wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Safaricom results FY 2010
kingauwi
#1 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 10:00:24 AM

When is Safaricom releasing their results?
I gather that, last year they did so around 18th may, declaring a .10 dividend.

Do we expect better results that can drive the share price anywhere around 7.00/?
First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win!
#2 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 10:13:42 AM

they are releasing the results on wednesday...
they are expected to be very good with a surprise int he dividend payout...

this stock has been sold in the past weeks due to the problems with the CCK and problems in Europe which means the huge number of forign shareholders are taking profits for re patriation...

but as a self proclaimed stocks analyst if the results come out as expected with PBT above 20billion then i expect the share price to shake off all these worries
BGL
#3 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 10:15:17 AM

On their website, Safaricom has indicated that it will release their results on May 26..... only 2 days from today.

http://www.safaricom.co.ke/index.php?id=840
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
kingauwi
#4 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 10:30:22 AM

Thanks all,
I remain very pregnant over this.
First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win!
the deal
#5 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 10:31:01 AM

@ madam guru true that...@ 5.60 scom is buy buy buy..10% rule will be suspended on wednesday..
mv_ufanisi
#6 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 10:46:39 AM

Hope for the best. It's likely some foreign investor will offload so much that the share gain will be minimized. A sneeze in the developed markets and they offload like there's no tomorrow.
B.Timer
#7 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 10:53:23 AM

It's one and half days to the date, yet the stock is not appreciating.
In fact in the last few days it has been moving in the wrong direction!

Might there be other factors at play?
Dunia ni msongamano..
the deal
#8 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 11:01:57 AM

@ B-timer there r no factors @ play here..its just this Europe debt crisis keeping investors @ bay...you buy when theres blood in the street...LOL
Surealligator
#9 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 11:03:54 AM

kingauwi wrote:

I gather that last year the did so around 18th may declaring a .10 dividend.

Do we expect better results that can drive the share price anywhere around 7.00.

@Kingauwi

Next time, please, let you heading give an ideal of what you are asking. I thought the guys have already released the results by reading your heading. I had to stop at a very dangerous place to in order to read the bomb. Wee bana, usishtue tena hivyo. Anyway, thanks for bringing the phenomena's announcement date to my attention.

Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
kingauwi
#10 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 11:53:43 AM

Surealligator wrote:
kingauwi wrote:

I gather that last year the did so around 18th may declaring a .10 dividend.

Do we expect better results that can drive the share price anywhere around 7.00.

@Kingauwi

Next time, please, let you heading give an ideal of what you are asking. I thought the guys have already released the results by reading your heading. I had to stop at a very dangerous place to in order to read the bomb. Wee bana, usishtue tena hivyo. Anyway, thanks for bringing the phenomena's announcement date to my attention.

Pole sana Mr. Mamba.
Mshtuko not intended.

Lakini come Wednesday, there is no telling.
Join me in keeping vigil.

Na mchunge ma-cardiac arrest.
#11 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 4:37:35 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Hope for the best. It's likely some foreign investor will offload so much that the share gain will be minimized.

That's my worry too. My sell is at 6.2 and I'm hoping for the best. Lakini 40B shares ni mingi! They need to announce a reverse on Wednesday as well.

#12 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 7:00:57 PM

is it really possible for safaricom to obtain a pbt of twenty billion. i doubt it

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
The Merchant
#13 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 7:55:07 PM

I think the fundamentals for safaricom are ok...at least thats the reason i want to get in now...they seem to understand that their future is not in voice only and like a market leader they have gone into everything from data to financials!!I see the stock go past 15 in like 2 yrs. Honest opinion.
Jaguar
#14 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 9:58:25 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
It's likely some foreign investor will offload so much

foreigners have been offloading though not heavily since 19-05-10 till today (monday).
20B PBT? very unlikely
@guru627, another bet on 20B PBT? smile
ProverB
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:36:54 AM

eeeeeeeeehhh......

please..as you think safcom...please consider whatever factors you use on A PER SHARE BASIS!!!!!!!!
please?.... company in itself might be doing well but on a PER SHARE BASIS definitely NOT!!!

Interim results earnings were up about 8%...(not sure..will confirm... what is there to make full year earnings beat this?..kwani what has happened within 6 months??

Why pay 5 bob for a share whose earnings are HARDLY any where near 0.50 bob???

fundamentally...NO GO...technically...hence trade/momoentum movers...may be a buy...but there's nothing worth writing home about...options better off out of this one.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:44:44 AM

ProverB wrote:
eeeeeeeeehhh......

what is there to make full year earnings beat this?..kwani what has happened within 6 months??

Mpesa, Mkesho, 3G internet, increased subscriber base... A lot has happened in 6 months.

ProverB
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:06:27 AM

Mpesa, Mkesho, 3G internet, increased subscriber base... A lot has happened in 6 months.

my ownership in safaricom is LIMITED to the number of shares I have... a paltry 10,000 shares (compared to FREAKING 40 BILLION).. so even if they make PROFIT after Tax of ksh80 Billion.. (LOL!!!) my stake is 0.00000025 of that!!!! seriously... if they had fewer shares..those things you've quoted would be so cool on shareholder value...but on a PER SHARE BASIS..for it to be worth decent investment by a retailor...they need to reports profits close to 100 BILLION... which is not possible... unless in Uganda shillings! Tehehehehe!
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:32:42 AM

ProverB wrote:
my ownership in safaricom is LIMITED to the number of shares I have... a paltry 10,000 shares (compared to FREAKING 40 BILLION).. so even if they make PROFIT after Tax of ksh80 Billion.. (LOL!!!) my stake is 0.00000025 of that!!!! seriously... if they had fewer shares..those things you've quoted would be so cool on shareholder value...but on a PER SHARE BASIS..for it to be worth decent investment by a retailor...they need to reports profits close to 100 BILLION... which is not possible... unless in Uganda shillings! Tehehehehe!

I totally get what you are saying but you are buying more than just the face value. You are buying with optimism of future growth. It's perceived value not actual value. I can bet you if they did a reverse split and only has 4B shares they would never trade below 60/- while nothing else would have changed including the 1/- dividend the perception would be different. Look at equity with almost 4B shares gaining by sometimes more than a shilling a day.

ProverB
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:39:37 AM

I can bet you if they did a reverse split and only has 4B shares they would never trade below 60/- while nothing else would have changed including the 1/- dividend the perception would be different. Look at equity with almost 4B shares gaining by sometimes more than a shilling a day.

Reality. that is not happening anytime soon.
my argument...no need to get all excited unless you are a momentum trader..or behavior trackers hence larger risk threshold... But as investment.. safaricom is not the better option here.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 9:32:09 AM

The "problem" with SCOM [if indeed it is a problem] is NOT the number of SHARES [40b], but the number of SHAREHOLDERS [800,000]. If we can figure a way of cutting this to 80,000, then you will see the price rising...

Reverse-splitting [or consolidation] will not change things!