wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Ruai Sewage(The reservoir).
mkeiy
#1 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 1:42:29 PM

Driving along the Eastern bypass or on Kangundo Rd, the stench is becoming unbearable every passing day.

Years ago, I never used to get such stench and I believe sewerage treatment was being done the right way then.
Now it's just raw sewage.
This is the same water that is irrigating the mangoes, oranges, watermelons, pawpaws etc downstream river Athi past Kilimambogo and beyond.

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?
Where does the buck stop?
Or as some guy said, "the buck doesn't stop. It continues?"
#2 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 2:38:52 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Driving along the Eastern bypass or on Kangundo Rd, the stench is becoming unbearable every passing day.

Years ago, I never used to get such stench and I believe sewerage treatment was being done the right way then.
This is the same water that is irrigating the mangoes, oranges, watermelons, pawpaws etc downstream river Athi past Kilimambogo and beyond.

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

I have dealt with NEMA and i can tell you their only deliverable is collecting fees for EIA approvals from developers.

A while back, fresh produce exporters who had contracted farmers along Athi river had their exports rejected for containing high levels of lead. That river is dangerously polluted.

And its the same river that feeds Nairobi with fresh kales and other vegetables. I would want to say God will protect us but I doubt even God has time for our love for self-destruction.
mkeiy
#3 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 4:04:51 PM

mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

I have dealt with NEMA and i can tell you their only deliverable is collecting fees for EIA approvals from developers.

A while back, fresh produce exporters who had contracted farmers along Athi river had their exports rejected for containing high levels of lead. That river is dangerously polluted.

And its the same river that feeds Nairobi with fresh kales and other vegetables. I would want to say God will protect us but I doubt even God has time for our love for self-destruction.

Very sad.
And to think they (NEMA,Nairobi Water, Kebs etc) eat the same fruits and vegetables, facing the same risks and not seem to care.
You can't help but wonder.
Mchawi aliroga Kenya ni kufa alikufaa ama?

So long as you are in Nairobi Metropolitan, chances are everyday you are consuming contaminated produce from river Athi basin. In this mess,tuko pamoja.

Could this be where huge chunk of our cancer is coming from?
Why not have a campaign of some sort to fix Nairobi sewerage problem?

Iganamagana
#4 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 4:06:19 PM

mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

Sad. That's how we will loose the lucrative European market. NEMA needs to wake up. Anyway, they have failed to tame noisy neighborhood bars and Matatus.
majimaji
#5 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 4:52:24 PM

mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

Before making conclusions, it is good to confirm your facts. What smells is the Nairobi river as you cross it, not the sewerage plant. In fact the treated sewage water helps to dilute the river as it has a low BoD load compared to the river. The Nairobi river needs to be cleaned up and that calls for people in kibera, mathare, mukuru, kayole, city centre, kileleshwa, lavington etc to stop discharging sewage and storm water into the river.
#6 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 5:18:24 PM

majimaji wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

Before making conclusions, it is good to confirm your facts. What smells is the Nairobi river as you cross it, not the sewerage plant. In fact the treated sewage water helps to dilute the river as it has a low BoD load compared to the river. The Nairobi river needs to be cleaned up and that calls for people in kibera, mathare, mukuru, kayole, city centre, kileleshwa, lavington etc to stop discharging sewage and storm water into the river.

Wueh! Pray So what is BoD? And given that most of the vegetable consumed in Nairobi is grown along Nairobi River, will we ever see an end to cholera really?
#7 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 5:44:48 PM

majimaji wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

Wueh! Pray So what is BoD? And given that most of the vegetable consumed in Nairobi is grown along Nairobi River, will we ever see an end to cholera really?

BoD = Biological oxygen demand <<RINK>>. Anyway what should be worrying you is not the smell or cholera but the heavy metals in the vegetables grown along the river, chemicals which emanate from industries. The heavy metals such as lead can cause cancer. You can easily treat cholera but cancer.......
#8 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 5:50:56 PM

majimaji wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

BoD = Biological oxygen demand <<RINK>>. Anyway what should be worrying you is not the smell or cholera but the heavy metals in the vegetables grown along the river, chemicals which emanate from industries. The heavy metals such as lead can cause cancer. You can easily treat cholera but cancer.......

Indeed!. NEMA is totally useless
#9 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 6:40:53 PM

majimaji wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

I thought storm water should go into the river?
#10 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 6:51:52 PM

On the Nairobi river clean-up, I imagine this can be done. A joint effort between the Ministry, Nairobi county and NEMA can get the desired results.

I salute Madam Judy Wakhungu on the plastic papers ban, but she didn't attempt this seemingly low hanging fruit.
#11 Posted : Monday, January 08, 2018 7:10:26 PM

majimaji wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

I thought storm water should go into the river?

The problem is most of the storm water is raw sewerage. Normally, during heavy downpour, most landlords open up the septic tanks and pit latrines and the storm water drains into the systems and clears the stuff and proceeds down stream. Other even pump it to join the storm. That's why after the rains in most places without proper sewerage systems the stench is terrible.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 12:26:00 AM

Speaking of stench, i once went to see some land in thika on garissa road and passed by a leather tanning factory that was emitting killer stench. I nearly fainted due to the smell. I was surprised that people could live next to the factory...or manage to work in such a factory. Then I saw some apartments for sale near the factory. Hope the buyers didn't get them offplan.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 12:49:29 AM

As you can see Nairobi County is buying the County Speaker a house aka residence. Priority of our leaders is always wanting!!!
#14 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 6:48:22 AM

As you can see Nairobi County is buying the County Speaker a house aka residence. Priority of our leaders is always wanting!!!

Correction, Nrb county assembly, the equivalent of parliament for Nairobi county.l gov't. MCAS nyinyi ndio mli chagua
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 7:31:02 AM

Environment, Energy, Water and Natural resources– This sector is responsible for the collection of garbage and supply of water to city residents. County Executive- Emma Mukuhi Muthoni

mkeiy
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 8:05:13 AM

majimaji wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

@majimaji.

Which facts?

What you are talking about is exactly,the same thing you are saying.

The reservoir is not the treatment plant. That's where treated sewage goes. But it stinks. Past Ruai on your way to Kamulu, the thing stinks.

Kibera /Mathare ,Mukuru ,all manner of industrial waste etc dumping their sewage in the rivers, that's a sewerage problem and that's what I am talking about.NEMA,Nairobi Water,Nairobi county gov't should fix that.
My gut tells me you are one of those sleeping on their jobs @Majimaji.
mkeiy
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 8:11:47 AM

Iganamagana wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

Sad. That's how we will loose the lucrative European market. NEMA needs to wake up. Anyway, they have failed to tame noisy neighborhood bars and Matatus.

@Iganamagana.

Mbeca!
Yaani you are worried about lucrative markets and not Nairobians' health!
Iganamagana
#18 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 8:20:11 AM

mkeiy wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

@Iganamagana.

Mbeca!
Yaani you are worried about lucrative markets and not Nairobians' health!

Laughing out loudly I gave up on Nairobi health a long time ago! Yesterday I saw a grown man throw trash out of a Kenya Mpya bus and I had to roll down my kioo to ask him whether he thought his mother worked on Thika road. Imagine he had the temerity to get angry at me. This is akin to people who throw rubbish right at the gate of their houses or apartment blocks. Wouldn't you give up on such people? Let Nairobians live in their own filth.
majimaji
#19 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 9:23:08 AM

mkeiy wrote:
majimaji wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

@majimaji.

Which facts?

What you are talking about is exactly,the same thing you are saying.

The reservoir is not the treatment plant. That's where treated sewage goes. But it stinks. Past Ruai on your way to Kamulu, the thing stinks.

Kibera /Mathare ,Mukuru ,all manner of industrial waste etc dumping their sewage in the rivers, that's a sewerage problem and that's what I am talking about.NEMA,Nairobi Water,Nairobi county gov't should fix that.
My gut tells me you are one of those sleeping on their jobs @Majimaji.

smile Pole @Mkeiy for coming off tangent.
Anyway, it will take one good man or woman to clean up the river. It took one lady to ban plastics makaratasi and I daresay the environment in urban areas has improved.
We have many experts in the country on environment, engineers who can design working treatment works etc but only the Will is lacking.
Fyatu
#20 Posted : Tuesday, January 09, 2018 10:17:57 AM

mkeiy wrote:

NEMA, Nairobi Water etc.
Are they aware?
Do they care?
Do we care?
Who cares?

Very sad.
And to think they (NEMA,Nairobi Water, Kebs etc) eat the same fruits and vegetables, facing the same risks and not seem to care.
You can't help but wonder.
Mchawi aliroga Kenya ni kufa alikufaa ama?

So long as you are in Nairobi Metropolitan, chances are everyday you are consuming contaminated produce from river Athi basin. In this mess,tuko pamoja.

Could this be where huge chunk of our cancer is coming from?
Why not have a campaign of some sort to fix Nairobi sewerage problem?

I believe the problem is far much worse. Nairobi river, gitathuro river, Mbagathi river and other heavily polluted rivers are tributaries to Athi which becomes Sabaki huko downstream and is the source of domestic water for 4 coastal counties. Heavy metal (no pun) is consumed far and wide in Kenya.The late Hon. Michuki had made some progress on this rivers so there is hope.
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money