wazua Sat, Jan 25, 2025

7 Pages«<567
North is not up!
#121 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 12:41:29 AM

Seriously what's the reference point when measuring altitude? Are all seas at the same level? Masukuma's point would make sense if the earth was flat. But now considering the round shaped earth, thus my question why Mississippi flows in the opposite direction to Nile. Also if north pole is lower? Why is it covered in ice yet we know the higher you go the colder it becomes?

sea level... is the reference. and yes - water is at the same level. there is no "opposite" direction. they flow from HIGHER AREAS TO LOWER AREAS... that's it!! latitude have nothing to do with altitude!! check out how the niger river flows

plus the earth spherical so everything pulls towards the center of the sphere not it's southern tip or it's northern tip. those points just are magnetic and have really nothing else of significance to 'gravity' or 'upness' or 'downness'. there is nothing that would force water to travel north... other that the fact that from the point of reference 'north' is lower than 'south'.
#122 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2016 11:13:20 AM

mimi iko na swali...so if this is how our typical earth looks like....whether upside down or otherwise,

.....then why does River Nile flow towards the North/South Pole while River Mississippi which is on the same hemisphere flows away from the North/South Pole?

the reason water from Lake victoria follows to the Mediterranean is because... Lake victoria is HIGHER than the Mediterranean. Water at the arctic circle is at the same level as the one in the Antarctica. None is "higher"/"upper" than the other. The altitude of the "southest" point on our planet is 2,835 m and the North pole is actually on water so 0m above sea level. Kwa ufupi unless you are mambasani or on a beach somewhere saa hii... i can guarantee you that you are "higher"/"upper" than the North pole. Nairobi's altitude is lower than that of the south pole! Heck if you are living in a city and that city is not La Paz - I am sure YOU ARE LOWER than the South pole.

He (@harrydre) is just acting ignorant... He knows the answer...

Seriously what's the reference point when measuring altitude? Are all seas at the same level? Masukuma's point would make sense if the earth was flat. But now considering the round shaped earth, thus my question why Mississippi flows in the opposite direction to Nile. Also if north pole is lower? Why is it covered in ice yet we know the higher you go the colder it becomes?

Latitude and longitudes are imaginary lines, which have nothing to do with high or low ground level....

Altitudes can tell you high or low areas on the earth surface.

If you want to see which area is lower, and which are higher, you can check out contours... The water, the rivers flow along low area, routing out until lowest point forming lakes, or beyond to the sea.... So it depends of the nature of the ground... The water just follows that. It does not matter north or south...
#123 Posted : Saturday, May 13, 2017 2:04:24 PM

This made my day Laughing out loudly
#124 Posted : Saturday, May 13, 2017 4:16:25 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly the whole concept of north being UP is just nuts... we are on a ball IN SPACE... for swimmers think about it if you were in an infinitely 'deep' , infinitely 'wide', infinitely 'high'... and no sense of 'stimuli' from any side... you were just 'there'... what would make you think your legs were 'lower' than your head?... your head is only 'higher' if there is a frame of reference - in space... THERE IS NONE!!
Taurrus
#125 Posted : Saturday, May 13, 2017 5:01:16 PM

BTW! WHY?d'oh!
#126 Posted : Sunday, May 14, 2017 3:53:47 PM

Taurrus wrote:

BTW! WHY?d'oh!

Water flows to the 'lowest' point and also... the higher you go... the cooler it becomes... lol!! statements that need qualifying!! for example... the higher you go - off the surface of the earth and while in the troposphere - the cooler it becomes... jaribu kufika thermosphere or exosphere during the day uone!!
#127 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 4:04:29 PM

Taurrus wrote:

BTW! WHY?d'oh!

Water flows to the 'lowest' point and also... the higher you go... the cooler it becomes... lol!! statements that need qualifying!! for example... the higher you go - off the surface of the earth and while in the troposphere - the cooler it becomes... jaribu kufika thermosphere or exosphere during the day uone!!

Kwani huko south kuna leak? Laughing out loudly
#128 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 4:17:20 PM

My thinking is the compass played a key role in early cartography so much so that the magnetic pointer was held upwards when drawing maps. This was after its successful use in seafaring. Later developments on the scientific understanding of the earth and the universe have only recently served to prove that indeed the earth ain't flat and the direction to heaven isn't northwards.
#129 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 9:16:14 PM

Loved this Episode

Anthony Bourdain Heads to Antarctica on Parts Unknown

explorepartsunknown.com

The surface of the ice sheet at the South Pole is more than 9,000 feet in elevation--more than a mile and a half above sea level. Antarctica is by far the highest continent on the earth.

So apparently the South Pole is the highest point on this Globe.
#130 Posted : Tuesday, June 06, 2017 1:15:25 PM

Loved this Episode

Anthony Bourdain Heads to Antarctica on Parts Unknown

explorepartsunknown.com

The surface of the ice sheet at the South Pole is more than 9,000 feet in elevation--more than a mile and a half above sea level. Antarctica is by far the highest continent on the earth.

So apparently the South Pole is the highest point on this Globe.

Kwa ufupi... Whenever you hear someone say "Ninaenda MAJUU" - you should ask him kwanini anaenda Antarctica?