wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Why is Mombasa so dirty ??
Fyatu
#41 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 10:29:57 AM

The irony is that empty debe(D- for empty debe) campaign slogan is "we deliver."

The only solution is to build a new Mombasa city somewhere behind Mwakirunge or at Mwandoni(thats the only space remaining). At the moment Mombasa cannot be saved without massive demolitions and we all know that this cannot happen. Another alternative is to move Mombasa to Kanamai or maugunja etc.
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#42 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 10:49:38 AM

Fyatu wrote:
The irony is that empty debe(D- for empty debe) campaign slogan is "we deliver."

The only solution is to build a new Mombasa city somewhere behind Mwakirunge or at Mwandoni(thats the only space remaining). At the moment Mombasa cannot be saved without massive demolitions and we all know that this cannot happen. Another alternative is to move Mombasa to Kanamai or maugunja etc.

D- tano tena, just like all thieves in Kenya including the usual suspects. Kura ya kila mtu ni moja, lakini wananchi kwa jumla waamua smile smile smile
#43 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 1:39:25 PM

Fyatu wrote:

D- tano tena, just like all thieves in Kenya including the usual suspects. Kura ya kila mtu ni moja, lakini wananchi kwa jumla waamua smile smile smile

Yep....Tano tena....

#44 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 1:41:59 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Yep....Tano tena....

Exactly, let the voters decide. Mimi i cannot decide for them smile
Alba
#45 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 3:56:18 PM

Seles83 wrote:
Alba wrote:
Enyewe Mombasa is dilapidated and dirty and demoralizing. But blaming the local population or even the governor for the woes of a major town in Kenya is missing the point.

If we cannot clean and maintain our own neighbourhoods, then why cry foul when the council and county governments fail to do the same!!

Maybe the people making the city dirty are the Wabara. Not the locals whom you claim are waiting for mnazi to fall down.
Alba
#46 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 6:44:30 PM

Alba wrote:
Enyewe Mombasa is dilapidated and dirty and demoralizing. But blaming the local population or even the governor for the woes of a major town in Kenya is missing the point.

Who's to blame if not those trashing it and those in charge of maintaining it?

We Kenyans are to blame. And I mean all Kenyans not just Mombasa people.

We have tolerated corruption and land grabbing for 54 years ! As a result land that was supposed to be set aside for infrastructure development, waste management, land fills, drainage channels etc has been grabbed and given to private developers.

The cities are expanding rapidly but there is no equivalent infrastructure expansion. More than half urban dwellers now live in shanties where waste collection and sewerage is a non-starter.

Much of the city money goes towards debt repayments. Money that was borrowed by previous corrupt regimes.

Transport infrastructure including roads are inadequate or non-existent, making garbage collection an expensive endeavour. All becoz land for road reserves was grabbed.

54 years of poor planning, no zoning, land grabbing and corruption and now you expect a governor to fix it in 4 years ????

And he must do this with no help from the central government ???

The problems of Kenya's biggest cities require policies and solutions driven by the national government not just the local government.

In Kenya, leaders are not interested in solving issues because that is not what gets them elected. What gets them elected is building tribal blocs. If we insist on maintaining a system of tribe based voting instead of issue based voting then don't be shocked if the cities look like hell. So all Kenyans are to blame. And Don't blame Wakosti for their dirty city when Nairobi also looks like hell.

If you insist on letting politicians grab land and engage in corruption then don't be chocked if you are stuck in traffic for 3 hours or your taps go dry for a week or the city is crime ridden.

If you create a culture of issue based leaders then you will slowly start to see real solutions like recycling plants, laws that govern garbage disposal, well managed landfills, laws and policies around recycling etc. etc. etc.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 7:18:59 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Yep....Tano tena....

Tourist attraction
kayhara
#48 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 7:36:34 PM

NB. Nairobi is also pretty filthy, but counties forget that they should actually concentrate on this basic services.
1-garbage collection and disposal.
2-waste water management
3-storm water management
4-provision of clean piped water
5-Roads,street lighting,traffic lights.
6-public spacesceg parks, jogging /walkways
Provide these and you have happy residents.
To Each His Own
#49 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 8:42:37 PM

Seems to be a theme running across all counties lead by ODM governors. A hint of what will happen to Kenya in the far-fetched unfortunate and unlikely event...

#50 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 8:53:52 PM

kayhara wrote:
NB. Nairobi is also pretty filthy, but counties forget that they should actually concentrate on this basic services.
2-waste water management
3-storm water management

They will atill kick you out. Ask Kinuthia Mbugua

Clean cities come with a cost(relocation of psv termini, evicting hawkers..
#51 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 9:56:16 PM

kayhara wrote:
2-waste water management
3-storm water management

They will atill kick you out. Ask Kinuthia Mbugua

Clean cities come with a cost(relocation of psv termini, evicting hawkers..

So sad that he lost after he cleaned up Nakuru. What does wanjiko want? Or wanjiko was angry after being cleaned out?
#52 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 10:45:19 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Yep....Tano tena....

The irony is the voters in Msa have no issue with the Garbage. Their main issue is Land which has been Nyakuliwad. Same thing as the voters in Machakos may have problems with the Maendeleo Chap chap and may prefer Yaliyondwele sipite.
#53 Posted : Wednesday, July 05, 2017 7:49:26 AM

Gathige wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Yep....Tano tena....

The irony is the voters in Msa have no issue with the Garbage. Their main issue is Land which has been Nyakuliwad. Same thing as the voters in Machakos may have problems with the Maendeleo Chap chap and may prefer Yaliyondwele sipite.

Mombasa county is basically mombasa city, just like nairobi county is nairobi city. So how can you say that the biggest issue in a city is land that was nyakuliwad?
MatataMingi
#54 Posted : Wednesday, July 05, 2017 9:25:01 AM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

We have tolerated corruption and land grabbing for 54 years ! As a result land that was supposed to be set aside for infrastructure development, waste management, land fills, drainage channels etc has been grabbed and given to private developers.

The cities are expanding rapidly but there is no equivalent infrastructure expansion. More than half urban dwellers now live in shanties where waste collection and sewerage is a non-starter.

Much of the city money goes towards debt repayments. Money that was borrowed by previous corrupt regimes.

Transport infrastructure including roads are inadequate or non-existent, making garbage collection an expensive endeavour. All becoz land for road reserves was grabbed.

54 years of poor planning, no zoning, land grabbing and corruption and now you expect a governor to fix it in 4 years ????

The problems of Kenya's biggest cities require policies and solutions driven by the national government not just the local government.

In Kenya, leaders are not interested in solving issues because that is not what gets them elected. What gets them elected is building tribal blocs. If we insist on maintaining a system of tribe based voting instead of issue based voting then don't be shocked if the cities look like hell. So all Kenyans are to blame. And Don't blame Wakosti for their dirty city when Nairobi also looks like hell.

If you insist on letting politicians grab land and engage in corruption then don't be chocked if you are stuck in traffic for 3 hours or your taps go dry for a week or the city is crime ridden.

If you create a culture of issue based leaders then you will slowly start to see real solutions like recycling plants, laws that govern garbage disposal, well managed landfills, laws and policies around recycling etc. etc. etc.

@ Alba,
Excellent post Applause
#55 Posted : Wednesday, July 05, 2017 9:52:53 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

@Alba,
Excellent post Applause

@Alba well put Applause Applause Applause Applause
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 05, 2017 10:00:09 AM

Alba wrote:

Sasa unataka Ohuru afanye nini? You want ohuru to go and collect garbage in mombasa. Or be the one approving buildings at mombasa kanjo to prevent shoddy buildings and growth of slums in the city? Or to ensure buildings are well maintained and painted white? Or manage tuk tuks? All those (and many others) are the responsibilities of joho. Joho wants billions from national govt but doesn't want to work, just using the cash to follow baba....and feed baba.
Alba
#57 Posted : Thursday, July 06, 2017 6:13:42 AM

Alba wrote:

Sasa unataka Ohuru afanye nini? You want ohuru to go and collect garbage in mombasa. Or be the one approving buildings at mombasa kanjo to prevent shoddy buildings and growth of slums in the city? Or to ensure buildings are well maintained and painted white? Or manage tuk tuks? All those (and many others) are the responsibilities of joho. Joho wants billions from national govt but doesn't want to work, just using the cash to follow baba....and feed baba.

He can start by taking a zero tolerance approach to corruption and land grabbing. The Uhuru era is probably the worst ever when it comes to corruption.

As I have said above, the root cause of problems in our cities and towns is the scourge of land grabbing and corruption.
Iganamagana
#58 Posted : Thursday, July 06, 2017 8:35:24 AM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

He can start by taking a zero tolerance approach to corruption and land grabbing. The Uhuru era is probably the worst ever when it comes to corruption.

As I have said above, the root cause of problems in our cities and towns is the scourge of land grabbing and corruption.

Are you sure. Me thinks the ease with which we sambaza information is his undoing. I know two roads that were tamarked in the Nyayo era but only on paper. Yaani 100% theft. Nowadays they just take some percentage or compromise on the specifications.
#59 Posted : Thursday, July 06, 2017 8:38:12 AM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

The beauty of devolution is kila mtu na kwao. Nakuru county will overtake County 001 to be the economic and tourism destination that Mombasa once was. Evolution is real, in all aspects of life. The average tourist is no longer fascinated by beaches
Fyatu
#60 Posted : Thursday, July 06, 2017 9:40:27 AM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

The beauty of devolution is kila mtu na kwao. Nakuru county will overtake County 001 to be the economic and tourism destination that Mombasa once was. Evolution is real, in all aspects of life. The average tourist is no longer fascinated by beaches

Hata Somalia utapata white sandy beaches....Kutoka Tanga mpaka Mtwara pia utapata white sandy beaches na malaya/mashoga wakutosha(sex, sun and sand). Hata Kismayo ni port city so there is nothing special about Mombasa
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money