balance sheet we see changes in govt deposits at CBK. So by March 2010 govt deposits were at Ksh64 billion, but by the end of Arpil peaked at Ksh89 billion, so it explains the liquidity issues at the end of April 2010, see post 25. Since then govt has spent Ksh20 billion in May and voila liquidity has improved with interbank rates at 2.1% last week.

The CBK still has Ksh2.28 billion as foreign liabilities which are the bonds its bought through the World Bank RAMP. The CBK earned Ksh121 million from the programe between March 2009 and June 2009 from an initial investment of Ksh15.4 billion, so that comes to about 3.2% annually from their US Bonds, I think. I'm sure they're making much more now with increased investment.

Read more on page 97 & 110:

http://www.centralbank.g.../RevisedAnnual_2009.pdf

Read more on page 46:

http://www.centralbank.g...ions/mer/2010/Mar10.pdf

If you were CBK and had Ksh15.4 billion to invest, what would you buy? GOld? US Bonds?
the sage
#45 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2010 2:07:25 PM

@Scubidu, we will have a Sh1 trillion budget this year. Recurrent expenditure is going to be Sh321 billion, how do you see the GoK getting this money.
Wa_ithaka
#46 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2010 2:54:02 PM

That is 25% higher than last yr which sounds wierd (i.e. inflation is apparently sub-10% so how?). And that when quite a large chunk was not spent.

Presumably there is where the Consolidated IPO comes...
I can see us becoming the next Greece.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
the sage
#47 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2010 3:16:15 PM

@All did not mean recurrent but development.
Scubidu
#48 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 8:34:01 AM

It won't be hard to fund the budget deficit, they'll do it the same way they're now and if privatization issues come through then things should be okay. But it's interesting that they wanted to rely more on foreign debt, which they say is cheaper, but donors always fail to deliver. Do we want our debt in Euro? I think the funding deficit will remain fairly similar justified by the high economic growth. Off course I keep an eye out for the cost of debt service (considering the low inflation) because it'll continue to eat into any revenue growth and not the debt-to-gdp ratio, which is so arbitrary. But the level of recurrent vs development exp doesn't make much difference, we're far from Greece and the CBK's policy is still expansionary.
Scubidu
#49 Posted : Monday, August 09, 2010 11:57:39 PM

In previous posts we’ve looked at the productivity of debt (debt vs GDP). But now more important are domestic interest payments given the budget deficit and reduction in short term rates. The correlation between debt and interest is quite good and it was in 2006 that the CBK debt management division began to address Kenya's domestic debt stock more vigoriously. The 5 year correlation between domestic interest payments and gross domestic debt are below:

2006 – 55%
2007 – 86%
2008 – 99%
2009 – 95%
2010 – 98%

So the growth in interest and debt has been climbing at the same rate. But is this deliberate? We need to investigate what criteria or formula (if any) is being applied to debt repayment. The interest paid on the annual average gross domestic debt is as follows:

2006 – 9%
2007 – 10%
2008 – 10%
2009 – 10%
2010 – 10%

Isn't it interesting that since 2006 interest payments have roughly been around 10% of average annual gross domestic debt. Just a coincidence? We have to remember that KRA revenue collection has grown at ~15% pa, so that has enabled the debt service ratio to remain below 30% (we covered this in an earlier post). But what is the trend in interest payments vs growth in new debt stock especially given the huge budget funding gap? The interest paid per shilling of new debt

2006 – 0.7
2007 – 0.8
2008 – 1.6
2009 – 0.5
2010 – 0.4

For every Ksh 1 in new debt we only paid Ksh 40 cents in interest payments in 2010. This is the lowest ratio since 1997 (my stats only go that far back). So are we paying debt down faster? No many bills/bonds have matured but as a matter of policy government doesn't make principal interest payments on domestic debt before maturity. So what is enabling the interest payments to drop?

The ratio of new debt stock issued (T-bills vs T-bonds)

2006 – 42/58
2007 – 0/100
2008 – 0/100
2009 – 48/52
2010 – 38/62

The ratio reveals that in 2006, 2009 and 2010 T-bills contributed big to new debt stock. The highest increase in interest payments was in 2006 when they rose 41% at a time when average short term rates were 5.83%. A combination of high debt stock and high rates. The average short term rates were 8.59% in 2008 hence the ratio of 1.6 interest/new debt (see above). A combination of high rates during high redemptions.

So have T-bills reached a floor?, I have no idea, but the rates are probably being matched against expected domestic borrowing. Given the lack of excess reserves currently would you borrow on intbank, rev repo or horz repo at 1.6%, 1.7% and 2.5% respectively to get a hold of 91D paper giving you a 1.7% return?. As an act of monetary policy the current drive to implement a low interest rate regime may not be targeting private sector credit growth alone but a key tool in containing the interest payments on our ever growing debt.

And a final quick word on Kenya's debt productivity. The real economy as measured by GDP 2001 constant (in % terms) must grow by 6.45% this year to justify productivity on a 1:1 ratio to the 90B of issued gross debt stock since the beginning of 2010. And imagine we've still got five more months of borrowing left.
Scubidu
#50 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 3:06:21 PM

The Federal Reserve Federal Open Market Committee concluded their meeting yesterday and below are some of the highlights I choose to focus on:

Measures of underlying inflation have trended lower in recent quarters, and with substantial resource slack continuing to constrain cost pressures and longer-term inflation expectations stable, inflation is likely to be subdued for some time.

The Committee will maintain the target range for the federal funds rate at 0 to 1/4 percent and continues to anticipate that economic conditions, including low rates of resource utilization, subdued inflation trends, and stable inflation expectations, are likely to warrant exceptionally low levels of the federal funds rate for an extended period.

To help support the economic recovery in a context of price stability, the Committee will keep constant the Federal Reserve's holdings of securities at their current level by reinvesting principal payments from agency debt and agency mortgage-backed securities in longer-term Treasury securities. The Committee will continue to roll over the Federal Reserve's holdings of Treasury securities as they mature.

Any parallels we can draw from the Fed's meeting and our own. The comment on resource slacking reducing pressure on cost-push and a stable inflation environment long term. Keeping fed funds rate low in anticipation of economic recovery, including subdued inflationary pressures going forward (in the long term). The mention of low resource utilization thus a lower of Kenya's CBR to promote private sector lending as CBK doesn't anticipate demand driven inflation. M3 targets have been set at 14% for 2010 versus the 26% actual growth in 2009. Perhaps they expect resource ulitization (actual to potential output gap) to improve, and thus can consider a lower target growth for M3 (augurs well for long term inflation)

Currently retirement of short term debt is accelerating since the stock of T-bills started climbing in Sept 2009. Maturities of short term paper such as 364 T-bill issued last year without any offsetting redemption. Borrowing will be through long term bonds like the 9 year IFRB. Perhaps the Central Bankers follow a similiar formula or think fairly the same.

Read more of the resolutions from the meeting below:

http://www.reuters.com/a...le/idUSTRE6794EL20100810
Scubidu
#51 Posted : Wednesday, August 18, 2010 3:13:45 PM

The official statistics are out in the latest monthly economic review indicate that debt productivity was 0.2. The published results show that GDP rose from 1.35 trillion to 1.39 trillion meaning that for every shilling of debt created by our banking system only 20 cents was generated as revenue. This is indeed a sad state of affair but this year, there are signs that the trend will continue unless GDP grows fast.

But interesting thing in the monthly review was the CBK balance sheet which indicated increased investment in US bonds by the CBK (almost 8 billion worth). However it is difficult to know whether these figures are reliable because the figure on the liability side of the balance sheet is negative and the CBK balance sheet isn't even balanced (tsk tsk).

Check out the monthly review below.

http://www.centralbank.g...tions/mer/2010/May10.pdf
Scubidu
#52 Posted : Tuesday, August 31, 2010 1:32:08 PM

Some would say that the debt situation is getting out of hand, but maybe there are statistics we may be overlooking that may add some objectivity. By May 2010, Kenya’s public debt was 1,192.2 bn comprising 650.3 bn as domestic borrowing and 542.0 bn as external borrowing. Based on respective auctions after the 20th of August 2010 (and assuming that external debt has remained constant) we can conservatively estimate that public debt has swollen to 1,231.1 bn by today. This represents a 10.46% increase in public debt since December 2009 when the figure was 1,114.5 bn.

The key ratios that Kenyan economists refer to seem to suggest that everything is okay as long as GDP, exports and taxes are rising; this is reflected in the debt to gdp ratio (up to ~48%), external debt to exports ratio (at ~ 7%) and domestic interest to revenues (which is at a very respectable 10%). These ratios are all considerably lower than they were prior to 2004. So despite the swell in debt all the indicators suggest that we’re actually managing our debt well. Well done to the country’s debt management department and CBK (for lengthening the yield curve)!

Maybe now it’s time to focus on the drivers of GDP. They say that 75-80% of the country’s GDP is driven by public consumption. Public consumption should have improved given the low inflation environment and rising imports (complimented by good credit numbers from trade finance and consumer lending; remember the manipulation before). However, CBK’s target signaled by a reduction in the CBR suggests that they want to target domestic private investment. Import statistics suggest that the country is importing less consumer goods (TVs from dubai, etc…) as compared to capital goods (machinery & equipment). These capital goods are being imported by manufacturers, industry and by government for infrastructure projects.

So the question is, is the government crowding out the private sector by undertaking investment in domestic infrastructure or somehow monopolizing funds that would otherwise be used more efficiently by the private sector. The idea here is that the private sector and government would compete for the same resources to develop infrastructure but implement projects at different speeds. Would GDP be accelerated if the private sector took the initiative (or is it the banks that are unwilling to facilitate this by becoming increasingly risk averse).

In the recent Management magazine publication, the Centum CEO Mr Mworia said “Economic growth should ideally be driven by domestic consumption and investment. However, this is not so in Kenya which is mainly a government expenditure driven economy,” he says. “No wonder, the loan rates are not local market driven leaving the investor at the mercy of those who fund the government spending,” he notes. So is Kenya taking the French/Italian model where GDP is spurred on by government investment rather than the US model where it’s all private sector development (I hope I’m making sense here).

Psss. Is there a banking cartel messing up the interest rate structure?
Scubidu
#53 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 8:41:59 PM

Peter Schiff explains the problem with debt. Check out the video below after 6:00 minutes.

Read more:

http://www.youtube.com/user/SchiffReport

Peter Schiff explains the problem with low interest rates. Check out the video below after 2.15 minutes.

Read more:

http://www.youtube.com/user/PeterSchiffChannel
Scubidu
#54 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 8:46:29 PM

Scubidu wrote:

Maybe now it’s time to focus on the drivers of GDP. They say that 75-80% of the country’s GDP is driven by public consumption. Public consumption should have improved given the low inflation environment and rising imports (complimented by good credit numbers from trade finance and consumer lending; remember the manipulation before). However, CBK’s target signaled by a reduction in the CBR suggests that they want to target domestic private investment.

Actually meant to say private consumption.
Scubidu
#55 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 2:16:37 PM

goldendelight wrote:
@Scubidu - The local banks are known to put most of their attention towards gvt bonds as opposed to risky lending to common mwananchi but this trend i think has reduced over the last few years thanks to CBK. Previously you had to proove to the bank that you can afford to do wthout a loan to actually get one, and now there's a lady who stalks my collegues and I to take up a loan, even if i dont need one at the moment. of course when there is no money available to the common mwananchi, the economy will take a hit, so intervention by CBK is great, and welcome.

I saw your comments on fractional reserve banking. Yeah, the system creatss credit whenever someone takes up a new loan, but this is debt backed by debt, in my opinion there must be an elastic limit. We already knee deep in the mess, but i can't think of an alternative at the moment. The money creation process is flawed, and our taking on things that are practised in the west will be our undoing. So far our monetary system is quite conservative, but i think soon we'll scale up in the game.

What did you think of the documentary film - money as debt? More importantly, how do you think we can escape the trap, as individuals yaani?

Secondly have u seen this, and what are your thoughts on it? http://www.theeastafrica.../-/cghfxcz/-/index.html

Personally i think infrstructure bonds are great, coz the infrastructure will stimulate growth in existing sectors, along with job creation during developments, so in a way even though we're taking on a lot of debt, its self sustaining - at least i hope so.

Ur turn...

@goldendelight. There are a few alternatives to FRB (including miniature versions like community currencies) but they have they're own flaws. FRB is the best and most flexible system though but insanely unsustainable because of our finite world. Most people our age will be dead when the real damage is done, so most don't pay attention to FRB. So for now most can exploit the system, but the next 20 years will be interesting to watch (especially when the US goes down). Our monetary system is fairly conservative, but we haven't had it for long and our politics hasn't affected things too badly (except Goldenberg 93/94). Not sure how much flexibility they'll have in future.

Yes, watched money as debt and many other documentaries (have a whole library). There's a school of economics called Austrian Economies (www.mises.org) that I'm still reading about...they have some interesting ideas and working papers. How can you escape the trap as an individual? Don't get into debt. The movies highlighted the key problem...interest. You need to save more. Kenyans are normally averse to debt. Unfortunately our whole GDP is dependent on consumption (either private or public) and so the policy is geared to less saving (US model vs China). Why should Kenyan's save? Inflation is low, non? but I didn't know they're hawking loans again. I suppose you and you colleagues earn enuf in their eyes to justify the loans and risk. Kenyan's are borrowing to consume. Which are the largest sources of private credit right now, trade (finance) and private individuals and they're growing quickly.

But what is more important is domestic investment, which brings us to the subject of your second point. I briefly read the article you attached. The IFRB's are great as we can tangibly see an increase in tax revenues from projects (also potential increase in domestic exports). Government wants to drive investment, but who does it better, government or private sector?

my 2 cents.

I don't claim to be an expert; these are just my thoughts so don't think they are all right. I'd appreciate talking more about 'money as debt' in greater depth and try to see if we can relate it to Kenya. I'm done.
goldendelight
#56 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 3:14:30 PM

Scubidu wrote:
goldendelight wrote:

@goldendelight. There are a few alternatives to FRB (including miniature versions like community currencies) but they have they're own flaws. FRB is the best and most flexible system though but insanely unsustainable because of our finite world. Most people our age will be dead when the real damage is done, so most don't pay attention to FRB. So for now most can exploit the system, but the next 20 years will be interesting to watch (especially when the US goes down). Our monetary system is fairly conservative, but we haven't had it for long and our politics hasn't affected things too badly (except Goldenberg 93/94). Not sure how much flexibility they'll have in future.

Yes, watched money as debt and many other documentaries (have a whole library). There's a school of economics called Austrian Economies (www.mises.org) that I'm still reading about...they have some interesting ideas and working papers. How can you escape the trap as an individual? Don't get into debt. The movies highlighted the key problem...interest. You need to save more. Kenyans are normally averse to debt. Unfortunately our whole GDP is dependent on consumption (either private or public) and so the policy is geared to less saving (US model vs China). Why should Kenyan's save? Inflation is low, non? but I didn't know they're hawking loans again. I suppose you and you colleagues earn enuf in their eyes to justify the loans and risk. Kenyan's are borrowing to consume. Which are the largest sources of private credit right now, trade (finance) and private individuals and they're growing quickly.

But what is more important is domestic investment, which brings us to the subject of your second point. I briefly read the article you attached. The IFRB's are great as we can tangibly see an increase in tax revenues from projects (also potential increase in domestic exports). Government wants to drive investment, but who does it better, government or private sector?

my 2 cents.

I don't claim to be an expert; these are just my thoughts so don't think they are all right. I'd appreciate talking more about 'money as debt' in greater depth and try to see if we can relate it to Kenya. I'm done.

@ Scubidu
I'm no expert either, government wants to drive investment but they can only encourage it eg improvng infrastructure, security, energy etc generally create a conducive environment for business activity. If all that is in place, private sector takes up the challenge, exploits the opportunities

eg the cck, safaricom, zain issue on tariffs will force all the mobile phone companies to now concentrate on data as they are all looking to loose major revenue on voice business. At least Safaricom is ahead on that front, and Zain is developing 3g, but what happens to the others. Ok now I'm digressing, my point is cck's intervention will encourage these changes.

On unrelated matter, me thinks the Mobicom dealer had an idea of these tariff changes, and made their move, the question is, can Orange match up to this compe?
Wa_ithaka
#57 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 3:20:06 PM

Why do we complicate GoK debt talk? If you look at your income. Lets say you were funding your monthly spend (including savings) with a mixture of salary and debt, would you justify only putting 3% in investments as Kenya currently does?
Scubidu
#58 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 8:53:48 PM

@goldendelight. You have a good point. But it's a question of whose more qualified? Who has a better CV or track record? And maybe who employs better? I also think that the private sector can also do infrastructure development...I remember some time ago someone had suggested private public partnerships, I wonder what happened to that? Don't know much about Mobicom, polee.

@wa_ithaka. Aahhh good point. Very logical. So if we use you to represent the economy and your wealthy Uncle as the government. Dorman's as local firms and Nescafe as foreign producers. Let's try an experiment and see if we look at this issue.

(1) With your monthly savings+debt, would you buy Dorman's Kenyan Coffee or imported Nescafe?

(2) If you buy Nescafe, who benefits in your economy?

(3) If you do buy Dorman's, where will they get the capital to compete with Nescafe to grow their operations, if they have access to only 3%? If you consume more of them, they'll need to expand, so would it be logical to spend more on them and save more for them; i.e., more than 3% for the good of Dorman's?

(4) If the bank's want to reduce their risks who do they lend to, your filthy rich uncle or Dorman's? Remember the bank's are lending only 3% so it's a sensitive issue. If it's not doing that then it's using it's unlimited credit facility but the question remains would your filthy uncle or Dorman's use the funds better for more consumption (afterall your economy is measured on how much you spend/consume monthly)...isn't that the issue?
Scubidu
#59 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 8:57:50 PM

@Wa_ithaka. Mr US uses its big salary plus loads of debt to fund its consumption. Mr China uses its big salary and savings to lend to Mr US. What happens to the US when Mr China stops lending it its salary/savings? Mr China can use his salary of himself and still has capital from his savings, non?

A quick analogy from Peter Schiff. From a speech he gave to mortgage bankers in 2006.

The same Wall Street analysts that told us the internet era was a new era are now telling us that this current era of American consumption and global production is viable and it’s not. I’ll give you a quick little analogy and move on to another subject. I mentioned this on my website and used it in various speaking engagements, but to describe it as dynamic.

Assume that a group of castaways are stranded on an island; let’s say five of them are Asian and one of them is American. They are stranded on this island and they have to divide up the workload, so one of the Asians is given the job of hunting and looking for meat. Another one is going to be fishing and looking to catch fish. And another one is responsible for exploring the island for vegetation and still another one gets the job of looking for wood, to build the fire, to cook the meal.

And then it comes to the American and they asked themselves what job they would assign to the American. Well the American gets assigned the job of eating. And so at the end of the day, all these Asians gather around this big table after a hard day of foraging, hunting and fishing and they prepare to feed this American, who did nothing all day but sun himself on the beach (he had a service economy). In any event a modern economist who was looking at this islands economy would say the American is the key to the whole thing. Without the American and his ravenous appetite these poor Asians would have nothing to do all day, they’d be unemployed.

Well the reality is, the Asian are more than capable of consuming the food themselves. Now perhaps if they did have to work all day long feeding this fat American, they wouldn’t have to work as hard, maybe they could pursue other interests they had. The best thing they could do to improve their standards of living would be to kick that American of the island. Off course when that happens the American is in trouble because he doesn’t have five Asians doing all his work.
Wa_ithaka
#60 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 9:13:17 PM

Scubidu- might be the time of the day, but I'm not sure I get your pt. Mine was very simple. Debt funding your spending will only lead to one outcome.