hamburglar wrote:Lately I have been reading everywhere about a certain matatu tout who found 30k and gave it back to the rightful owner. Now he (tout) is being showered with all sorts of goodies including money from well-wishers and even school fees to go back to school. My question is, why are we rewarding this guy for doing what he was supposed to do? Is our society that tainted to the point where we are rewarding people for being honest?
I keep seeing people getting shocked when they hear stories of people refunding Mpesa money sent to them by mistake. I once received 70k that was inadvertently sent to me. As soon as I got the Mpesa text, I called the person back to let him know know that he had sent money to the wrong person then sent it right back without even thinking twice. I even incurred transaction fees of a couple hundred shillings or so sending back the money. I did that because that was not my money and had I kept it then that would have been stealing. The guy who had sent the money called me thanking me profusely and even wanted us to meet and buy me lunch but I politely declined the offer because I really didn't think it was necessary.
To this day, I don't think what I did was a big deal. It was the right thing to do and it was someone else's money. Maybe the money was to pay for his children's school fees or a hospital bill, I don't know, but it was his sweat and we should never ever be rewarded for doing what we are supposed to do. I am still in awe over how people are falling over themselves wanting to reward this "honest" tout for returning something that was not his in the first place. There are so many other things that deserve rewards, but this is not one of them. This just shows how corrupted our society is if we are rewarding people for being honest. It speaks volumes about us as a people.
Or maybe am the one who is missing something here? I just don't get it. Maybe we shouldn't be so butt-hurt when Trump calls us shit hole nations. Just maybe.
"What I did was not a BIG DEAL"
Quote:I received M-Pesa money....It was a humongous sum (70k! wow)....As SOON AS.... I CALLED...then SENT IT RIGHT BACK! without EVEN THINKING TWICE.... I even INCURRED transaction fees of a COUPLE HUNDRED SHILLINGS...even POLITELY declined his LUNCH OFFER...TO THIS DAY, I DON'T THINK WHAT I DID WAS A BIG DEAL
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.