wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

13 Pages<12345>»
BREAKING NEWS......Kadhis Courts are illegal
#31 Posted: : Monday, May 24, 2010 1:59:19 PM

Part of the ruling:

The Bench also ruled financial maintenance and support of the Kadhis courts from public coffers amounts to segregation, is sectarian, discriminatory and unjust against the applicants.

“This amounts to separate development of one religion and religious practice contrary to the principle of separation of State and Religion and is therefore contrary to the universal norms and principles of liberty and freedom.''

In reference to the enactment and application of the Kadhis courts to areas beyond the 10-mile Coastal strip, the judges said: “We find and hold that the purported extension of the Kadhis courts through the enactment of the Kadhis Courts Act beyond the former protectorate areas contravenes Section 64(4) and Section 4(2) (b) of the Constitution and is unconstitutional and therefore null and void.”

The three-judge Bench said the decision has been handed down on the basis that the role of the court is to interpret and declare the law.

The court however declined to expunge section 66 of the Constitution which introduces and entrenches Kadhis courts in the Constitution saying the doctrine of separation of powers prevents it from amending the law or enactment of a new Constitution including its contents as that role is vested in the people of Kenya.

Yes now....needsPray Pray Pray Pray
Ngalaka
#32 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:00:59 PM

Mkenyan

Given your argument then what are constitutional courts for?

Or whenever there is a dispute over interpretation of the constitution, who is supposed to give an intepretation that is binding?

Now it's what faith they are!!!!!!
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#33 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:08:07 PM

people...AS WE SAID BEFORE ITS NOT A RACE...OR A COMPETITION. lets pause...take a break, correct this draft and pass it before the end of the year. thats all the church has been asking for.
are we together.
its not YES vs NO. the constitution belongs to kenyans, it would be silly to compete over a draft to rule us ad infinitum. - thats why we have general election.
chepkel
#34 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:08:44 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

Wa wa wa, those in No will be poping up the champagne.
So clergy might even start claiming credit - ati waliomba milango ya ngereza ikafunguka.
We have not seen or heard the last of this.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Surealligator
#35 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:11:47 PM

mwenza wrote:
The High Court has ruled that the Kadhi's Courts should not be included in the draft constitution. The ruling resulted from a court case filed in 2004.

What next to the proposed constitution?

It does not require a genius to know that Kibaki and Raila will use all means to kill the Imminent Cosntitution while showing Obama that they stood by it through thick and thin. This is a no brainer. And someone said we should respect our elders even when they have been shitting on our door steps for eons. It is time to say enough is enough by using our ballots in favour of the death of these elders machination.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Ngalaka
#36 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:16:11 PM

Surealligator wrote:
mwenza wrote:
The High Court has ruled that the Kadhi's Courts should not be included in the draft constitution. The ruling resulted from a court case filed in 2004.

What next to the proposed constitution?

It does not require a genius to know that Kibaki and Raila will use all means to kill the Imminent Cosntitution while showing Obama that they stood by it through thick and thin. This is a no brainer. And someone said we should respect our elders even when they have been shitting on our door steps for eons. It is time to say enough is enough by using our ballots in favour of the death of these elders machination.

I didnt see this one coming!

Is it what they call conspiracy theory on steroids.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#37 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:19:34 PM

well said @Surealligator.
people i pray remember this draft will rule us for eons. lets not perpetuate illegalities and discrimination when we can see them.
gogeta
#38 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:20:16 PM

Those are the best news ever...there is no way i can vote for a kadhi's court to be maintained by kenyan's reluctantly contributed tax.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
nanfor1
#39 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:27:05 PM

actually the ruling is for the current constitution not the proposed.

That being said, i the timing is just ... The Kenyan story has been writen on the wall for all to see. There will be no new constitution, this year, or next year or whatever year. Someone will always come up with something like this. Surely 6 years to make such a simple ruling?
Hata wakizima taa
#40 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:30:47 PM

Haiya, I think we better just get used to living with the old constitution and make the best out of it~!!!!! clearly, we arent getting it any time soon.
#41 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:41:40 PM

...wacha tusikie wadadisi na wachanganuzi wa mambo ya kisiasa watasema nini njioni ya leo... LAKINI VILE CAPTAIN ATASEMA NITAFANYA HIVYO TU...

#42 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:43:24 PM

@Wendz, come slowly don't despair. All we have to do is PAUSE. this review process is governed by laws created by human being, its not like we are trying to stop the volcano in ICELAND. we can stop this process right now. then amend.
Soko tele
#43 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:45:47 PM

Just the other day most of us were celebrating our judiciary for sending some MPs home. Today the tune has changed.

If i recall no one had an issue with Wako draft in regards to Kadhis court.

B.Timer
#44 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:47:50 PM

Haiya, I think we better just get used to living with the old constitution and make the best out of it~!!!!! clearly, we arent getting it any time soon.

Hold it there, we need this constitution.
All we needed do from the word go was re-phrase the relevant section to read something akin to;

All religions will be allowed to operate their own tribunals on matters limited to personal law, that relate to their faithfuls who choose to submit to such tribunals.
The tribunals will be run and funded fully by the sponsoring faiths.
Dunia ni msongamano..
#45 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:56:02 PM

@Masukuma
...It is too early to celebrate...
13 Pages<12345>»