wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

BAT the workhorse
My 2 cents
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 2:30:47 PM

Hallo Wazuarians or is it SKerians? I have always followed these posts but have never felt compelled to join until I saw this thread on BAT. And yes yes yes I am one of the investors that have steered clear of making money from creating cancer. There indeed are those of us who do not buy BAT shares specifically because of their business....smile
#22 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 3:56:16 PM

Uchumi sells beer & alcohol... (Does Tuskys sell cigs?)
Sameer sells tyres to BAT & EABL...
Most banks will lend to anyone (as long as they can pay the cash back) & BAT/EABL are probably among the 'best' borrowers with AA ratings!
#23 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 5:16:52 PM

@2cents wow. Socially responsible funds are quite popular in the west. And there are people who only invest in sin funds-alcohol, tobacco, casinos and porn. Would you invest in motor counters? Motorvehicle accidents kill more people than cancer you know.
My 2 cents
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 12:39:19 PM

@Sparky that is reducing the argument to a ridiculous level. How about if you were to ask me whether I would not buy a house because I could be murdered in it.

The effect has to be very close to the cause. Cigarette advertising has been banned, you cannot smoke anywhere and the link to cancer is DIRECT and irrefutable.

Think about it this way, if you own BAT shares then you would recommend that they sell more and more and more cigarettes so that you make money. These cigarettes are not sold to aliens, they will be sold to your children, siblings, friends, parents......

mkonomtupu
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 2:05:34 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
Hallo Wazuarians or is it SKerians? I have always followed these posts but have never felt compelled to join until I saw this thread on BAT. And yes yes yes I am one of the investors that have steered clear of making money from creating cancer. There indeed are those of us who do not buy BAT shares specifically because of their business....smile

I consider myself liberal but i have never thot of investing in the tobacco business it's a no noShame on you it feels like giving my capital to an arms manufacturer.
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 3:04:38 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
@Sparky that is reducing the argument to a ridiculous level. How about if you were to ask me whether I would not buy a house because I could be murdered in it.

The effect has to be very close to the cause. Cigarette advertising has been banned, you cannot smoke anywhere and the link to cancer is DIRECT and irrefutable.

Think about it this way, if you own BAT shares then you would recommend that they sell more and more and more cigarettes so that you make money. These cigarettes are not sold to aliens, they will be sold to your children, siblings, friends, parents......

@my 2 cents your argument is not lost on me.

My point is that there are people who gain utility and enjoyment from smoking.

Don't tell me that you haven't seen people light up, drag on it and blow them rings of smoke.

Are they forced to smoke - NO, are they given free cigerettes - NO.
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 03, 2010 4:13:49 PM

Folks... It has been known for decades that cigs kill... [Well, so does alcohol lakini I am not going to stop any time soon!]

So it is FREE CHOICE... BAT does NOT hold a gun to your head...

So what about alcohol, miraa???
BTW, I am a non-smoker & HATE the smell of cigs!
#28 Posted : Thursday, June 17, 2010 12:15:03 AM

BAT hit 210 today, a major psychological point. The march to 300 continues, slow but sure
#29 Posted : Saturday, July 10, 2010 5:13:43 PM

A high of 230 on friday, VWAP 226! Still has the highest dividend yield in the market at 6.5% and with T Bill rate below 2%, demand will be high from investors seeking an income. 250 here we come.
#30 Posted : Saturday, July 10, 2010 5:43:47 PM

sparkly, it also looks like a good stock to hold in 'uncertain' times like the one we find ourselves in i.e Referendum
#31 Posted : Friday, September 17, 2010 9:23:39 PM

Now at 266... This is what we call a Tortoise rally. 300 around the corner.
PKoli
#32 Posted : Saturday, September 18, 2010 5:02:46 PM

What is making this stoke to rise so first?
#33 Posted : Saturday, September 18, 2010 5:52:35 PM

I'm guessing crazy dividends next year
#34 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 9:32:34 PM

PKoli wrote:

@pk its the smell of money money money. Don't you smell it? These guys payout 100% or more of their profits. New business lines means increased revenues and in three years, profitability like you have never seen.
#35 Posted : Sunday, November 21, 2010 9:47:04 AM

Offloaded half of my holdings at 290, sasa hii pesa niweke wapi? Any Volunteers...
#36 Posted : Sunday, November 21, 2010 10:12:56 AM

Si kesho utumalizie ile supply yote ya DTB chini ya 140?smile
#37 Posted : Monday, November 22, 2010 8:12:46 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Si kesho utumalizie ile supply yote ya DTB chini ya 140?smile

lol pesa hapana nyingi hivyo and i got too many banks in ma portifolio
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 11:03:32 PM

And the rest went at sh 285. 100% capital gains and approx sh 30 per share in dividends...
#39 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2013 8:26:17 PM

PKoli wrote:

@pk its the smell of money money money. Don't you smell it? These guys payout 100% or more of their profits. New business lines means increased revenues and in three years, profitability like you have never seen.

Looking at the price of BAT today, having invested in the share and having chronicled my investment on this thread, i have the following to say:

I noticed that BAT was undervalued on a DY basis. I invested in it, made my 100% plus gains.

At point of exit, BAT still had the highest DY in the market. I however allowed myself to be convinced that BAT was expensive (followed the herd).

With hindsight, i have learnt a valuable lesson that the market will always correct. I see BAT at over 500 today but i have no regrets. KCB, Kengen, HF i hold on for full valuation!