wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Legal option for tout who refuses to give back change
Coolbull
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 26, 2017 11:43:00 PM

Is there any legally sustainable option if one boards a matatu, pays fare, forgets to ask for change, alights and when he/she catches up with the crew a few hours later the makanga insists he gave out all due change....and dares him/her to report to the nearest police station.

.....Also noting that matatus don't issue tickets

#2 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 12:29:32 AM

ati... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly "WHO REFUSE WITH FARE"? direct translation "AMEKATAA NA FARE" Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 12:29:46 AM

#4 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 6:16:56 AM

Coolbull wrote:
Is there any legally sustainable option if one boards a matatu, pays fare, forgets to ask for change, alights and when he/she catches up with the crew a few hours later the makanga insists he gave out all due change....and dares him/her to report to the nearest police station.

write off and move on .a friend forgot 950 in githurai buses.
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 7:20:27 AM

Refuses with change ....... Accept & move on!!!
Coolbull
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 8:58:45 AM

ati... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly "WHO REFUSE WITH FARE"? direct translation "AMEKATAA NA FARE" Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Typographical error. As Uhunye said no money was lost, here I say no message misunderstood. Now give a solution....aki unacheka na vile mwezi iko corner.

Write off and move on - you mean there is no way of dealing with this matter legally.
T-Bag
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 9:15:06 AM

Coolbull wrote:

Typographical error. As Uhunye said no money was lost, here I say no message misunderstood. Now give a solution....aki unacheka na vile mwezi iko corner.

Write off and move on - you mean there is no way of dealing with this matter legally.

Two non-legal but solutions nonetheless

1. Visit the said matatu SACCO and report your grievance to officials
2. Take their official phone numbers and let a policeman friend or lawyer reiterate your position; hoping the change is material to you
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 9:16:17 AM

Coolbull wrote:

Yes. The matatus are now under registered saccos. These saccos are supposed to take care of such and discipline their errant members of face disciplinary action including deregistration by the authority. The saccos take such matters very seriously, even ukipitishwa stage or when the mat driver refuses to complete the journey they should refund you full fare.

#9 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 5:14:43 PM

There is something called "Nairobi Tax" which everyone must pay at one time or the other. This is to cure the little upumbavus that everyone has when they first come here like thinking that other people are supposed to watch over your things, that everyone is your mother etc. Once you pay it is like getting Chicken Pox you cannot get it again unless you have really low immunity. You will be so much more alert every time hutawai gongwa tena.
Mtublack
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 6:18:58 PM

There is something called "Nairobi Tax" which everyone must pay at one time or the other. This is to cure the little upumbavus that everyone has when they first come here like thinking that other people are supposed to watch over your things, that everyone is your mother etc. Once you pay it is like getting Chicken Pox you cannot get it again unless you have really low immunity. You will be so much more alert every time hutawai gongwa tena.

well put. if you had already left without your change my take is that you can do without it. hii mambo ya court na SACCO will not help. might be very hard to prove your case
Some you win some you lose
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 8:26:19 PM

Coolbull wrote:

a long time ago. when alma was still in trumpland. there was this guy who forgot his change of kes 400. he had only walked about 50 meters away before he remembered. so he walked back to the stage. found the matatu and conductor and asked for his change. the conductor was like '...weee!!! umerudi tena.' then shouting for all to hear he continued '...this is the guy who conned me of kes 400 yesterday by lying that i had his change. he conned me yesterday but thank god he's back today and he has been caught'. long story short, the guy was lucky not to be lyched.
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 8:36:21 PM

one day in 2015,I left 950 in KBS ,I retained the ticket with balance written on it and took to KBS bus station the following day, they identified the bus within minutes and my change was refunded.
Fullykenyan
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 8:46:30 PM

In Nairobi you dont use legal means, tumia kifua.i was once cyling past Buruburu when two chokoras, decided out of the blues to just hurl an abuse to me. When i stopped, one bend for a stone to scare me. However,the story changed when they saw me alighting ready to take them on. They were like"Boss si wewe tulikuwa tunatusi,ni yule jamaa mwingine"..moral of the story. Show no fear whatsoever
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 27, 2017 9:07:54 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
In Nairobi you dont use legal means, tumia kifua.i was once cyling past Buruburu when two chokoras, decided out of the blues to just hurl an abuse to me. When i stopped, one bend for a stone to scare me. However,the story changed when they saw me alighting ready to take them on. They were like"Boss si wewe tulikuwa tunatusi,ni yule jamaa mwingine"..moral of the story. Show no fear whatsoever

That is one way to look at it and one set of chokoras. Once upon a time when Nairobi was ruled by city council there used to be City Council toilets that were full of human excrement yaani mavi and not just in the hole but all over the floor and on the walls. Some chokoras used to go in there and paint themselves with the feaces and take some in their hands and then they would walk out on the streets and not just tukana people but actually snatch purses and slowly walk away while daring brave men like you to show kifua and chase them or fight them. Most men chose to walk away rather than fight and end up smelling like shit.