wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

SCOM Results out: name your price...
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 7:27:19 AM

Would you buy at 7.50?

Would you sell at 6.00?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 7:35:42 AM

I hate trying to give immediate value and depend on others. So using stockmasters median nse dividend yield(3.3%) to place this in the market gives kes 6.05/-, then i add my 'goodwill' kes3/-, so 9.05/-
A New Kenya
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 7:41:46 AM

SCOM Safaricom Now

Buyers 7,152,900 at 5.55
Sellers 7,222,700 at 5.60

High 5.70; Low 5.50
Last Trade 500,000 at 5.60
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 7:42:01 AM

So far its up 3% so looks like the mrket isnt as excited as you are...
the deal
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 7:51:56 AM

So far its up 3% so looks like the mrket isnt as excited as you are...

relax as news moves around it will fire up...
Horton
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 7:56:38 AM

I hate trying to give immediate value and depend on others. So using stockmasters median nse dividend yield(3.3%) to place this in the market gives kes 6.05/-, then i add my 'goodwill' kes3/-, so 9.05/-

9.05 for safcon?!?! Abit ambitious on the short term, I reckon!
The Merchant
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:01:31 AM

Okay....enough said. Im in for 20,000 shares. will buy them for anything between 5.5 and 6...Waiting for everybody to get excited and find me cosy inside.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:04:30 AM

I hope its local cash, 3% gains from local cash is in this case like 40% ya akina horton(in good humor) but as i said its your call, hold or sell.
A New Kenya
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 9:28:04 AM

foreigners continue to dump this stock so as to cover losses made in europe and US markets...
but most analysts believe the fall in world markets is not fundamentally driven so this must be temporary...

anything below 6bob is a perfect oppurtunity to buy because you can be sure that if european crisis was not taking place safcom's share price would be off the radar...
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 9:57:32 AM

Profits soar for Kenyan mobile firm SAFARICOM LTD

NAIROBI, Kenya, May 26 - East Africa’s most profitable company Safaricom has broken another record, posting a 37 percent growth in its full year pre-tax profit to Sh20.96 billion.

The rise compares to Sh15.3 billion recorded in the 2008 financial year.

In 2009, turnover rose by 19.1 percent to Sh83.96 billion while net income grew 43.8 percent to Sh15.15 billion.

Announcing the results on Wednesday, Safaricom Chief Executive Officer Michael Joseph attributed the growth to an increase in data revenues, which went up 72.9 percent.

“Data is where the opportunity comes. Less than 10 percent of Kenyans have access to Internet and we want to play a major part in growing that from 10 to 40 percent,” Mr Joseph said adding that there was real demand for data and the operator was looking to make it as affordable as possible.

Safaricom’s customer numbers improved 18 percent to 15.79 million in the year.

In future, Safaricom is set to invest Sh23 billion in improving its network infrastructure in 2010, said Mr Joseph.

“I know our network quality is not one of the best but we are working towards improving that especially in areas of growth,” Mr Joseph said.

The company has recommended dividends of 20 cents per share held.

sl8r
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 10:10:54 AM

best bid 5.35
best ask 5.40
total demand 37,470,100
total supply 65,895,900
as at 12:07 on the Normal board
Gentlemen lets not get tooo excited....people are selling!!!
sky5
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 10:33:26 AM

Let willing sellers sell and willing buyers buy. I think this rush to sell is short-term mainly driven by the eurozone crisis. The crisis may not have heavy impact on NSE.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 2:10:39 PM

Wacha it falls... I wanna buy some now lakini at 5/-
sl8r
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 3:49:13 PM

its probably gonna bottom out at 5.10 or 5.20....then people will start buying again, and with a good set of results like these I don't see any reason why it won't top off at 5.90 or even 6.00
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:43:50 PM

LOL... That is my buy-in price!
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:48:58 PM

I base my arguement on the volumes. By trading 150m shares it means those were the shares that we were willing to sell and there were buyers ready to snap them up. Why?
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 3:49:46 AM

@sober - Safaricom is very liquid... which is great... I hope it falls so I can buy some... BUT IMHO... it is pricey at 5.40 coz high PE & the rate of growth will slow down...
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 7:23:03 AM

Funny... I sold a portion of my holding at 6 bob in January... perhaps I should now get it back at 5...if we get there...
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 8:22:43 AM

mukiha wrote:
Funny... I sold a portion of my holding at 6 bob in January... perhaps I should now get it back at 5...if we get there...

amen!
edwing
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 9:14:20 AM

The best price I can give this share to buy is Kshs 4. The European and US markets have been down for the past 2 weeks. If Ur keen NSE follows mostly after 3weeks to a month so pple Safcom results may be wow but investor emotions are low. So if U still have a margin SELL if not take a crash course on managing Inventory.