Polythene bags ban issues
Let this ban take force and gradually have a plan to replace all plastic bags used for industrial packaging. I fully support. Plastic usage affects majority if not all; the few who are opposed are the manufacturers Reflection Eternal
Flo-ology wrote:Let this ban take force and gradually have a plan to replace all plastic bags used for industrial packaging. I fully support. Plastic usage affects majority if not all; the few who are opposed are the manufacturers Retailers too. If you break bulk and sell animal feeds for instance, you now have to do with more expensive packaging for your customers
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
The biggest concern should be plastic water bottles. They are worse than the paper bags. The only advantage the bottles have over paper bags is that they are recycle-able, but no one is doing that! The ban should extend to the soda/water/juice bottles!!!! Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
dunkang wrote:The biggest concern should be plastic water bottles. They are worse than the paper bags.
The only advantage the bottles have over paper bags is that they are recycle-able, but no one is doing that!
The ban should extend to the soda/water/juice bottles!!!! Is the implementation on going ,Meanwhile A survey in Nairobi — which accounts for 62 per cent of the 275 dispensers installed within commercial centres — showed many dealers, who had stocked plastic bottles, had put up reminders for shoppers to carry their own containers
"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Time to quit ubachelor. BBI will solve it :)
Kenya can fix two of its biggest problems - bad roads and mounds of plastic waste — at once, if it embraces new technology. The technology incorporates plastic waste in the construction of roads. The roads, built from discarded plastic water bottles and polythene bags will not only be water resistant but also stronger, smoother and durable, Mr Balasubramaniam Swaminathan, the president of Enterprising Fairs India, said. http://www.nation.co.ke/...67946-hi7gdaz/index.html
Schoopid law!
Kwani plastic imekuwa bhangi? If you are caught with it unaenda jela?
schoopid kabisa!
Anti_Burglar wrote:Schoopid law!
Kwani plastic imekuwa bhangi? If you are caught with it unaenda jela?
schoopid kabisa! In fact it's negative effects are worse to many compared to negative effect of bhangi.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
So only juala is banned? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Have the environmentalists considered the toll that increased usage of paper will have on our forests? I am all for the environment but I see the problem as more of disposal of plastic waste than use of plastics, so why can't the law address the disposal aspect. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Have the environmentalists considered the toll that increased usage of paper will have on our forests?
I am all for the environment but I see the problem as more of disposal of plastic waste than use of plastics, so why can't the law address the disposal aspect. it could be good news/lifeline to Panpaper huko western.
These are the people complaining loudest about the plastic bags ban.  How come only members of the 44th tribe are complaining? They want Kenya to be like their shags:  And then they will just move to England.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
mobutu123 wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Have the environmentalists considered the toll that increased usage of paper will have on our forests?
I am all for the environment but I see the problem as more of disposal of plastic waste than use of plastics, so why can't the law address the disposal aspect. it could be good news/lifeline to Panpaper huko western. And the sisal crop too. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
kaka2za wrote:mobutu123 wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Have the environmentalists considered the toll that increased usage of paper will have on our forests?
I am all for the environment but I see the problem as more of disposal of plastic waste than use of plastics, so why can't the law address the disposal aspect. it could be good news/lifeline to Panpaper huko western. And the sisal crop too. Now I know why this ban came at this time... How many tracks of sisal plantations are in Taita Taveta and its environs? I think they gonna benefit lots from this ban. NOTE: I support the ban despite...
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
AlphDoti wrote:kaka2za wrote:mobutu123 wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Have the environmentalists considered the toll that increased usage of paper will have on our forests?
I am all for the environment but I see the problem as more of disposal of plastic waste than use of plastics, so why can't the law address the disposal aspect. it could be good news/lifeline to Panpaper huko western. And the sisal crop too. Now I know why this ban came at this time... How many tracks of sisal plantations are in Taita Taveta and its environs? I think they gonna benefit lots from this ban. NOTE: I support the ban despite... It's the discipline that we lack...then our lawmakers being dimwits are just there to react,they can't think. In big European cities like Hamburg,Rotterdam etc juala is used daily but you will not see a plastic paper bag litter flying around. They carefully manage disposal. Ni kichwa maji tunayo sisi nyeuthi. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@impunity, been checking the countries that have banned plastic bags. Most are third world countries. Most are in Africa with Bangladesh being perhaps the only non African country with a successful total ban. The Rwanda case is often quoted but they are totally different from us. They are very disciplined, do not trash, don't junp traffic lights even at night. Great people. Here in Kenya, you buy a soda as you drive towards Nakuru, ikiisha you just mannerlessly thrust the plastic bottle out of the car. Itaokotwa na kanjo ya huko Flyover ama Kinungi I get very disgusted walking behind someone in a clean section of a town where county govt has done nice paving then you see them drop banana peels on the pavement. We need stronger non-littering, non spitting laws and enforcement
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Lolest! wrote:@impunity, been checking the countries that have banned plastic bags. Most are third world countries. Most are in Africa with Bangladesh being perhaps the only non African country with a successful total ban.
The Rwanda case is often quoted but they are totally different from us. They are very disciplined, do not trash, don't junp traffic lights even at night. Great people. Here in Kenya, you buy a soda as you drive towards Nakuru, ikiisha you just mannerlessly thrust the plastic bottle out of the car. Itaokotwa na kanjo ya huko Flyover ama Kinungi
I get very disgusted walking behind someone in a clean section of a town where county govt has done nice paving then you see them drop banana peels on the pavement.
We need stronger non-littering, non spitting laws and enforcement This is where I agree with you. You have described my experience completely! The lack of manners exhibited by many people is annoying and frustrating...
Kenyans being kenyans seem to have accepted and moved on, KAM says there is a crisis, which crisis, NEMA should kaa ngumu and actually look into adding water bottles in the ban,also some primary packaging for items like bread,kadogo blueband, sweets, should also go, we frustrated the matatu card, the analogues tv ban worked let the plastic ban also work. To Each His Own
Polythene bags ban issues