wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Wazungus in Karen
slykat
#21 Posted : Tuesday, August 29, 2017 3:44:14 PM

An important factor is that the entry of Africans into Karen pushed the value of the land so dramatically high that the mzungus could not resist cashing in and upgrading their lifestyles. Plus the city has grown so fast that Karen became a suburban. Wealthy mzungus don't traditionally live in suburbs. They traditionally live in countrysides under freehold titles.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 7:04:30 AM

slykat wrote:
An important factor is that the entry of Africans into Karen pushed the value of the land so dramatically high that the mzungus could not resist cashing in and upgrading their lifestyles. Plus the city has grown so fast that Karen became a suburban. Wealthy mzungus don't traditionally live in suburbs. They traditionally live in countrysides under freehold titles.

White folks value privacy.. I know one who lives deep inside Bissil in a magnificent mansion

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
shanoka
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 7:18:58 PM

Don't they miss the amenities of urban life?
#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 7:35:13 PM

shanoka wrote:

What are these? Polluted air and noise?
Chaka
#25 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 8:58:33 PM

Exactre...also fresh organic food..
shanoka wrote:

#26 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 9:31:53 PM

So after all the former leafy surbubs eg lavington, kilimani, kileleshwa etc have been desecrated (many areas by ugly flats habited by the hoi polloi), where will the moneyed move to now that muthaiga, gigiri and runda are already full?
shanoka
#27 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 9:31:58 PM

shanoka wrote:

Cinemas, shopping, gisty hotels, more stuff to do...
innairobi
#28 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 9:52:54 PM

shanoka wrote:

some of these things arent really necessary to live a full life. mara mingi it's driven by FOMO and peer pressure.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
winmak
#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 9:59:24 PM

innairobi wrote:
shanoka wrote:

some of these things arent really necessary to live a full life. mara mingi it's driven by FOMO and peer pressure.

And typical of middle class
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#30 Posted : Wednesday, August 30, 2017 10:17:32 PM

shanoka wrote:

I imagine they have proper home theaters that would rival the movie theaters we have. And anyway, who would want to mingle with the urban folk of today? They can still drive/fly to gisty hotels and do that more stuff when they are around. But honestly urban life is overrated.
Mike Ock
#31 Posted : Thursday, August 31, 2017 11:51:19 AM

shanoka wrote:

Hizo ni raha za mtu amepata pesa juzi. Old money wazungus love nature so much, they prefer safaris, hunting/fishing, horse riding, extreme sports, hiking, na kadhalika. Those are things that are done huko Nanyuki.

Side note: you should see how much money those old money wazungus donate to wildlife conservancies. Lewa publishes donations and they can clock 300-500m in one year alone! Hiyo ndio raha yao sasa
kayhara
#32 Posted : Thursday, August 31, 2017 1:23:25 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
shanoka wrote:
[quote=shanoka]Don't they miss the amenities of urban life?

Cinemas-How many high worth fellas do you find at IMAX or any cinema hall at all, live plays maybe.
Shopping-This guys shop once a month and when they do they go there when traffic is very low that way they even get supermarket guys to push their carts for them.
Gisty hotels,I think you mean restaurants with glass looking out into the street, No they prefer member clubs or some not so obvious restaurants like Lord Erroll,Rusty nails, Hotels like tribe,windsor etc.
More stuff to do? they prefer to swing golf at Sagana,game watch at samnuru intrepids, some hiiden places somewhere in kwale, shimba hills, rhino charge, dirt bike races, shooting range, kayak, bungee jumping, camel racing in garrissa, sky diving, and sea diving in watamu, in Nairobi what can you do except drink, watch football on DSTV, walkin crowded karura, watch Gor play with violent hooligans, attend babas rally, so limited
To Each His Own
slykat
#33 Posted : Thursday, August 31, 2017 1:27:00 PM

Chaka wrote:
shanoka wrote:

Chaka ... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Well put. Even in the UK the wealthy live in Shags; in 10-acre plus greenery, ideally with wildlife. The only amenity needed is deer and foxes for the hunting season. Fresh air and quiet a must. In fact it is so bad such that countryside land is unavailable. It disappeared ages ago during the rein of the land barons. Everybody else is crammed into polluted cities like sardines in a can.

The idea is also to live in separate exclusion from you and me. In England many live in Sheffield - 5 hours from London. Those who run their businesses in London have private choppers for the commute and a small 2 b/r flat in London when it is too late or the weather is too bad.

In Nanyuki, Laikipia and Ol Kalou some have their own airstrips and small aircraft which they also use for spraying crop.

#34 Posted : Thursday, August 31, 2017 6:23:47 PM

slykat wrote:
Chaka wrote:
shanoka wrote:

Chaka ... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Well put. Even in the UK the wealthy live in Shags; in 10-acre plus greenery, ideally with wildlife. The only amenity needed is deer and foxes for the hunting season. Fresh air and quiet a must. In fact it is so bad such that countryside land is unavailable. It disappeared ages ago during the rein of the land barons. Everybody else is crammed into polluted cities like sardines in a can.

The idea is also to live in separate exclusion from you and me. In England many live in Sheffield - 5 hours from London. Those who run their businesses in London have private choppers for the commute and a small 2 b/r flat in London when it is too late or the weather is too bad.

In Nanyuki, Laikipia and Ol Kalou some have their own airstrips and small aircraft which they also use for spraying crop.

TIBIIM....That's life.

kiash
#35 Posted : Thursday, August 31, 2017 6:40:42 PM

Nice topic.Since i baceme jungu Laughing out loudly black one,i no longer live with the rest of vinyangarikas.
Anyway i have seen those jungus in Nanyuki, kitambo they used to shop at settlers stores but nowadays there is Nakumatt they show up in their Toyota landcruisers for a month shopping and then take the route back to the jungle.I live in an appartment and everytime i go visiting the folks in the countryside , i dream of going back to the village in Kenya with unpolluted air and eat my own spinach (organic for that matter).
The problem is those appartments allover. In Kenya , people identify you with where you live and what you drive. I know a guy who has lived in an SQ in Kileleshwa for over 15 yrs. When you ask him where do you live, he says Kile , only that he does not tell you its an SQ. So people will struggle to go stay in those appartments and pay expensive just coz of the name and not coz of the amenities.

By the way where does the former CJ live ? saw he said in an appartment. Thought he had money to pay a mansion.
Greed , corruption, garbage menace, water rationing name it. Toka Nairobi.
kiash
#36 Posted : Thursday, August 31, 2017 6:42:55 PM

kayhara wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:
shanoka wrote:
[quote=shanoka]Don't they miss the amenities of urban life?

Cinemas-How many high worth fellas do you find at IMAX or any cinema hall at all, live plays maybe.
Shopping-This guys shop once a month and when they do they go there when traffic is very low that way they even get supermarket guys to push their carts for them.
Gisty hotels,I think you mean restaurants with glass looking out into the street, No they prefer member clubs or some not so obvious restaurants like Lord Erroll,Rusty nails, Hotels like tribe,windsor etc.
More stuff to do? they prefer to swing golf at Sagana,game watch at samnuru intrepids, some hiiden places somewhere in kwale, shimba hills, rhino charge, dirt bike races, shooting range, kayak, bungee jumping, camel racing in garrissa, sky diving, and sea diving in watamu, in Nairobi what can you do except drink, watch football on DSTV, walkin crowded karura, watch Gor play with violent hooligans, attend babas rally, so limited

Kwanza hii, then drink like hell and go knock off those boulders and electric poles at 4 AM
#37 Posted : Friday, September 01, 2017 1:03:26 AM

This is how one is supposed to live in harmony with nature. Not clearing all vegetation and replacing it with cabro....

bartum
#38 Posted : Friday, September 01, 2017 11:05:58 AM

This is how one is supposed to live in harmony with nature. Not clearing all vegetation and replacing it with cabro....

Savannah grassland converted to woodland
Fullykenyan
#39 Posted : Tuesday, September 05, 2017 3:49:20 PM

One thing i learned from white Kenyans, is buy a gun, get a Deutsche Shepherhund,get a four wheel drive and live far from people. Most whites i know in kenya, live in very serene areas and they seem to enjoy Africa fully than most kenyans.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, September 05, 2017 4:34:28 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
One thing i learned from white Kenyans, is buy a gun, get a Deutsche Shepherhund,get a four wheel drive and live far from people. Most whites i know in kenya, live in very serene areas and they seem to enjoy Africa fully than most kenyans.

No wonder they are not victims of kipindupindu which is ravaging the rest of the masses.