wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

7 Pages<1234>»
One liners that changed lives...
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 5:37:58 PM

"And so, my fellow Americans: ask not what your country can do for you - ask what you can do for your country...........Inaugural Address by John F. Kennedy
redondo
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 5:52:16 PM

"ukiona wao weka taya(tyre)"

Rueben Ndolo: immediate former MP for Makadara
#23 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 6:30:36 PM

Good stuff... @gk and @Njunge, wholeheartedly accept the correction and apologies to JM's memory; same goes for @kizee Julius Ceaser spoke Latin.

"I cannot and I will not recant anything"
Apr 1521, Martin Luther; at the Diet of Worms, when commanded to respond to his charge of heresy and recant of his teachings.

"I have a dream"
Aug 1963, Martin Luther King Jr; delivered to over 200,000 from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial at a defining moment of the American Civil Rights Movement.

"It Wasn't Me"
Nov 2000, Shaggy, reggae artist, number one hit song advising a friend on what to do when caught with another woman

"I did not have sexual relations with that woman"
Jan 2008, Bill Clinton, President of the USA; standing next to his wife at a White House press conference

"mapambano, mapambano, bado mapambano"
Oct 2007, Otieno Kajwang; urging on the Orange rebellion

#24 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 7:52:20 PM

When i looked up he was gone and he kept on going... Tyson gay on chasing usain bolt to the 100m record
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 7:56:37 PM

Wewe ni buure tu!
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 8:16:52 PM

'Jesus, I give you my life...'
Jkwaititu
#27 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 12:33:19 AM

"It is not my wish to speak to you in this colonialistic language" - Jomo Kenyatta december 12th 1963 addressing wananchi

"It's enough!! Moi must go" - Kenneth Matiba, July 1990....(man, i miss matiba. That was a brave man right there!)

"wewe ni pumbavu...mavi ya kuku tu!" Mwai Kibaki said these words, and its on youtube incase anyone who wants to verify

PONDI
#28 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 3:58:36 AM

standard newspaper. Amos wako condemning Miguna miguna."It is a typical example of where little knowledge is dangerous". And you can quote me on this," responded the usually unfazed Wako..
gathinga
#29 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 6:18:16 AM

'nimetoa amri hawa vinyangarika waswageswage kama unga' Jomo Kenyatta to Oginga in Kisumu 1969
#30 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 6:33:59 AM

@Gathinga,
Ngai Mwathani.....Is that real?
Amurabi.
#31 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 6:37:24 AM

"Dawa ya katiba ni matiba"
A slogan used in 1992 by Matiba.

"Moi atatawala miaka ingine tano,na ikiwezekana ingine kumi na hata ikiwezekana ingine mia mpende msipende."
By the late Shariff Nasiri former mp for Mvita.

"Sina siri nina jibu." Used by Najibu Balala in 2002 against Nasiri {read it "si Nasiri ni Najibu"} How creative?
Some have been thought brave because they were afraid to run away.
Pablo
#32 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 7:50:11 AM

Na hii dhahafu inaenda kwa mkimbiaji Kipchoge arap….’eee wa koinage nikii gikii..'(Mr. Koinange what is this written here)

President Kenyatta Presenting Order of the Burning Spear to athlete Kipchoge arap Keino.

‘…..iii ni kio Muthee…’ (Yes it is what it looks like)
Mbio Kionange’s response
anasazi
#33 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 7:55:37 AM

@Amurabi, good one... si Nasiri ni Najibu...

LOL @ "Makosa imefanyika"

Never ascribe to malice, that which can be explained by incompetence.
~ Napoléon Bonaparte

Any Science fiction buffs here? On Star Trek, there was this one quote that always got me:

Resistance is Futile - The Borg

another one was:

Your logic is flawed - Seven of Nine
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#34 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 8:06:35 AM

@ Pablo....nice one! Kipchoge arap.......
Ric dees
#35 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 8:28:32 AM

In the battle of Thermopylae made popular by the movie 300.

The text in Herodotus was:

εἰ ἀποκρυπτόντων τῶν Μήδων τὸν ἥλιον ὑπὸ σκιῇ ἔσοιτο πρὸς αὐτοὺς ἡ μάχη καὶ οὐκ ἐν ἡλίῳ.

It is said that on the eve of battle, he was told by a native of Trachis that the Persian archers were so numerous that, their arrows would block out the sun. Dienekes, however, undaunted by this prospect, remarked with a laugh, 'Good. Then we will fight in the shade'"

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#36 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 8:48:13 AM

@Pablo,
Laughing out loudly smile Laughing out loudly smile
#37 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 9:20:38 AM

'It is done...' The Christ, Circa 33 A.D
anasazi
#38 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 9:32:04 AM

THIS IS SPARTA!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
gathinga
#39 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 9:34:40 AM

Njunge wrote:
@Gathinga,
Ngai Mwathani.....Is that real?

@Njunge.
They keep playing this clip on NTV on that documentary 'making of a Nation'. On that day, its when the Rungu met the meat in Kisumu. and lives were lost,Kenyatta never again stepped in Kisumu,Kikuyu luo relations have never been the same again
gathinga
#40 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 9:36:57 AM

I will be back. Arnold Schwazneger