Investor
Economy
Nakumatt: Another ailing Kenyan company
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,547 Location: nairobi
Swenani wrote:obiero wrote:Mike Ock wrote:@obiero here is research by Credit Suisse https://www.cnbc.com/201...any-under-20-years.html
For the conspiracy theorists, the Kenyatta family's Brookside has been revealed to be the supplier with the biggest debt owed by Nakumatt and they have launched a High Court petition to wind down this useless shop so that they get their money back: http://www.businessdaily...3736-euociyz/index.html
There is no conspiracy here, just terrible terrible business. I hope that the Kenyatta family can put the final nail in the Nakumatt coffin From the article I gather that S&P 500 companies are getting younger based on newer entrants in the same space Getting younger or having a shorter life span based on disruption? Does having a shorter life span means you are getting younger Sibuor? @mzee vvs companies such as Facebook and Twitter are less or about 10 years old so when an average is done, they will say look companies are now on average only 20 years old, but not because JC Penny, Chase, Walmart Et al are closed or closing, but because there are many new young firms HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
An interesting observation: Nakumatt is exiting malls owned by members of their community. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,702 Location: NAIROBI
KulaRaha wrote:An interesting observation: Nakumatt is exiting malls owned by members of their community. My fren pesa haina ukabila Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:KulaRaha wrote:An interesting observation: Nakumatt is exiting malls owned by members of their community. My fren pesa haina ukabila Really? Then why aren't they exiting Mega, Junction etc? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Member Joined: 7/10/2014 Posts: 145 Location: Nairobi
KulaRaha wrote:Ericsson wrote:KulaRaha wrote:An interesting observation: Nakumatt is exiting malls owned by members of their community. My fren pesa haina ukabila Really? Then why aren't they exiting Mega, Junction etc? Ken Omoroā€¸ @Kenomoro Sep 20 More But seriously, if Tuskys enters TRM, rent in Roysambu should go down by 50%. Rent was hiked because of Nakumatt. "Blowing out someone else candle won't make yours shine brighter"-Anonymous
Nakumatt exits junction mall Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt Things are elephant HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Member Joined: 12/1/2007 Posts: 539 Location: Nakuru
obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt Things are elephant And the convenience marriage with Tuskys is on shaky ground... Maybe the sooner they call this monkey out the better For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
Niliwashow september mtaona mambo. Ndio hayo kwa sasa. Asanteni Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
winmak wrote:obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt Things are elephant And the convenience marriage with Tuskys is on shaky ground... Maybe the sooner they call this monkey out the better Been saying this for the last few pages in this thread. Nobody can save this company. Just pack and go so that a replacement can come through quickly
winmak wrote:obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt Things are elephant And the convenience marriage with Tuskys is on shaky ground... Maybe the sooner they call this monkey out the better The economy is dying HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:winmak wrote:obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt Things are elephant And the convenience marriage with Tuskys is on shaky ground... Maybe the sooner they call this monkey out the better The economy is dying I totally agree with you Obiero Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:obiero wrote:winmak wrote:obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt Things are elephant And the convenience marriage with Tuskys is on shaky ground... Maybe the sooner they call this monkey out the better The economy is dying I totally agree with you Obiero Mismanagement not dying economy!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall That's a perfect junction for carre4. I hope they seize the chance immediately. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:obiero wrote:winmak wrote:obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall things must be very thick for Nakumatt Things are elephant And the convenience marriage with Tuskys is on shaky ground... Maybe the sooner they call this monkey out the better The economy is dying I totally agree with you Obiero Mismanagement not dying economy!!! Unless you are stealing from taxpayers, this economy is dying for everyone else. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 977 Location: Kenya
Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall That's a perfect junction for carre4. I hope they seize the chance immediately. Best choice for a replacement
Carrefour are at the Hub so I don't think they will be interested in opening a store at the Hub. Most probably choppies may be the new tenants Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
watesh wrote:Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:Nakumatt exits junction mall That's a perfect junction for carre4.I hope they seize the chance immediately. Best choice for a replacement Word is that deal is already done, just like TRM. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Actually the junction is not a very nice location for any high end store, with all the better located easily accessible malls around I think that's why they let go, same with NextGen who places a mall on the way into town? even South C guys have to go round Mombasa road, TRM was a high traffic low sales store did't make business sense, if Nakumatt close Mega,Westgate, and Village market then I will know the elephant has died. To Each His Own
Investor
Economy
Nakumatt: Another ailing Kenyan company