wazua Wed, May 21, 2025

52 Pages«<45678>»
Question for a4architect
Fundaah
#101 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 12:25:10 PM

Wazua admi...there is time for everything....time to delete this real cindanos account is NOW....we can do without his/her humiliation....
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
real cindano
#102 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 12:47:04 PM

Fundaah wrote:
Wazua admi...there is time for everything....time to delete this real cindanos account is NOW....we can do without his/her humiliation....

@wazua admin i believe the time to delete fundaah account is now. He has repeatedly been obnoxious rude and can not stand anybody who has a different opinion from him. You can look at his post he is a bigot!!
I do not understand why i should be deleted because i have not broken any of the rules. i have noted posted any sexually provocative statements, i have not used any automatic reply software and i have been generally of good standing and decent.
If i have offended anyone with my superior intelligence and vast knowledge i apologise. It is not my fault that God blessed me!
But wazua admin your tolerance of fundaah is bodering on the ridiculous starting from his name which is offensive to his post which are demanding and not in the spirit of wazua or SK. I propose you delete his account!!!
kyukkamba
#103 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 2:43:08 PM

real cindano wrote:
@tutenberg .... that was very useless.
To make your post more usefull please add substance to it like
1. How much did it cost?
2. What did you do to make it cheaper
3. What advice can you give people.

Otherwise thanks for nothing your post wasted 1 minute of my life and this replay wasted 3 minutes. Thanksfully the useful post above your will make up for your useless post.
Redeem yourself add some substance!!!

@real needle .. U should have asked what u need to know from him na if he doesn't provide the info then u wash him but what u have done is a preemtive strike.

Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
ECHOKENYA
#104 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 3:16:25 PM

When deciding on colors for bedrooms it is essential to pick colors that are beneficial to sleeping. Generally light and pastel tones are perfect for bedrooms.

Blue is a well-liked color choice for bedrooms because of its soothing qualities. On the other hand if you have difficulty waking up in the morning, it would be best to introduce another reviving color to get you out of bed.

Cream yellow puts spirit to the bedroom without being too intense.

Indigo relieves insomnia it is also a good color to apply if you experience migraines or headaches.
Sleep well.
http://echoproperties.kbo.co.ke
Echo estate management Limited
tutebeng
#105 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 4:22:17 PM

To answer directly to to the question, a room of 12sq meters -cement and undressed stones cost kshs55,000 before ceiling and roofing. The floor is complete and the walls plastered for final finish ie painting. What made it cheaper, well it depends on why one thinks they should spend Kshs25k per square meter. It would be nice if you worked backwards and demonstrated how one arrives at the Ksh25k per square meter. My final finish estimates are at Kshs125k that is still below Kshs12k. One of the things to do is to review the BQ and the design of the structure for standards, ie how certain things are manufactured at the factories, this limits waste.

kenstat
#106 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 12:58:19 AM

Unnecessary roughness...you could have made your point without putting tut down for no reason.

real cindano wrote:
@tutenberg .... that was very useless.
To make your post more usefull please add substance to it like
1. How much did it cost?
2. What did you do to make it cheaper
3. What advice can you give people.

Otherwise thanks for nothing your post wasted 1 minute of my life and this replay wasted 3 minutes. Thanksfully the useful post above your will make up for your useless post.
Redeem yourself add some substance!!!

Pablo
#107 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 6:56:49 AM

At least someone concurs.
My house will also end up costing about 12 - 14k per Sq M.

Where these guys get 25k per sqM beats me. Ama maybe their profit margin is included. smile
tutebeng
#108 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 7:56:20 AM

The cost of buying a house ie the price in sqm which is the price divided by the lettable area ( i have chosen not to say plinth)provides an indication of the mark up and the value of land.

I often use the price per sqm of property as an ealy indicator of the competitiveness of prices.

Among other reasons when prices of property are at great variance from the construction costs, individuals will prefer to build than buy built units.
#109 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 8:24:03 AM

@Kenstat, the house is rental 2 bedroom flats consisting of 4 units per floor, 4 floors. Location Kitengela (Ashut area).

@Alpha2, material use is a factor of cost, availability and technology. As far as building being cheaper in Europe, I believe their use of technology gives them an upper hand in cost terms. But I also think that the domination of construction business by large companies removes the ability of individuals to do their own houses thus increasing the cost.

Someone talked of mixing the cement and paint for plaster. Excellent idea happens here lakini only for floor painting, the color mixed is called red-oxide/could also green. Food for thought though.
sheep
#110 Posted : Saturday, June 05, 2010 9:45:04 AM

I have been inspired to build my own house/shed...at 14k per sqm that would mean 1.6m for a modest 112sqm 3 bedroom house...cash at hand no loans...building my own house even before Im 30yrs!..I will dedicate my life to the cause...even before I marry!!!!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
kenstat
#111 Posted : Saturday, June 05, 2010 2:10:24 PM

[quote=Rahatupu]@Kenstat, the house is rental 2 bedroom flats consisting of 4 units per floor, 4 floors. Location Kitengela (Ashut area).

When you are done, I'd like to pick your brains on how everything went. Is this your first rental or are you a seasoned pro?Goodluck.
atiriri
#112 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 2:28:16 PM

@architect, do you know the requirements for building in Kahawa Sukari? Where are their offices here in town?
#113 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 2:55:10 PM

Hi All,

Any one with knowledge on the cheapest way to build a mabati house 20*10ft in Ngong? Was looking at the prices of wood 2*2 and 3*2 (cypress is definitely out), mabati, nails and cement. Thank you
Wa_ithaka
#114 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 3:33:32 PM

Excellent stuff especially senor pablo.
Now, a qustion on the black cotton/red soil debate. Is there anyway that one can reduce the costs of building on black cotton soil. I am assuming the differential is largely to do with the time taken at foundation stage. Correct?
I've both so wondering which to go with first.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Pablo
#115 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 8:33:09 AM

Black cotton i hear is tricky and may cost upto double for the same size. I woule advise you to consult an engineer otherwise you may have a problem later.

@Sheep - Those are the hoses being sold to you for 4.2M (on a 50 x 100 plot)

#116 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 9:17:36 AM

@Kenstat, thanks and welcome, in fact I've decided to finish the ground flr units and gauge the exact cost per unit ndio niendelee. Its my 2nd project though on a bigger scale.
@Wa_ithaka, black cotton is tricky, though depends on depth to the rock or murram. if its not too deep (<5 feet) you may factor in cost of excavation, maybe 100k-120K per 100 by 50 plot. Else if its deep beyound 6 feet consider suspending the house. This will reduce the cost of back-filling once the foundation is ongoing.

For red soil there is no excavation cost as you can dig trenches right to the rocky bottom.
#117 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 9:20:46 AM

@Kenstat, thanks and welcome, in fact I've decided to finish the ground flr units and gauge the exact cost per unit ndio niendelee. Its my 2nd project though on a bigger scale.
@Wa_ithaka, black cotton is tricky, though depends on depth to the rock or murram. if its not too deep (<5 feet) you may factor in cost of excavation, maybe 100k-120K per 100 by 50 plot. Else if its deep beyound 6 feet consider suspending the house. This will reduce the cost of back-filling once the foundation is ongoing.

For red soil there is no excavation cost as you can dig trenches right to the rocky bottom.
Stealth
#118 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 10:12:00 AM

@ Rahatupu
Congrats on your larger scale project. Same as the other guy who wud like to pick your brain on some of the building detail, so would I.
Am setting myself up for a similar project.
keep us posted on your development. Thanks.
Wa_ithaka
#119 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 3:44:57 PM

Thanks Rahatupu and Pablo. Might have to revisit my strategy on the black cotton plot. Anybody interested in a very strategically located 1/4 acre?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Jkwaititu
#120 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 5:51:35 PM

@pablo , i have learned alot from u man...thanx alot even rahatupu thank you.

I was trying to come up with an estimate of a flats construction. The approved buildable area is 251 sq.meters. According to ur estimates of 12-14k per sq.mt, estimate cost to build ground floor seems to be 3.5m/= using ur 14k figure which seems a little low compared to my fundi's estimates of 6m. (flats will be just average finish)

I don't mean to turn u into a civil engineer hehe, but are there any other costs that would perhaps apply to flats construction that don't apply to building a regular house? Coz i cant think of any...but fill me in, maybe i'm missing something.

Also, have u now finished ur home completely? Does the 14k figure include finishing?