Baratang
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2018 11:55:59 AM

kayhara wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Njunge wrote:
kayhara wrote:
While forests are being closed for logging, I hope thy allow honey guys in Laikipia and samburu to continue their business, they hang hives and harvest every now and then, they mostly sell it raw with all the stuff
I remember my uncle tied a mosquito net over a bucket poured the raw honey an left it outside to sieve sadly he did not get anything bees descended on the setup before it started sieving and carried it all away.

Really bees bees ama ....others Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly That's a strange one. Bees have no capacity to evacuate honey.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I wonder what kind of bees those ones were...must be Apis Mellifera Humanoidsmile

Well I only know of the normal bees and the yellow ground ones, by the time the swam died on the setup all that was left was magua or the stuff with wax etc.

@Kayhara, are you saying a swarm of bees ate all the honey and left empty comb?
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2018 3:13:42 PM

Baratang wrote:
Have you ever been to a supermarket, bought a plastic container of 500g of honey and as you are paying for it at close to kshs 400 your mouth is already watering seriously, waririkana handù hau!!
Once you get home, and get your first slice of broadway and smeer the sweet honey, it is all yuk!! You realise that the content of the plastic container that you bought from the supermarket looks like honey, but does not taste like honey..

This has happened to me twice from "honey" from different supermarkets.

It seems this tabia is not about to end starting from honey from Kibwezi along Mombasa road, Mwingi along Garissa road where doctoring of honey is done and even the Kenyans themselves making honey which is all different from the one made by genuine bees except the colour.

Now Maasais have joined in, in the lucrative business....Eish!!!

Maasai hawkers arrested mixing Sweet powder with molasses in their Thika hideout to later sell as honey

Talk to me for real genuine honey 1 liter sells at Kshs.600 in Nairobi.
williaraplani@gmail.com
#23 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 9:58:28 AM

Kyssee and Angelica Ann have my honey, I dont need the fake honey.How does it look like or is it the honey from Samantha
#24 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 2:44:00 PM

willin2learn wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Have you ever been to a supermarket, bought a plastic container of 500g of honey and as you are paying for it at close to kshs 400 your mouth is already watering seriously, waririkana handù hau!!
Once you get home, and get your first slice of broadway and smeer the sweet honey, it is all yuk!! You realise that the content of the plastic container that you bought from the supermarket looks like honey, but does not taste like honey..

This has happened to me twice from "honey" from different supermarkets.

It seems this tabia is not about to end starting from honey from Kibwezi along Mombasa road, Mwingi along Garissa road where doctoring of honey is done and even the Kenyans themselves making honey which is all different from the one made by genuine bees except the colour.

Now Maasais have joined in, in the lucrative business....Eish!!!

Maasai hawkers arrested mixing Sweet powder with molasses in their Thika hideout to later sell as honey

Talk to me for real genuine honey 1 liter sells at Kshs.600 in Nairobi.
williaraplani@gmail.com

@Willing2learn, Yours may not be a genuine honey, because a kilo of the genuine honey is retailing for kshs 800 and in some places, it is 1k.Sad Sad
Are you selling blackstrap molasses mixed with little amount of honey?Shame on you Shame on you Sad
#25 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 5:51:03 PM

[quote=Mastermind]Worry no more. Try The Hive ltd and thank me later https://m.facebook.com/T...ve-Ltd-233203300084152/[/quote]

Probably you should have explained or told us about the physical properties and features of this hive that makes it more superior to others in the local Kenyan market. The website gives no information whatsoever.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 6:07:36 PM

Baratang wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Njunge wrote:
kayhara wrote:
While forests are being closed for logging, I hope thy allow honey guys in Laikipia and samburu to continue their business, they hang hives and harvest every now and then, they mostly sell it raw with all the stuff
I remember my uncle tied a mosquito net over a bucket poured the raw honey an left it outside to sieve sadly he did not get anything bees descended on the setup before it started sieving and carried it all away.

Really bees bees ama ....others Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly That's a strange one. Bees have no capacity to evacuate honey.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I wonder what kind of bees those ones were...must be Apis Mellifera Humanoidsmile

Well I only know of the normal bees and the yellow ground ones, by the time the swam died on the setup all that was left was magua or the stuff with wax etc.

What the hell!!!Are you guys kidding?
Baratang
#27 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 6:15:13 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Njunge wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Nobody is kidding. Is there anything unusual about bees eating honey.smile
#28 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 6:19:50 PM

Baratang wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Njunge wrote:
kayhara wrote:

@baratang...there is nothing unusual about bees eating the honey, but there is something unusual about a swarm of bees eating the honey.
Baratang
#29 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 6:29:03 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Njunge wrote:
kayhara wrote:

@baratang...there is nothing unusual about bees eating the honey, but there is something unusual about a swarm of bees eating the honey.

Eish!!!Kwani those bees in the swarm are not bees? Bees are bees bwana. NKT!!!
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 6:37:09 PM

Baratang wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Njunge wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Relax chief. I have some limited knowledge of bees and I just wanted to collect you on the usage of the word swarm. It is not the swarm of bees that ate the honey although it is still bees which ate it.smile
Baratang
#31 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 6:44:19 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Baratang wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Baratang wrote:
Njunge wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Relax chief. I have some limited knowledge of bees and I just wanted to collect you on the usage of the word swarm. It is not the swarm of bees that ate the honey although it is still bees which ate it.smile

You are confusing me and may be any other wazua member who does not understand you. What is the difference between swarm and bees, whatever?
#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 7:08:29 PM

@baratang...you see from what I know, any ordinary beehive is occupied by a single colony. We have three categories of bees in the colony within the hive, the Queen, the drone (male bee) and the Worker (female bee). The three categories of bees are known as castes and each caste has its own specific task in the hive.

When the nectar flow is high during and after the rains the bee reproduction is high within the hive. If the bees run out of space i.e the hive becomes crowded, the bees starts a process which is a prelude to a sub-division. Once the process is complete, the queen with some of the worker bees (about a half) leaves the hive in search of a new home and to propagate further colony reproduction. This process is called swarming and those bees that you find clustering on a tree branch are actually bee swarms.

When these bees are hanging up there they do not feed as they have already eaten enough honey from the previous (home) hive bee leaving and they don't fight as they do not have anything (honey or brood) to protect except the queen. When the queen is under threat they really become mad.

With that in mind, what ate kayhara's uncle's honey was the large caste of worker bees foragers from the nearby hives.

Spikes
#33 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 7:28:02 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@baratang...you see from what I know, any ordinary beehive is occupied by a single colony. We have three categories of bees in the colony within the hive, the Queen, the drone (male bee) and the Worker (female bee). The three categories of bees are known as castes and each caste has its own specific task in the hive.

When the nectar flow is high during and after the rains the bee reproduction is high within the hive. If the bees run out of space i.e the hive becomes crowded, the bees starts a process which is a prelude to a sub-division. Once the process is complete, the queen with some of the worker bees (about a half) leaves the hive in search of a new home and to propagate further colony reproduction. This process is called swarming and those bees that you find clustering on a tree branch are actually bee swarms.

When these bees are hanging up there they do not feed as they have already eaten enough honey from the previous (home) hive bee leaving and they don't fight as they do not have anything (honey or brood) to protect except the queen. When the queen is under threat they really become mad.

With that in mind, what ate kayhara's uncle's honey was the large caste of worker bees foragers from the nearby hives.

John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#34 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 7:42:20 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

Eh! Ki- "Shylock Holmes" Applause
A New Kenya
Baratang
#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 8:38:37 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

Okey, I get it. So kayhara's honey was eaten by neighbours' bees. Isolite.
It seems the female bees (workers) are the ones that look for nectar to make honey as per your explanation including stealing other people's honey.
What are the specific tasks of the queen and the drone in the hive. Just curious.
tinker
#36 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2018 10:54:37 PM

Ok, back to serious discussion about real honey from bees.
I know of 'HoneyCare' they operate inside Nairobi Show ground.I have been consuming their products for years now.am not an expert in this field, any review?. How does one differentiate real honey from other concotions?.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..