wazua Thu, Apr 16, 2026

7 Pages<1234>»
Nairobi water crisis explained
jaheim
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 3:58:00 PM

Kenya at the rate its moving we shall have severe problems as if the problems are not serious enough,impunity,corruption every corner and its worsening day by day. As it is at the moment its 'everybody for themselves,God for our souls'. They are really shafting the country these rogue politicians!

Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 4:20:00 PM

@ Jaheim,

i was trying to think hard about the CDF...if each constituency receives on average ksh 150m annually. we have 7 constituencies in Nairobi whose aggregate amount is ksh 1.05b annually. Supposing the government froze this CDF for the entire Nairobi for three years. this would construct a 10million cubic metres dam. I believe Nairobi's water problems would be reduced by 75% if not for the following 3-5 years!!!! within that time more reasources would have been developed...

we lack leaders with a vision...when are we going to get them!!! after a thousand years???

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
jaheim
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 4:42:00 PM

@kaiganjo
You've said it,how difficult is that?? We not only lack leaders with vision,but INTEGRITY as well. I did observe sometimes back when i was in kenya,the CDF funds do very little in running the actual projects they are meant for or the ones proposed,not only that,the most shocking of all is the fact that these same politicians in the constituencies do give tenders to companies they own or owned by friends hence they get a cut out of it. It does not end there though,they make sure they get 'back kicks' by lobbying for certain tenders to some firms.

I was astonished by this,the entire system needs an overhaul big time! The ones who really suffer the consequences are at the bottom of the pyramid.This Grand corruption diverts resources from the most pressing needs,and those needs are always found at the bottom: basic healthcare,education and security. Every time we pretend to export gold,or buy phantom equipment for our security agencies,we twist the neck of our own economy. But only the poor are left gasping for breath.

Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
cnn
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 5:31:00 PM

At this rate Nairobi will be a nightmarish place to live in within a decade,water conflicts will be a reality and when buying or building that home,cast an eye into the future,what appears golden now could end up a semi desert.Laws to make it compolsoury for residences to have water harvesting facilities should be in place by now as the goverment seeks ways to build bigger dams,but with our lot of politicians your guess is as good as mine.

see it through my lens?
Dexter
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 5:40:00 PM

Our new maid went back home to ukambani having received her 3k first month salo. She arrived at her place to find her children having gone without food for 3 days.

To understand how desperate she was.... this is a mother whose last born is only 2 yrs old. She has never worked as a hse help and has never left her home nor has she ever seen nairobi.

Now when her neighbours heard of her arrival,they all came to her asking her to give them something small as their children were dying of hunger. She says that she even had to share the maize she had bought for her family. She spent all the money she had and almost lacked fare to come back thanking us for the extra 300 bob we gave her for fare.

Now imagine the kind of life they are living there. One person from their village goes to nairobi and they become the saviour.

If i was able i would pay her more I would.

What i wonder is,do these pple have an MP? If so,does he know that his pple are living this way? What is he doing to help them?

\The fact is once a person becomes an MP,they first move away form their constituency to go live in posh surburbs in nairobi,convenientlly away from his constituents and their problems. I think it should be a rule that MPs should reside at their constituencies. It beats sense why a North easter MP should be given transport allowance TO their constituency instead of FROM. Afterall he should be living in his own constituiency an work at development and only travel when there is need and parliamentary debates.

Tuamke Kenya. Do we Africans have to be colonized to develop?

#16 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 7:26:00 PM

Nice one kagizzard...a slight correction,ndakaini dam is in Gatanga district and is fed by 5 rivers/rivulets n I think chania isnt one of them,but its waters r still pumped to ng'ethu....Things r elephant.

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:32:00 PM

Well,u shud be congratulated for providing a job lakini I think (I may be wrong) 3k/month is below the minimum salo per govt laws. And to think I often use more than 100/- per day just on internet access...

___*** As a Kenyan,I am frustrated. People say don't complain but do something... I try daily lakini people are always pulling you down. From the ma3 who wants to kill you to the muggers to the folks who want kitu kidogo for the most basic services...

___ *** What is a young Kenyan to do?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Tokyo
#18 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 3:23:00 AM

___ *** What is a young Kenyan to do?

if you can ' run'
work to prosper
reithi
#19 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 6:31:00 AM

Thanks Kaigangio

The signs of disaster in water,energy,food,shelter etc. have been with us for ages.

Lets call a spade a spade and indulge in self examination. We are the problem. Who voted for these 'leaders'? We never vet them,preferring to vote on tribal considerations and bribes dished out rather than on issues and merit. In addition,we never hold them to account as they plunder our taxes for political and personal gain while selling the line 'funds are not available' or all sorts of excuses.

The posts in January to February 2008 after the 2007 elections demonstrate how polarised we have become,even in enlightened circles such as SK. We were ripping each other left right and centre for 'leaders' who have no time for our problems.

It is plain and simple,unless we start voting on issues collectively and demanding for results,this country is going to the dogs.

reithi
Engine
#20 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 8:14:00 AM

Rain water harvesting is the answer (though no rains now). If each home had a reservoir tank to harvest every drop of the rains each year like I have seen it done successfully in most of Malawi and Jamaica,then would not heavily rely on the dams but rather have them as supplements to our water needs.

Engine
7 Pages<1234>»