Investor
Stocks
Is Equity a political bank?
fellifel wrote:WOW!! ...we put in 10k today and chuck 9k tommorow. Other banks have massive accounts that are maintained some around over 500milli and they dont move down. Now, if the bank has this as majority they can make money from that, This big fat accounts is what equity lacks or if they have, they are few compared to other banks like barclays cfc n the likes; so to help them in that, they have the goverment fat account that cover that loop. but then again its just my pont of view! 4m small accounts with sh1k each [=4b in total] are better than 1k large ones with sh4m. At one time, the most politicised bank [NBK] had 40% of its deposits from one customer [NSSF]. Then one morning the customer asked for their money.... NBK almost closed shop and had to negotiate a deal where the deposits were converted into shares. That's how NSSF became a major shareholder of the bank. Now if EB is doing things very differently from the others and making better money than them; which would you say has got things right? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
yekeyeke wrote:Watu. Hii maneno ya Equity bank ni ya nini? @Mukiha. Kweli umekosa kazi ama you are testing us? If you are serious, why dont you start a thread about why or if Stanchat, Barclays or your other banks owned by foreigners are political.Are they your friends unafanyia campaign!!!!!??? Kwa nini Equity???? All the time!!! Pls stop wasting our time with useless topics. We have better things to do like open accounts with a bank that does not show any matharao. Keep off equity. If you dont have anything to do, dont do it on this forum.
Slow down my friend! No need for harsh words. Please read my opening post on this thread so that you can understand why I started it. It was in response to a comment by another wazuan. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
They got Shs 4B from China yesterday at 3% to dish out to SMEs at between 7% and 9% interest! If I'm not wrong they'll make a good Shs. >6B in kindo 5yrs as we know they'll never use 7%. News like this make me glad to be a shareholder. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
My two cents:
1) Has equity broken any law by being a political bank (if at all)?
2) Are customers forced (directly or indirectly) to bank with equity?
3) Are investors forced (directly or indirectly) to buy Equity shares?
Let's give equity its due...it has created value for both its shareholders and customers. Ultimately...the failure to do that is what will kill any business.
And if they used politics to do that, the market will punish them as soon as the politics changes...my guess is that Equity will weather the political change and whats more it will remain the bank to be watched in the next decade.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
I know its a long shot, but what are the odds Equity can double its profits this year and crack 10 billion? I know they "only" posted 43% increase in first quarter pretax profits. But the Mpesa partnership is going to be HUGE, I think. Plus the money from the Chinese was so cheap they should have just been given for free. GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/20/2010 Posts: 27 Location: kenya
what amazes me is why we give audience to some fixated incoherent wannabe investors who mis-guide other investors ... look at the growth in Assets from the investor briefing done when they announced their results.. a total of 110B compared to 82 the same duration last year.... the cost to income ratio has gone down..... The MD himself talked of convergence of telecoms as part of the banks strategy during the same briefing and the same is happening as late as today. the share has grown from 13 bob at the beginning of the year to close at 19 bob withing this week with no major fluctuations. if all the 9 million mpesa accounts are converted to Equity accounts the bank will have a total of 13 million customers... IF the bank was to earn 1000 bob on every customer in income for the whole year this would translate to 13b on transactional income alone by year end. Equity is driven by volumes and if the same growth is maintained and with a pretax profit of 2b by 1st Quarter then by close of the year the bank might close at 10b profitability which will translate to 100 percent growth. Which investor would not want to invest even if it was a political bank.... Guys let us grow up
@fellifel, i wish you were not Anonymous and you would see how many ngotos would land on your kokwa(hard nut)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/16/2010 Posts: 14 Location: Nairobi
kokwa wrote:@fellifel, i wish you were not Anonymous and you would see how many ngotos would land on your kokwa(hard nut) You kno i actually thank God am Anonymous. But honestly this was not if Equity has done anything illegal or not, it was simple is it political or not and i put in my 2 cents. All in all, they have done it and have done it well. I just hope they improve there employees salaries!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
from the U.O.N which is closed indefinitely....to Equity bank...everything is political in Kenya perrrioooddd....
Okay Mukiha. But it does not look like you started this thread will inocent intent.
However the fact that Equity got the 4Billion just like that, while KCB and Stanchat have to do right issues and debt speaks volumes..................
@fellifel, Its good to find that you care abt the amt of salo they take home .the only problem according to JM is that its the best bet for any employee at that given time otherwise he/she is just free to move to a better paying employer . EB is very lucky to have a very strategic MD at the top.he who recogonizes an opportunity and/or loop holes created by other market leaders and makes good use of it.he never discriminated on the basis of 'poor',soily rurals,'illitrates',blah blah blah............. .how many times have you gone to EBs banking halls and found them stained by the mud or seen the money from the ATMs all soiled ????. if you can't beat them,join them.......... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Come on @yekeyeke... Where does fairness come in?
The 4billion deal was a private one... privately negotiated between two banks... Nothing to do with government, nothing to do with politics...
Haaaaiiiiya... yaani Kenyans now want companies to be waiting for their competitors to wake up and think. First it was Safcom, sasa Equity... If the MDs of Coop, KCB, BBK and the rest are too slow (or maybe were not interested) to chase this kind of deals, how does that become EBs problem...
And please note who the beneficiaries of the fund are supposed to be... Typical EB clients (SMEs). Maybe thats why StanChart for instance wouldn't bother..
mozenrat, in China there is nothing such a private deal with 100% government banks.
Doesn't change the point... Whether Equity negotiated a deal with a private or public or government or devilish entity, where does fairness come in... Should Equity have called for a conference of all banks to ask them if they would like to be included in the deal??
does it really matter whether it is or not? if it bring bizn to shareholder n customer, then am cool with it. fyi am neither a customer nor a shareholder. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/5/2008 Posts: 532 Location: Nairobi
I'm neither a customer nor a shareholder...but one thing i know is for sure.Board meetings in all the major banks are never concluded without the big guys in those meetings asking what EB is doing or what EB is up to.EB has curved a niche for itself and we got to respect that and applaud them, even if the bulk of the customers are the 'scums of the earth', no malice intended. Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
if it was not 4 equity how many would be banked. hands up! LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,548 Location: nairobi
it is not a political bank. it is a political party HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
kivairu wrote:I'm neither a customer nor a shareholder...but one thing i know is for sure. Board meetings in all the major banks are never concluded without the big guys in those meetings asking what EB is doing. Not only do I agree with you @kivairu, I share your same position. Surprising how Equity commands the same goodwill as Grameen bank which allows them to be viewed as vehicles to empower the poor. Hence they attract funds from development agencies and international organisations even when they've transitioned to a bank. I know for a fact that Equity was greatly assisted by these same institutions to grow as a building society and eventually...
fellifel wrote:I just hope they improve there employees salaries!!! Just like any other business, employees of EB are paid what they are worth. Those who think they are worth more than they are being paid walk out and get other jobs. As JM puy it during a recent investor briefing, "business is not charity. The customer comes first, the organisation second and employees a distant third!" By the way, I didn't think EB employees are poorly paid. Those I meet appear very happy with their jobs. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Investor
Stocks
Is Equity a political bank?