Investor
Stocks
Hellios Billions from Equity Bank to buy Telkom kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,702 Location: NAIROBI
tinker wrote:Any relation between 'New'Telkom Kenya and Telkom South Africa. Their logos and colours looks almost a like. No relation Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,551 Location: nairobi
obiero wrote:watesh wrote:obiero wrote:watesh wrote:obiero wrote:Ericsson wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:obiero wrote:Ericsson wrote:obiero wrote:Ericsson wrote:obiero wrote:Ericsson wrote: Safaricom is finishing Zuku on the internet to the home business. Strong competitor to safaricom will only emerge if the other companies begin to run their businesses professionally and strategically
Zuku did not have sufficient muscle.. JTL is a better fit for such battles since it is held in proxy by the old man. I speak in code JTL is in survival mode.It has lost a big chunk of it's business recently and is on the verge of closing down. I'm an insider of the on-goings in JTL Dear insider, do you know anyone by the name Mwaniki I know Bor and their head of Networks. Was with him a month ago and we talked at length Here we are.. Calls at KES 1.80 to any network.. Telkom Kenya reborn http://www.businessdaily...57924-afq3p3/index.html
Dead On Arrival! same mistake made by Airtel and repeated by Orange. It has no effect in Kenyan market. And Safaricom knows this very well. Money is in the data business where average spend is higher Serious things happening at Telkom http://www.businessdaily...46822-s7tl2p/index.html
They will definitely eat into Airtel's market. Safcom as the main sim card will never be easily replaced but sim card number 2 will always be rotated. This is where Airtel and Telkom will battle it out. These must have been the same kind of thoughts BBK management had about other banks in the mid 2000 Safaricom is different from Barclays. Plus these prices given by Telkom are just slightly better and in some cases the same as what Safaricom offers. Everytime Safcom see people migrating they always adjust... I know what you are saying and agree that Safaricom is strong but Telkom is trying.. The partnership with Dstv on home fibre is an example of innovative thinking. The white men are good at strategy Vindu vichangeanga. Never look down upon competition https://www.businessdail...249236-nl9kp7/index.html HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
https://www.businessdail...28656-7u8t0t/index.html
Telkom Kenya is set to receive a Sh4.1 billion ($40 million) loan from the European Investment Bank to boost infrastructure and mobile money network. The European Investment Bank (EIB) said the loan, which is still going through appraisal, will only form part of the funding for Telkom Kenya’s Sh9.34 billion ($92 billion) network expansion project. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Telkom kenya launches mobile money T-kash that reduces chances of sending money to wrong person or paying wrong Paybill. With T-kash you confirm a transaction BEFORE entering your PIN & completing the transaction,after that you enter PIN and you're given a few seconds to confirm the transaction. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Member Joined: 6/6/2016 Posts: 165 Location: Nairobi
I ask myself if this is the USP? reducing the chances of sending money to the wrong recipient? if so then I wait to see if there is any uptake
Ksh.1bn spent on Tkash development Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 977 Location: Kenya
Ericsson wrote:Ksh.1bn spent on Tkash development Should have spent half of this on the network instead. Mobile money is an uphill task in the current market conditions but data war is much more winnable. Anyway lets wait and see what moves TKash has in store for us.
watesh wrote:Ericsson wrote:Ksh.1bn spent on Tkash development Should have spent half of this on the network instead. Mobile money is an uphill task in the current market conditions but data war is much more winnable. Anyway lets wait and see what moves TKash has in store for us. Network they have so far spent sh.5bn with a further planned sh.4.2bn Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Too little too late. Mindless copying won't help Telkom... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:Too little too late.
Mindless copying won't help Telkom... Nothing mindless going on at Telkom HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
the MPESA train gathered steam a long time ago, trying to compete there is rather a fruitless endeavour
snifadog wrote:the MPESA train gathered steam a long time ago, trying to compete there is rather a fruitless endeavour If a similar product offering with a strong agent network, at a lower tarrif occurs, then the unthinkable may just become a reality. Safaricom must not take Telkom lightly HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:snifadog wrote:the MPESA train gathered steam a long time ago, trying to compete there is rather a fruitless endeavour If a similar product offering with a strong agent network, at a lower tarrif occurs, then the unthinkable may just become a reality. Safaricom must not take Telkom lightly @Obiero what about Airtel and airtel money Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
obiero wrote:snifadog wrote:the MPESA train gathered steam a long time ago, trying to compete there is rather a fruitless endeavour If a similar product offering with a strong agent network, at a lower tarrif occurs, then the unthinkable may just become a reality. Safaricom must not take Telkom lightly Mindless copying won't take them anywhere. Safcom is safe given Telkom's history. Waste of funds... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
obiero wrote:snifadog wrote:the MPESA train gathered steam a long time ago, trying to compete there is rather a fruitless endeavour If a similar product offering with a strong agent network, at a lower tarrif occurs, then the unthinkable may just become a reality. Safaricom must not take Telkom lightly even if a competitor came which was 10-20% better than MPESA, it would never catch up imo, at this rate any competitor needs to change the game completely. orders of magnitude better/different if you want to stop this train
snifadog wrote:obiero wrote:snifadog wrote:the MPESA train gathered steam a long time ago, trying to compete there is rather a fruitless endeavour If a similar product offering with a strong agent network, at a lower tarrif occurs, then the unthinkable may just become a reality. Safaricom must not take Telkom lightly even if a competitor came which was 10-20% better than MPESA, it would never catch up imo, at this rate any competitor needs to change the game completely. orders of magnitude better/different if you want to stop this train Telkom kenya strategy is to dislodge airtel and become number 2 and the owners to get a return on their investments. They know they can't dislodge safaricom from top position. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Member Joined: 7/10/2014 Posts: 145 Location: Nairobi
Ericsson wrote:snifadog wrote:obiero wrote:snifadog wrote:the MPESA train gathered steam a long time ago, trying to compete there is rather a fruitless endeavour If a similar product offering with a strong agent network, at a lower tarrif occurs, then the unthinkable may just become a reality. Safaricom must not take Telkom lightly even if a competitor came which was 10-20% better than MPESA, it would never catch up imo, at this rate any competitor needs to change the game completely. orders of magnitude better/different if you want to stop this train Telkom kenya strategy is to dislodge airtel and become number 2 and the owners to get a return on their investments. They know they can't dislodge safaricom from top position. MPESA is just 11 yrs old. Its never too late to compete. Truly safaricom is a huge titanic. "Blowing out someone else candle won't make yours shine brighter"-Anonymous
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
The reality is that M-Pesa is the preferred (mobile money) choice for many vendors. Many vendors/establishments accept just M-Pesa that one has no choice but to use M-Pesa. I prefer using Airtel Money where possible coz it's cheaper BUT my choices are limited so I default to Safcom. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:The reality is that M-Pesa is the preferred (mobile money) choice for many vendors. Many vendors/establishments accept just M-Pesa that one has no choice but to use M-Pesa.
I prefer using Airtel Money where possible coz it's cheaper BUT my choices are limited so I default to Safcom. Vindu vichangeanga HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:The reality is that M-Pesa is the preferred (mobile money) choice for many vendors. Many vendors/establishments accept just M-Pesa that one has no choice but to use M-Pesa.
I prefer using Airtel Money where possible coz it's cheaper BUT my choices are limited so I default to Safcom. Vindu vichangeanga As long as it costs less/same to send money from Airtel to Safcom Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
Hellios Billions from Equity Bank to buy Telkom kenya