wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

7 Pages123>»
One liners that changed lives...
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 12:09:57 PM

"There comes a time in the life of an individual when the interests of the nation must be greater than the interests of an individual"
Oct 2002, George Saitoti, Kasarani; on learning his name has been deleted from list of vice-chairmen that could ascend to succeed Moi

"Removing Kanu from power is like trying to cut a Mugumo tree with a razor blade”
1990, Mwai Kibaki; as vice president under Moi deriding proponents for change

"Kenya has become a nation of 10 millionaires and 10 million beggars.”
1969, J.M.Kariuki, Kenyatta's private secretary; speaking out for Kenyan peasantry and poor

"The die is cast"
49BC, Julius Ceaser; as he crossed the river Rubicon to lead the first and successful civil war against for the Senate of Rome, emerging as the unrivaled leader of the Roman world.

"Et tu Brutus
"You too, Brutus?" 44BC, Julius Ceaser; exclaims on seeing his friend/chosen successor among the conspirator senators who lunged to assassinate the 'dictator for life'

#2 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 12:22:52 PM

"I DO".....Guka on his wedding day....and with those 2 words,i got myself a master....
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 12:36:07 PM

...Kibaki tosha...
Fundaah
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 12:39:46 PM

"A woman is like a tea bag; it's only when she's in hot water that you realize how strong she is." -Eleanor Roosevelt
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Pierce
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 12:49:13 PM

'Your wife is not your relative'.........Bush,Nerkwo!
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 12:50:58 PM

'I would rather die...'days later the guy resigned but is still alive
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 1:11:06 PM

"I will make him an offer he can't refuse".....the don!!!!
Jangwa la Jangili
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 1:28:53 PM

Who is your mother? - Lucy Kibaki to Country Head of was it World Bank or IMF?
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
gk
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 1:40:49 PM

"Kenya has become a nation of 10 millionaires and 10 million beggars.”
1969, Tom Mboya; as Minister of Economic Planning speaking out for Kenyan peasantry and poor

[/quote]
...always thought these were JMs words.

remember "moi must go!" and he did go
mburuke
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 1:50:59 PM

its like raping a woman who is too willing......
-Kiraitu Murungi
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
Sheila
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 2:26:31 PM

Former Bureti MP and Kenyan Minister of Health addressing crowds on Mau evictions....

1. “Does rain comes from trees or does it come from above?” (His listeners reply with a lot of conviction that it comes from the heavens)

2.”Even if you have been educated, even if you have ten degrees, or even 20, rain still comes from…?” (“from God above” replies the listeners.)

3. “I am not a young person age wise, all these years since I was born, I have witnessed rain coming from above!”

4. “The forests do not bring rain. Rain brings forests!” (Not an entirely false statement but very misinformed)

5. “All those claiming that rain comes from forests are thieves” (lol)

Wooouuuuuuiiiiii!!!!!!
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 2:35:50 PM

@gk,
True.Those were the words of JM.
Mpenzi
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 2:36:47 PM

[quote=muganda]"There comes a time in the life of an individual when the interests of the nation must be greater than the interests of an individual"
Oct 2002, George Saitoti, Kasarani; on learning his name has been deleted from list of vice-chairmen that could ascend to succeed Moi

No, Muganda it was "There come a time.... (the guy was so stressed he forgot his grammar)
Brewer
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 3:11:04 PM

"Makosa imefanyika"
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 3:17:55 PM

Barngetuny @ mogotio goat auction.
“Elbu tano kwa Saitoti, tano kwake, tano, tano, saba gwa Gamotho, Gamotho na saba, saba, saba nasema lasima agule hii mbuzi, tena kumi gwa Moi, Kumi gwa Moi, mbusi na Moi Moi na mbusi, elbu kumi, kumi, nani mwingine, kumi, gwa Moi mara ya gwansa, ya gwansa, ya bili, ya bili, bili, na mara ya tatu, Moi lete hiyo besa!

Kariuki Chotara castigating Kihonge for organizing a trip to state house:
Hapana sikiriza mambo ya hawa. Hawa marirara makinywa muma na hapa wanaongea!”

Kihika had poor eye sight and did not see standard reporter Alex Kareithi until he made this comment;
Kaihu gaka getagwo Kareithi kena ku? (Where is this mongoose called Kareithi?)
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 3:21:20 PM

"I am now Esther Adongo Timberlake"

#17 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 3:37:54 PM

Brewer wrote:
"Makosa imefanyika"

I think this is the funniest one liner I have ever heard albeit under harsh circumstances!! For those who do not know, the man was caught with his pants down as Swaleh Mdoe would say "akilima shamba la wenyewe." That was so honest. "Makosa imefanyika!! makosa imefanyika"

http://www.facebook.com/...ideo.php?v=244494920768

"Shika Magongo!!! Shika magongo!!!"
kizee
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 4:20:32 PM

"The die is cast"
49BC, Julius Ceaser; as he crossed the river Rubicon to lead the first and successful civil war against for the Senate of Rome, emerging as the unrivaled leader of the Roman world.

...write and wrong..the verbatim statement made by ceasar was ALEA IACTA EST...english for the dies is cast...one of my favorite phrases
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 4:31:51 PM

Hehehe Ati makosa imefanyika!!!
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 5:35:13 PM

G. Bush 'You r either with us, or with the enemy!!