wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

4 Pages«<234
Access Kenya free fall.
stock.enigma
#61 Posted : Thursday, May 13, 2010 10:07:19 PM

Sentiments. Sentiments. No body is saying anything of value here. I better be asleep. Goodnight
#62 Posted : Thursday, May 13, 2010 10:15:31 PM

BD Article
Chaka
#63 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 8:33:06 AM

This story is long and depressing.
A few questions:
1.Is Michael Somen a lawyer turned IT professional or was he the IT manager at the law firm whEre he used to work?
2.How is Openview draining 7M a month?(I also thought Openview is a registered trademark of the US firm HP ?)
3.Now that this info is in the public domain,was it wise for the firm to pospone the AGM?
Wa_ithaka
#64 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 8:51:39 AM

Interestingly, the share price has gone north.

The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
mv_ufanisi
#65 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 8:56:15 AM

Looks like if you have the wrong directors of a company, the could be scheming and making money off the company denying the rest of the shareholders a profit. It's unethical hence the importance of checking the kind of management you have in the company. What would stop directors from overpricing everything and making deals while declaring low profits?
#66 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 9:10:38 AM

This is a subsequent event and the least I expect is for the auditors (who are they? Hopefully not the Uchumi lot) to speak appropriately at the AGM. A valuation of the metro is required so that the losses (if any) are dealt with as adjusting entries in last years accounts. The Board of Directors MUST relieve Somen the MD of his job, they can retain him on the Board if they wish. The Overview purchase should also be reviewed and appropriate write-offs done. Once all this is done, we can then start again and rise from the ashes. BTW didn't Thakkar own Scangroup and now is running it professionally and not like a fiefdom?
the deal
#67 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 9:33:34 AM

@ GG true that...but remember the competition is not sleeping...
#68 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 10:21:20 AM

Chaka wrote:
This story is long and depressing.
A few questions:
1.Is Michael Somen a lawyer turned IT professional or was he the IT manager at the law firm whEre he used to work?
2.How is Openview draining 7M a month?(I also thought Openview is a registered trademark of the US firm HP ?)
3.Now that this info is in the public domain,was it wise for the firm to pospone the AGM?

1) He is the mzee... The lawyer who made an investment in Jonathan & David's firm.

2) No idea how much lakini they overpaid that henry chap for OpenView!

3) More the reason to let things cool down as well as sort the issues out BEFORE the AGM...
#69 Posted : Sunday, May 16, 2010 5:40:07 AM

Touched 17.40 then flew away. I expect the the price to approach these levels again, or even go lower. unless some very goods is forthcoming from the company... I will bid my time for entry at 15
BGL
#70 Posted : Sunday, May 16, 2010 6:11:05 PM

The largest, longest study of experts' economic forecasts was performed by Philip Tetlock, a professor at the Haas Business School of the University of California - Berkeley. He studied 82,361 predictions over 25 years by 284 selected experts. Prof Tetlock concluded that expert predictions barely beat random guesses. Ironically, the more famous the expert, the less accurate his or her predictions tended to be.
So, as an investor, what should you do about forecasts.... forecasts of the stock market, forecasts of the interest rates, forecasts of the economy? Answer: Nothing. You can save time, anxiety, and money by ignoring market forecasts and trusting your instincts.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Wa_ithaka
#71 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 10:44:15 AM

Just saw somebody saying that AK just a gave trading update showing 40% yoy EBITDA growth. Anybody seen the details?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#72 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 12:29:50 PM

Just seen Fred Mweni on KTN Financial Markets. Access they have doubled their customer base and look forward to an exciting year.
#73 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 12:34:46 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Just seen Fred Mweni on KTN Financial Markets. Access they have doubled their customer base and look forward to an exciting year.

I read spin-doctoring, to counter negative publicity caused by the Board fiasco.
qw25041985
#74 Posted : Saturday, May 22, 2010 7:15:34 PM

Can someone please tell me the real value of this company's shares. U can do some calculations using the current financial information,i dont mind....just to give me some idea of whats goin on here...

And by tha way what ever goes down must come up and AK is no exception.....
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
the deal
#75 Posted : Saturday, May 22, 2010 8:38:09 PM

@qw 8-10 bob...anything above that AK wont get my money...
#76 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 6:52:31 AM

the deal wrote:
@qw 8-10 bob...anything above that AK wont get my money...
Very good buy at 8/-... Truth is we will not see 8/- unless something really bad happens to AK
Jaguar
#77 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2010 11:53:37 PM

hahahahahaaaa...told you so...
the stock was falling because of corrupt practices by the directors. The down slide was accelerated by foreign investors sell-off..company is still strong but somens need to eat pole pole
#78 Posted : Tuesday, July 06, 2010 3:18:45 AM

@jaguar - I have no idea why you are laffing... coz AK going towards 20/- not 8/-... and the Somens are still in charge...
#79 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 7:17:23 AM

ProverB wrote:
My personal opinion is that AK's days are numbered as an independent firm... Either it will be bought out or it will fade into oblivion over a few years...

i so second that!!!!!

copy this on your browser http://www.wazua.co.ke/f....aspx?g=posts&t=708 i still maintain the firm is run by venture capitalists, fattening it for slaughter. BTW, that director who led some co to be listed on NASDAQ, is he still around?

@Proverb and @VVS just came across this, all the way from 2010! There it is, the prophecy fulfilled.