wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Safaricom results FY 2010
makmende
#41 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 2:52:31 PM

the deal wrote:
@ makmende safaricom is the makmende of the NSE...LOL...

but do you say?
roho juu
Roho Juu
kainvestor
#42 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 3:51:44 PM

Wait for some improved earnings on per share and in revenues...
I will be buying more....
sheep
#43 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 4:09:49 PM

...meanwhile foreigners will continue dumping the stock...no amount of good earnings will stop them...lets see how well anaemic local investors can hold the stock.....below 5.00 is my price.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
cnn
#44 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 4:17:50 PM

i agree with @sheep, the global equities sell off has acclerated today,the DOW is now below 10 000 and has lost more than 10% within a few sessions.Expect the sell buttons here and that may not be limited to safcom.Are we in late 2008 again?
qw25041985
#45 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 4:28:51 PM

Some analysts are sayin that this is just a common market correction and that the economy (US) is on it way to recovery....i tend to believe this and i donot see why some people are even sujesting that brokers should start short selling there in the US !!!!(meaning that the situation can only get worse)......I Believe that the Dow and all those other indices will rebound confirming that 2010 is they year of great prosperity.

As for Europe thats another story all together.This huge bailout are just making the situation worse,sort of a cosmetic procedure on the debt crisis there, but yet again what was at stake was the whole of the Euro zone.I guess a balance had to be struck....
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
the deal
#46 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 5:07:45 PM

if foreigners dump stocks in ermeging markets...where will they take their cash to??? we all know the returns are high here!!!
kizee
#47 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 5:12:46 PM

the deal wrote:
if foreigners dump stocks in ermeging markets...where will they take their cash to??? we all know the returns are high here!!!

dude...i hav been singing this song since last year jan! wtf are guys avoided markets like ours where real returns are +ve? ati contagion sijui nini...IKO NINI!! anyway i know of one offshore bank thats been long kenyan equities since jan last year...guys have made a mad killing...i know coz the equities trader told me as much
kainvestor
#48 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 5:38:53 PM

Watch the announcement live on this link:
http://www.safaricom.co.ke/index.php?id=1391
#49 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 6:15:38 PM

@kizee and @deal, in economics, the higher the returns in a market, the higher the interest(compare developed and undeveloped markets). Risky markets i.e low input high return in finance are also riskier i.e kuchomeka kabisa kabisa!. The reason why big money stays in big economies is that you need very big capital to make very little interest in a very safe environment and hence a low interest rate as people with big money hunt for safe havens. Thats is why everyones eyes are always trained on America! With all due respect to kizees skills in 'flactuatory economics'
A New Kenya
#50 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:21:50 PM

And even seeing the aforesaid, why is bill and melinda gates pumping cash into mkesho? And warren buffet pumped all his cash in bill and melinda? Ama warren anachomeka? Or desparate? Think about it, then sell or, hold.
A New Kenya
#51 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 4:53:55 AM

And even seeing the aforesaid, why is bill and melinda gates pumping cash into mkesho? And warren buffet pumped all his cash in bill and melinda? Ama warren anachomeka? Or desparate? Think about it, then sell or, hold.

Puhleeze... Warren Buffett DONATED the cash to the Bill & Melinda Gates foundation... he is not in it to make more money!

The Gates' fund various projects both for profit & non-profit... The for-profit are to encourage folks to stand on their own two feet...
PONDI
#52 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 6:13:58 AM

someone has guessed a net profit of slightly above 12b
#53 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 6:23:43 AM

@vvs, you are most likely right, but does it not say something about the fundamentals of this company. The best of safcom is in the future and not really today. Btw, did you watch Warren B and Bill Gates talk at wharton?
A New Kenya
#54 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 6:37:15 AM

On markets again, Its like a very organised kiosk makes more returns(higher margins on unga) and hence 'more profit' than a supermarket, but cannot be listed on nse neither will you be very interested in investing in one. But there is always a loan shark, a kanjora(like how the kanjora from cck went to safcom), a defaulter mboch/housewife, a thief near a kiosk and you see them change hands daily. Or how you see guyz coming with nice new cheap clad and bling from garissa lodge but you lenga till you hear garissa lodge has spread till hurlingham.
A New Kenya
the deal
#55 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 6:56:40 AM

to u all safcom haters the results/prifits are big...p/e now 14..eps 0.38...dividend up 100%...data up 97%...
cnn
#56 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 7:10:42 AM

@the deal,tail between my legs,they have done well indeed.Good for the whole market.
Jaguar
#57 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:23:35 AM

sheep wrote:
...meanwhile foreigners will continue dumping the stock...no amount of good earnings will stop them...

correct prediction, this foreigners are seriously dumping the stock, anyone with a mystockslive subscription can see, so far -63.37 of the 64.10M turnover as @10:16am. Anyone planning to buy should wait till the dumping stops. They are gonna dump anyway, so why buy today only for it to drop tomorrow?
the deal
#58 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:45:14 AM

@ jaguar the dumping will be short lived...things in Europe r looking up...its just a matter of time before the same wazungus come running back n push the stock thru the roof..
#59 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 8:51:44 AM

the deal wrote:
@ jaguar the dumping will be short lived...things in Europe r looking up...its just a matter of time before the same wazungus come running back n push the stock thru the roof..

I don't think things in Europe are looking up. Which part of Europe are you referring to?

#60 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 9:09:47 AM

The counter has been trading at the IPO price for quite some, why?