Health
My Wife and Son
Fullykenyan wrote:In the last one month alone, i have had to call an ambulance twice. First time was because my wife became abruptly very sick and she had to be operated and second time, because my son was "gone" abruply for like two minutes In these two cases,i called an ambulance and there were in my house betwenn 5-8 minutes. In the case of my son, an ambulance came and within one minute the emergency doctor followed behind and on the way was also a childrens doctor. ´My son was first treated at home and only when he stabilised, did they take him to hospital I was really touched with this action from them. My wife is doing much better and she even went back to work and my son is still in hospital but out of danger. Yesterday night, i was asking myself pertinent questions. If this had happened in nairobi, would i still be having my loved ones by now? Guys, we can make our country better. Let us demand services from the govt and the county gvts.Every life is important and we need to guard it jealously.Excellent medical care is not a luxury, it is a human right. I have decided, i will one day vie for a political seat and try to play my role towards improving the livelihood of our people
I thank God your family is intact. The problem with us is that those who have money delude themselves that the money will come to their rescue in case of a medical emergency. Thats why we turn a blind eye to whats going on in public hospitals. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:In the last one month alone, i have had to call an ambulance twice. First time was because my wife became abruptly very sick and she had to be operated and second time, because my son was "gone" abruply for like two minutes In these two cases,i called an ambulance and there were in my house betwenn 5-8 minutes. In the case of my son, an ambulance came and within one minute the emergency doctor followed behind and on the way was also a childrens doctor. ´My son was first treated at home and only when he stabilised, did they take him to hospital I was really touched with this action from them. My wife is doing much better and she even went back to work and my son is still in hospital but out of danger. Yesterday night, i was asking myself pertinent questions. If this had happened in nairobi, would i still be having my loved ones by now? Guys, we can make our country better. Let us demand services from the govt and the county gvts.Every life is important and we need to guard it jealously.Excellent medical care is not a luxury, it is a human right. I have decided, i will one day vie for a political seat and try to play my role towards improving the livelihood of our people
I thank God your family is intact. The problem with us is that those who have money delude themselves that the money will come to their rescue in case of a medical emergency. Thats why we turn a blind eye to whats going on in public hospitals. It should be in everyone's interest that public health facilities run optimally.Remember the late nyeri governor was rushed to Thika level 5? Doctors should also have more moral fibre & spend more time at their places of work than at their private clinics
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
murchr wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:murchr wrote:@Fullykenyan, pole I hope all goes well for you.
The Kenyan problem is part leadership and part us as Kenyans. Look at how we walk on pathways or drive, do you think the Ambulance would have been at your house in the same 5-8mins time? It would probably have been stuck in traffic because no one would want to give way.
The nurse/paramedic would probably not give the utmost best care because either, they dont love their job, they are not well equipped, or they dont know what to do
As a people we need to have some value of life Thanks alot. The tests for the boy all came negative.Thank God!!. However, they want to continue having him around, so that they can monitor him at least for not less than 48 hours they said. The reaction of the paramedics, the city´s emergency doctor and the children´s doctor left me in tears. The emergency doctor, later told me, that when it comes to a kid,they dont take any chances at all. The worst mistake you can make here, is to hinder an ambulance or an emergency doctor´s car. During emergency, it is like Uhuru´s motorcade on uhuru highway. For everything, i have to only pay 10 euros for it Thank God all is well. I have lived in a city where traffic paves way for a hearse taking a body either to be buried or to a morgue. We still have a long way to go in as far as. We will have to change our attitudes, but what would help most is the emergence of new cities - Tatus and all with their own management rules . Who should have the right of way....the dead or the living? I think the living should be given priority.
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:murchr wrote:@Fullykenyan, pole I hope all goes well for you.
The Kenyan problem is part leadership and part us as Kenyans. Look at how we walk on pathways or drive, do you think the Ambulance would have been at your house in the same 5-8mins time? It would probably have been stuck in traffic because no one would want to give way.
The nurse/paramedic would probably not give the utmost best care because either, they dont love their job, they are not well equipped, or they dont know what to do
As a people we need to have some value of life Thanks alot. The tests for the boy all came negative.Thank God!!. However, they want to continue having him around, so that they can monitor him at least for not less than 48 hours they said. The reaction of the paramedics, the city´s emergency doctor and the children´s doctor left me in tears. The emergency doctor, later told me, that when it comes to a kid,they dont take any chances at all. The worst mistake you can make here, is to hinder an ambulance or an emergency doctor´s car. During emergency, it is like Uhuru´s motorcade on uhuru highway. For everything, i have to only pay 10 euros for it Thank God all is well. I have lived in a city where traffic paves way for a hearse taking a body either to be buried or to a morgue. We still have a long way to go in as far as. We will have to change our attitudes, but what would help most is the emergence of new cities - Tatus and all with their own management rules . Who should have the right of way....the dead or the living? I think the living should be given priority. Who's competing? Its not a case of either-or... both should be given right of passage
murchr wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:murchr wrote:@Fullykenyan, pole I hope all goes well for you.
As a people we need to have some value of life Thanks alot. The tests for the boy all came negative.Thank God!!. However, they want to continue having him around, so that they can monitor him at least for not less than 48 hours they said. The reaction of the paramedics, the city´s emergency doctor and the children´s doctor left me in tears. The emergency doctor, later told me, that when it comes to a kid,they dont take any chances at all. The worst mistake you can make here, is to hinder an ambulance or an emergency doctor´s car. During emergency, it is like Uhuru´s motorcade on uhuru highway. For everything, i have to only pay 10 euros for it Thank God all is well. I have lived in a city where traffic paves way for a hearse taking a body either to be buried or to a morgue. We still have a long way to go in as far as. We will have to change our attitudes, but what would help most is the emergence of new cities - Tatus and all with their own management rules . Nope. To build a prosperous society, like the west has done, we should strive to improve services for everyone. Not enclosing a few privileged citizens in gated cities/communities, and providing them with 1st world services while the wananchi out there live in squalor. That was how apartheid was practiced in SA and we all know how it ended.
Mukiri wrote:hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:murchr wrote:@Fullykenyan, pole I hope all goes well for you.
As a people we need to have some value of life Thanks alot. The tests for the boy all came negative.Thank God!!. However, they want to continue having him around, so that they can monitor him at least for not less than 48 hours they said. The reaction of the paramedics, the city´s emergency doctor and the children´s doctor left me in tears. The emergency doctor, later told me, that when it comes to a kid,they dont take any chances at all. The worst mistake you can make here, is to hinder an ambulance or an emergency doctor´s car. During emergency, it is like Uhuru´s motorcade on uhuru highway. For everything, i have to only pay 10 euros for it Thank God all is well. I have lived in a city where traffic paves way for a hearse taking a body either to be buried or to a morgue. We still have a long way to go in as far as. We will have to change our attitudes, but what would help most is the emergence of new cities - Tatus and all with their own management rules . Who should have the right of way....the dead or the living? I think the living should be given priority. Who's competing? Its not a case of either-or... both should be given right of passage My point was the dead are already dead, and if there is anyone the traffic should pave way for, it is the living who still have matters to take care of on planet earth.
murchr wrote:Baratang wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:Do not be too hard on Kenya. We are where we are and in my opinion we are doing quite well. The thing people forget when they move from Kenya to western or other developed countries is that those countries have not always been as they are now. The institutions, cultures and wealth have taken decades and in some countries centuries to build. All you see is an ambulance that takes 7 minutes to get to your house. What you do not see is a well designed road and highway network, a wealthy society with laws that allow training of a skilled workforce that can survive doing one job a time, security etc. The service you enjoy is only the tip of an iceberg of cultural, political, technological advances that took a long time to build.
Anybody visiting the Western countries should first be struck at how young we are as a country. Kenya did not exist as a country or even a territory before the 1880s and then for 75 years was a colony... please note that we have been independent for a shorter time time than we were under British occupation. The constitutional debates we were having to the runup to 2010 were the kind of questions the US was having in the 1780s. You visit Universities in the US that were started in the 1700s and 1800s. These are agricultural, engineering and medical colleges and all that knowledge and workforce went to develop the places that people visit today and start abusing they mother country for being backward.
We have our problems, but we must work from where we are. Some things take time. Make sure your children are in a better place than you and you will have done your part. This is the usual "back banner" excuse we give ourselves so as we can continue slacking. Should we go the full life cycle of our predecessors so that we can evolve? How old is Singapore? Botswana? Thanks to technology we have case studies available for us to learn, but do we want to learn? Botswana you say!!! Talk about something that you know very well bwana na siyo kudanganya watu!! @Baratang, the GDP per capita of Bostwana is far much higher than this hole full of shit called Kenya. Look again My fren, forget about that GDP business and let us go to the ground for it is wise to compare like for like... To start with in Botswana, it is the government which has the money and not ordinary mwananchi. Jua kali is almost non existent and the government is the main employer. If the government is broke, (like it happened in 2007) the small enterprises go dead. Secondly, the population of Botswana (which has an area equivalent to that of Kenya)is just about 1.8 million, with the largest concentration in big towns like Gaborone, Francistown, Lobatse, and Maun..Other small pockets of population are found in mining towns mainly Selebi Phikwe, Jwaneng, Orapa and Letlhakane. the rest are small village towns with no activities except areas where ranching and farming is practised mainly in Ghanzi, Ncojane, pandamatenga and Rakguna. Thirdly, the Baatswana (Botswana people) own nothing. All those big and small enterprises are owned by South Africans and Asians. Even the diamond/copper mines are all owned by foreigners. Generally 90% of baatswana are poor. The most poverty stricken areas are in the rural. The good news is the social classes have not as yet gained roots in Botswana. The well to do and the poor buy their clothing and food commodities in the same shops and supermarkets.
Kusadikika wrote:Do not be too hard on Kenya. We are where we are and in my opinion we are doing quite well. The thing people forget when they move from Kenya to western or other developed countries is that those countries have not always been as they are now. The institutions, cultures and wealth have taken decades and in some countries centuries to build. All you see is an ambulance that takes 7 minutes to get to your house. What you do not see is a well designed road and highway network, a wealthy society with laws that allow training of a skilled workforce that can survive doing one job a time, security etc. The service you enjoy is only the tip of an iceberg of cultural, political, technological advances that took a long time to build.
Anybody visiting the Western countries should first be struck at how young we are as a country. Kenya did not exist as a country or even a territory before the 1880s and then for 75 years was a colony... please note that we have been independent for a shorter time time than we were under British occupation. The constitutional debates we were having to the runup to 2010 were the kind of questions the US was having in the 1780s. You visit Universities in the US that were started in the 1700s and 1800s. These are agricultural, engineering and medical colleges and all that knowledge and workforce went to develop the places that people visit today and start abusing they mother country for being backward.
We have our problems, but we must work from where we are. Some things take time. Make sure your children are in a better place than you and you will have done your part. I agree with you 100%. The best thing to happen to Kenya is devolution of health coz now the hospitals are directly answerable to the wananchi on the ground.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/20/2015 Posts: 467 Location: Nairobi
I am reminded of the time at Schiphol airport Passport control during NARC government era i was queued behind Musikari Kombo, Rachael Shebesh, and other Govt dignitaries who were connecting to Rome for some WFP conference and i overhead them asking each other why things in Kenya can't work like in Europe. Musikari Kombo was the Local Goverment minister then and i knew there was no hope for us if a Govt minister in Govt with power to change things could ask same question as a mwananchi.
But a time will come when we will grind to a halt due to all the gridlock and nature will force us to evolve.
Maybe we should learn from western european countries who are said to have the best healthcare systems in the world. GermanyQuote: Germany's state healthcare system is the oldest in Europe, dating back to the 1880s. Around 15% of people opt out of the state scheme for private health insurance, usually when they are younger, as premiums are lower.
Citizens pay into one of the 300 statutory state sickness funds through their payroll or bank. Payments are around 13% of gross earnings, although citizens can elect to switch funds to save on premiums with government blessing - people can even compare fund rates online.
Some funds operate on a pay-for-treatment-and reimburse basis, but some treatment centres - notably GPs and hospitals - have arrangements with local sickness funds to save patients paying.
Inpatient stay reimbursements are complex and are not based on treatments, a situation that has caused many experts to suggest health reforms (Gesundheitsreform).
Comparing healthcare contribution rate is made more complex because accident (Arbeitsunfallversicherung) and long-term care insurance (Pflegeversicherung) is usually bundled with health insurance by many funds.
The Federal Ministry of Health controls all aspects of state healthcare, with the ministry working directly with hospitals and GPs and with local council delegations in many city areas.
German hospitals operate under diverse ownership, with a mixture of state, private, mutual and friendly societies. Germans can visit any GP or specialist they wish - they can even walk into a specialist clinic off the street.
The unemployed are funded separately though the social fund or the AOKs (Allgemeine Ortskrankenkasse), the local funds of last resort, which cover about one-third of the population.
SwedenQuote:Sweden has radically different healthcare model to much of Europe: fully government funded and highly de-centralised. It is 70% funded by local taxes, with the Ministry of Health and Social Affairs establishing principles and guidelines for care at a national level.
But regionally, it is the countries' 21 councils that effectively control the healthcare system. The councils, known as municipalities are responsible for healthcare provision, particularly where community care and psychiatric services are involved. They are powerful organisations, also running water supplies and social welfare in their areas.
Not all treatment is free at the point of care, though 97% is government-funded. Patients pay a nominal fee at the point of care. Drug treatments are nominally charged subject to a capped rate of around £150 per year.
GP visits are also charged at around £12 per visit, although citizens can also visit private doctors at the same rate. A similar fee is levied on hospital outpatient visits. If patients register, they can also qualify for a capped rate of around £70 a year for GP and hospital healthcare. As in Belgium, dentistry is private, and is only partially funded by the state. https://www.theguardian....um-france-germany-sweden
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:murchr wrote:@Fullykenyan, pole I hope all goes well for you.
As a people we need to have some value of life Thanks alot. The tests for the boy all came negative.Thank God!!. However, they want to continue having him around, so that they can monitor him at least for not less than 48 hours they said. The reaction of the paramedics, the city´s emergency doctor and the children´s doctor left me in tears. The emergency doctor, later told me, that when it comes to a kid,they dont take any chances at all. The worst mistake you can make here, is to hinder an ambulance or an emergency doctor´s car. During emergency, it is like Uhuru´s motorcade on uhuru highway. For everything, i have to only pay 10 euros for it Thank God all is well. I have lived in a city where traffic paves way for a hearse taking a body either to be buried or to a morgue. We still have a long way to go in as far as. We will have to change our attitudes, but what would help most is the emergence of new cities - Tatus and all with their own management rules . Nope. To build a prosperous society, like the west has done, we should strive to improve services for everyone. Not enclosing a few privileged citizens in gated cities/communities, and providing them with 1st world services while the wananchi out there live in squalor. That was how apartheid was practiced in SA and we all know how it ended. true, I have never been to the west, but from the look of things they seem to be ready to share maendeleo and wealth with all, at the end of the day one gets to enjoy that maendeleo if the majority gets it. It does not make sense to live in a gated estate only to step out into squalor, garbage, filth, dust and crime.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
And what if the international system is skewed against 'us'?
Yes, one may mention a country or two which could be compared to Kenya at some time. But that doesn't tell us much because, these countries appear as exceptions. Otherwise the average is our lot.
No, I'm not blaming 'the system' I'm trying to state a rather obvious fact. We could even look at the transactions our countries have and key agreements and try to figure out who initiates most of these transactions and why.
Historically, Kenya has always been on the receiving end. So what would happen if we came with some ideas of our own to make a better life for all?
I don't know. Have we tried?
If I look at how the international economic system seems to be working, and especially when we note that the Military-Industry complex is a major force, you can't help but agree that there must be a defeated people somewhere.
The shit hole guys. It's like when you go to a cell and you find your space close to the bucket. The shit hole.
Can you see the cell? Can you see the shit hole? How will you find your way to the shit hole?
'Wanna put up a fight? Gooood!'
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:murchr wrote:@Fullykenyan, pole I hope all goes well for you.
As a people we need to have some value of life Thanks alot. The tests for the boy all came negative.Thank God!!. However, they want to continue having him around, so that they can monitor him at least for not less than 48 hours they said. The reaction of the paramedics, the city´s emergency doctor and the children´s doctor left me in tears. The emergency doctor, later told me, that when it comes to a kid,they dont take any chances at all. The worst mistake you can make here, is to hinder an ambulance or an emergency doctor´s car. During emergency, it is like Uhuru´s motorcade on uhuru highway. For everything, i have to only pay 10 euros for it Thank God all is well. I have lived in a city where traffic paves way for a hearse taking a body either to be buried or to a morgue. We still have a long way to go in as far as. We will have to change our attitudes, but what would help most is the emergence of new cities - Tatus and all with their own management rules . Nope. To build a prosperous society, like the west has done, we should strive to improve services for everyone. Not enclosing a few privileged citizens in gated cities/communities, and providing them with 1st world services while the wananchi out there live in squalor. That was how apartheid was practiced in SA and we all know how it ended. true, I have never been to the west, but from the look of things they seem to be ready to share maendeleo and wealth with all, at the end of the day one gets to enjoy that maendeleo if the majority gets it. It does not make sense to live in a gated estate only to step out into squalor, garbage, filth, dust and crime. Services for all sounds good but they begin from somewhere. For the system to change Satellite towns run independently must exist. If indeed hardwood you've been to the west then you should have spotted the satellite cities that exist out of the metropolitan large cities. By definition A satellite town is an urban entity that has developed as a separate metropolitan area near to, but largely independent of a larger city or metropolitan area. It is different than the suburbs which develop around the larger city (which are dependent upon that city) in that it will usually have its own separate governing system and it will have separate business and retail areas. These different governing systems when well run bring about a copycat effect hence improving services everywhere. @Baratang There's nothing great about the gov't being poor and the some citizens rich. That's exactly the mess were in. The gov't should be in a position to offer the very basic to its citizens. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
hardwood wrote:Mukiri wrote:hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:murchr wrote:@Fullykenyan, pole I hope all goes well for you.
As a people we need to have some value of life Thanks alot. The tests for the boy all came negative.Thank God!!. However, they want to continue having him around, so that they can monitor him at least for not less than 48 hours they said. The reaction of the paramedics, the city´s emergency doctor and the children´s doctor left me in tears. The emergency doctor, later told me, that when it comes to a kid,they dont take any chances at all. The worst mistake you can make here, is to hinder an ambulance or an emergency doctor´s car. During emergency, it is like Uhuru´s motorcade on uhuru highway. For everything, i have to only pay 10 euros for it Thank God all is well. I have lived in a city where traffic paves way for a hearse taking a body either to be buried or to a morgue. We still have a long way to go in as far as. We will have to change our attitudes, but what would help most is the emergence of new cities - Tatus and all with their own management rules . Who should have the right of way....the dead or the living? I think the living should be given priority. Who's competing? Its not a case of either-or... both should be given right of passage My point was the dead are already dead, and if there is anyone the traffic should pave way for, it is the living who still have matters to take care of on planet earth. Pave way for both, and focus attention on much bigger problems.
The west has not always been the way it is today. About 150yrs ago london was $hithole city battling cholera that killed about 20,000 people. And at the time no one knew what was killing people coz no one knew about the cholera bacteria and at that time everyone attributed the deaths to "miasma" <<RINK>> aka smell from sewerage and decomposing bodies (at least we africans were "more advanced" coz we attributed death to witchcraft). Also the flushing toilet had not been discovered and therefore people used to relieve themselves in outhouses aka pit latrines. And because there was only one toilet to 100 londoners, alot of people were using flying toilets i.e. throwing their waste into the streets. And also at the time londoners were using horses to get around since the motorvehicle or steam engine hadn't been discovered. And with thousands of "uber horses" and "horse matatus" shitting on the streets, london was an unbearable shithole, basically a town drowning in shit <<RINK>>. And there were slums everywhere. Also electricity only came to london in 1882. In the next post I will tell you how london solved the mess to become a world class city.
hardwood wrote:The west has not always been the way it is today. About 150yrs ago london was $hithole city battling cholera that killed about 20,000 people. And at the time no one knew what was killing people coz no one knew about the cholera bacteria and at that time everyone attributed the deaths to "miasma" <<RINK>> aka smell from sewerage and decomposing bodies (at least we africans were "more advanced" coz we attributed death to witchcraft). Also the flushing toilet had not been discovered and therefore people used to relieve themselves in outhouses aka pit latrines. And because there was only one toilet to 100 londoners, alot of people were using flying toilets i.e. throwing their waste into the streets. And also at the time londoners were using horses to get around since the motorvehicle or steam engine hadn't been discovered. And with thousands of "uber horses" and "horse matatus" shitting on the streets, london was an unbearable shithole, basically a town drowning in shit <<RINK>>. And there were slums everywhere. In the next post I will tell you how london solved the mess to become a world class city. So now its Ok for Kenyans to live like Londoners 150years ago, live as if we dont know what cholera is or what causes it? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:The west has not always been the way it is today. About 150yrs ago london was $hithole city battling cholera that killed about 20,000 people. And at the time no one knew what was killing people coz no one knew about the cholera bacteria and at that time everyone attributed the deaths to "miasma" <<RINK>> aka smell from sewerage and decomposing bodies (at least we africans were "more advanced" coz we attributed death to witchcraft). Also the flushing toilet had not been discovered and therefore people used to relieve themselves in outhouses aka pit latrines. And because there was only one toilet to 100 londoners, alot of people were using flying toilets i.e. throwing their waste into the streets. And also at the time londoners were using horses to get around since the motorvehicle or steam engine hadn't been discovered. And with thousands of "uber horses" and "horse matatus" shitting on the streets, london was an unbearable shithole, basically a town drowning in shit <<RINK>>. And there were slums everywhere. In the next post I will tell you how london solved the mess to become a world class city. So now its Ok for Kenyans to live like Londoners 150years ago, live as if we dont know what cholera is or what causes it? My point is that the west was a $hithole not so long ago. And that we are lucky that we dont have to reinvent the wheel and we only have to "google" to sort nearly all of our problems.
Rank: User Joined: 8/15/2013 Posts: 13,236 Location: Vacuum
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:The west has not always been the way it is today. About 150yrs ago london was $hithole city battling cholera that killed about 20,000 people. And at the time no one knew what was killing people coz no one knew about the cholera bacteria and at that time everyone attributed the deaths to "miasma" <<RINK>> aka smell from sewerage and decomposing bodies (at least we africans were "more advanced" coz we attributed death to witchcraft). Also the flushing toilet had not been discovered and therefore people used to relieve themselves in outhouses aka pit latrines. And because there was only one toilet to 100 londoners, alot of people were using flying toilets i.e. throwing their waste into the streets. And also at the time londoners were using horses to get around since the motorvehicle or steam engine hadn't been discovered. And with thousands of "uber horses" and "horse matatus" shitting on the streets, london was an unbearable shithole, basically a town drowning in shit <<RINK>>. And there were slums everywhere. In the next post I will tell you how london solved the mess to become a world class city. So now its Ok for Kenyans to live like Londoners 150years ago, live as if we dont know what cholera is or what causes it? My point is that the west was a $hithole not so long ago. And that we are lucky that we dont have to reinvent the wheel and we only have to "google" to sort nearly all of our problems. Isn't that what @Murchr and the rest are saying while some of you are justifying that the shit hole called Kenya should put up with these poor services just because we are 50 yrs old and we should follow both the growth and time trajectory of developed countries If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:The west has not always been the way it is today. About 150yrs ago london was $hithole city battling cholera that killed about 20,000 people. And at the time no one knew what was killing people coz no one knew about the cholera bacteria and at that time everyone attributed the deaths to "miasma" <<RINK>> aka smell from sewerage and decomposing bodies (at least we africans were "more advanced" coz we attributed death to witchcraft). Also the flushing toilet had not been discovered and therefore people used to relieve themselves in outhouses aka pit latrines. And because there was only one toilet to 100 londoners, alot of people were using flying toilets i.e. throwing their waste into the streets. And also at the time londoners were using horses to get around since the motorvehicle or steam engine hadn't been discovered. And with thousands of "uber horses" and "horse matatus" shitting on the streets, london was an unbearable shithole, basically a town drowning in shit <<RINK>>. And there were slums everywhere. In the next post I will tell you how london solved the mess to become a world class city. So now its Ok for Kenyans to live like Londoners 150years ago, live as if we dont know what cholera is or what causes it? My point is that the west was a $hithole not so long ago. And that we are lucky that we dont have to reinvent the wheel and we only have to "google" to sort nearly all of our problems. Isn't that what @Murchr and the rest are saying while some of you are justifying that the shit hole called Kenya should put up with these poor services just because we are 50 yrs old and we should follow both the growth and time trajectory of developed countries Jeeso. Where did i say that? You should stick to your lane, aka "samantha".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
I feel like i have to post something.The problem in Kenya will always be people being employed, paid and never do what they are paid to do. Starting from the top. Look at what Uhuru is doing, still not named ministers, he is still 'consulting' sijui tribal balancing. I would not even care if he named 20 Luos or Maasais as cabinet secs if they were all like Matiang'i.
The same applies to Mp's, MCA's,some doctors,your househelps and down to the local mwananchi.As for the doctors at KNH, they will treat people maybe depending on how much they will get from them. A relative came visiting and one day at 6 in the morning he saw a municipal guy cleaning the street in the eastate and was like wow, i told him the guy was just doing his job. I once went home and found my mum had given somekibarua to this guy and she said am the one to pay.I noticed the guy could come at 8 in the morning, take some tea and talks for sometime starts work at minutes pas 9 then extends the lunch break, i told her i cannot pay someone who works for less than 7 hrs a day. She said no the guy has a family to feed. I told her for me to make the money i would pay the guy with , i had to work for a 7 hr shift with a 15 minutes break. she changed the attitude since. We shall always complain as am doing and some will say we are sijui 150/50yrs behind whatever country. But anyway we are to blame.I saw guys doing demons in Mbsa coz of gabbage , i laughed coz several months ago they were singing Joho Joho.Lets leap what we have been sowing. Jan 2018 and people are already talking about president for 2022.
Health
My Wife and Son