#581 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2018 11:17:04 AM

Euge wrote:
Muheani wrote:
Leo ni Kuthuku (bad)...haiii

5000 vehicles headed to Macha and some are Wandi'ngas so stalling after every 5 KMs.Poleni lakini.

I was in that traffic coming to Nairofi, wee that was a bit much. They should consider upgrading m-rd soonest.

Mombasa road all the way to Mombasa city should be the size of Thika road. It connects our two biggests cities for heaven's sake. Anyway, vision 2060

Mombasa is not in Central, hence not important. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

People should use sgr instead of complaining about jams. Also @kularaha and co should know that a new 473km superhighway between nairobi and mombasa is being constructed (that's partly why ambassador Godec is under fire from naswa since the tender was given to an american company).

https://www.the-star.co....-january-kenha_c1612518

http://www.constructionk...mbasa-highway-expansion/
Fyatu
#582 Posted : Friday, April 06, 2018 10:09:33 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
New authority to tackle jams awaits presidential nod

http://www.businessdaily...77516-tio3r0/index.html

Wastefull venture, this should be a section within the department of transport.
You dont need a whole Authority complete with executives to do this.

one thing you have to give to the jubilant guys is that they know how to find the nyama choma eating joints, its like that ka resourceful guy who we all turn to when planning a bash or looking for a place to meet.

look at the ntsa guys with their shinny green cars, and compare that to the traffic cops of whom the lucky ones are given haojin toys, and the others have to tafuta lifts to their various traffic points.

Why was Paul kagame or John Magufuli not born in Kenya? Some of these problems just require a road side declaration from the big man and discipline from citizens not authorities and parastatals which act as employent agencies for our relathieves
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#583 Posted : Friday, April 06, 2018 10:24:19 AM

Fyatu wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

one thing you have to give to the jubilant guys is that they know how to find the nyama choma eating joints, its like that ka resourceful guy who we all turn to when planning a bash or looking for a place to meet.

look at the ntsa guys with their shinny green cars, and compare that to the traffic cops of whom the lucky ones are given haojin toys, and the others have to tafuta lifts to their various traffic points.

Why was Paul kagame or John Magufuli not born in Kenya? Some of these problems just require a road side declaration from the big man and discipline from citizens not authorities and parastatals which act as employent agencies for our relathieves

I think our model is better... a model of focus. When you ask what does NTSA do? The answer is a simple one. It's easy to grade them as a pass or a fail. That's how you build institutions. Small enough to be held accountable and to focus on 1 thing. Sure we have to house them e.t.c. that's part of the deal. Roadside declarations are what Michuki did - works for a while but will not work when the big man is gone. Institutions - they work great!
#584 Posted : Friday, April 06, 2018 10:38:57 AM

Fyatu wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

I think our model is better... a model of focus. When you ask what does NTSA do? The answer is a simple one. It's easy to grade them as a pass or a fail. That's how you build institutions. Small enough to be held accountable and to focus on 1 thing. Sure we have to house them e.t.c. that's part of the deal. Roadside declarations are what Michuki did - works for a while but will not work when the big man is gone. Institutions - they work great!

Give examples of government institutions that have improved our lot. Michuki did better than NTSA.
NTSA main focus was to take revenue collection for transport from KRA.
#585 Posted : Friday, April 06, 2018 11:32:13 AM

Wandi'ngas

aki mami, si i have laughed all of mine today !

sema watoi wa neiba kunienjoy ati kare kamzeeia ka laptop kameguruka because i am laughing alone in my cub.
wukan
#586 Posted : Friday, April 06, 2018 11:36:09 AM

Fyatu wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

“You will never understand bureaucracies until you understand that for bureaucrats procedure is everything and outcomes are nothing.”
sitaki.kujulikana
#587 Posted : Friday, April 06, 2018 2:38:48 PM

Fyatu wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Give examples of government institutions that have improved our lot. Michuki did better than NTSA.

mambo ya strong man si poa, once they go everything falls apart, look at what is happening at the education ministry, matiangi is moved out and all comes to a stop.
But in all honesty what did michuki do to transport that is always praised, hata hii mambo ya sijui kibaki was the greatest president, ati he did a lot mimi hua sioni, maybe its just me.
#588 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 4:47:27 PM

#589 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 5:56:09 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

mambo ya strong man si poa, once they go everything falls apart, look at what is happening at the education ministry, matiangi is moved out and all comes to a stop.
But in all honesty what did michuki do to transport that is always praised, hata hii mambo ya sijui kibaki was the greatest president, ati he did a lot mimi hua sioni, maybe its just me.

Kibaki did a lot for the country, especially in infrastructure.. The western side of the country was opened up in a big way.. For Nairobi there was the airport expansion, the Thika road, bypasses and massive re-carpeting of all major as well as feeder roads.. That guy was visionary

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#590 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 10:30:06 PM

I dont know who is advising Uhuru to buy buses to ferry people on Thika Rd, but that is the most stupid idea he has ever thought of

#591 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 10:59:15 PM

I dont know who is advising Uhuru to buy buses to ferry people on Thika Rd, but that is the most stupid idea he has ever thought of

Of course i dont care, but account beneficiaries smile
#592 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 12:07:45 AM

True that this is a very stupid move. Why use public funds to purchase buses and compete with the private sector, wananchi who are servicing loans for their matatus. And all the daily collections money will end up in individual's pockets in the infamous NYS theft style. Then close a whole lane on Thika road for use by the buses and create maddening traffic jams?

Also, was tendering done or the PS just traveled to SA with an inflated LPO?

This jumbiree should just go home. We are tired. Punda amechoka.
#593 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 2:50:09 AM

True that this is a very stupid move. Why use public funds to purchase buses and compete with the private sector, wananchi who are servicing loans for their matatus. And all the daily collections money will end up in individual's pockets in the infamous NYS theft style. Then close a whole lane on Thika road for use by the buses and create maddening traffic jams?

The idea behind BRT is such that the mat/buses use that one lane without mingling with the other personal cars, but how is having additional buses helping the situation on a road that is already congested by buses? Wouldn't that money have been more useful if it was used to expand the road?

How do you as govt hope to expand the manufacturing sector if you cant even assemble a bus? This move is very stupid indeed.
wukan
#594 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 8:24:44 AM

Must you bring your car in town. BRT is a necessity in a city of 5m. Those chaotic matatus should just go. They make Nairobi look like a slum city. The matatus killed KBS which was the best BRT system.
#595 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 8:37:19 AM

wukan wrote:

Must you bring your car in town. BRT is a necessity in a city of 5m. Those chaotic matatus should just go. They make Nairobi look like a slum city. The matatus killed KBS which was the best BRT system.

True, matatus are the "face" of corruption to the ordinary mwananchi, i dont mind a garment transport system, the matatu idiots even refused to adopt simple payment technology like those developed by Equity bank, Safaricom, and garment, so they can continue bribing police, stealing from owners and generally turning Nairobi into hell, once he introduces digital systems, matatus will be finished.Wakwende forever!!! Applause Bigups Uhuru Applause
A New Kenya
#596 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 9:00:34 AM

The idea of replacing privately owned matatus with government owned mass transport is noble, but this is Kenya. Some thief will eat everything budgeted for the project.
Fyatu
#597 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 9:26:25 AM

wukan wrote:

True, matatus are the "face" of corruption to the ordinary mwananchi, i dont mind a garment transport system, the matatu idiots even refused to adopt simple payment technology like those developed by Equity bank, Safaricom, and garment, so they can continue bribing police, stealing from owners and generally turning Nairobi into hell, once he introduces digital systems, matatus will be finished.Wakwende forever!!! Applause Bigups Uhuru Applause

The problems with Kenya started when government abdicated its responsibility to provide well-planned affordable housing and an efficient and affordable public transport system.

Think of estates like Madaraka, Jericho, K-south, Huruma flats,Otiende, Langa'ta woodley, buxton Mombasa, Makande etc complete with public primary schools that were served by efficient transport system KBS.While Uhuru's intentions might be well meaning, he should walk the talk on his 500000 houses pledge which have proper bus terminus. He should stop his kizungu mingi at forums like KEPSA and break ground on this housing project ASAP.

P.S. I'm thinking of the chaos at Githurai overpass while writing this. Matatus/buses, hawkers, pickpockets, police,boda boda, nys buses and to top it all unplanned buildings allover
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
wukan
#598 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 10:01:10 AM

Govt is too bureaucratic to run the BRT system but they shouldn't partner with matatus either. The KBS model was quite ok. An established public transport company owning 70% and City Council owning 30%. City council provided housing for the KBS staff and huge garage at Eastleigh. It's a shame that Bogota came, copied and perfected the BRT system after studying the Nairobi model of the 60s 70s while Nairobi let unruly matatus take over.

I notice the Thika road is a pilot phase. Let's support it and hope it works well. NYS has enough land for parking facilities garage facilities,trained personnel if only Uhuru could stop the tenderpreneur thugs pilfering it to the bones.

Matatus should only be visible 30km from CBD and their role should be to transport passengers to the rail stations or the BRT termini
#599 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 7:53:43 PM

900 Buses

#600 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2018 3:49:32 PM

Expect crazy traffic kesho if county govt follows up on its directive. No mats allowed in town. Jogoo road mats to terminate at Muthurwa, Thika rd, Kiambu rd, limuru rd & Waiyaki way mats to pick n drop passengers at Fig tree Ngara. Ngong road mats at Railways.

Since the commuter living along Ngong road and working along Thika Rd will find it hard to walk from railways to Fig tree, expect more weekend drivers on the roads!

Also, I hear parking fee is down to 200 bob