Investor
Stocks
No mercy on Safaricom.Let the CCK dogs bite
Jaguar wrote:...if interconnection rates are reduced significantly, the other networks will make more money when their calls terminate in safcon network. safcon will just be left with a huge subscriber base but not necessarily huge profits
Have you ever noticed that people generally don't like calling other networks? So, my guess is that SCOM gets very little money from X-network calls. So, even if interconnection fees are abolished, SCOM will no see a significant reduction in revenue. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/7/2010 Posts: 282 Location: Nairobi
Jaguar wrote: if interconnection rates are reduced significantly, the other networks will make more money when their calls terminate in safcon network. safcon will just be left with a huge subscriber base but not necessarily huge profits
When other networks terminate their calls in Safcom network, they actually pay Safaricom the interconnect fee!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:CCK reduces portability fee to 200 bob. Pole Safaricom. If you are shareholder, sell NOW
I don't think portability will have the life changing effect most people expect. If someone was so unhappy with SCOM he/she would have moved by now. On the other hand I will be very very annoyed if I call your SCOM at 10pm when the cost is like 2/- and you already migrated bila warning to some funny network. By the way will there be a display when I call to warn me? BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 6/7/2007 Posts: 263 Location: humu humu
sky5 wrote:When other networks terminate their calls in Safcom network, they actually pay Safaricom the interconnect fee! very correct. If interconnection fee is reduced to e.g 2.00, safcon gets paid ksh 2.42/ less (54.75%). The the indian companies (yu,airtel) will also be able to offer lower cross network charges e.g 4.50/. Safcon will be left with one option i.e reduce within network call charges to match what the competition is charging to calls terminating into safcon (4.50 or less for safcon to safcon calls). All customers benefit
Rank: Member Joined: 6/7/2007 Posts: 263 Location: humu humu
2012 On the other hand I will be wrote:very very annoyed if I call your SCOM at 10pm when the cost is like 2/- and you already migrated bila warning to some funny network. By the way will there be a display when I call to warn me? 2/ is toooooo expensive, also 10pm is too late. yu to yu noki tariff costs 1/ after the 1st min, valid up to 12am. zain to zain cost's 0.50 cents from 8pm to 6am if you subscribe to club20 (subscribe *120#, unsubscribe *120*0#). Orange to orange cost's 1/ on bunda 100 anytime
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,294 Location: Nairobi
How do I know if I am calling in-network if the jamaa has vuka'd??? Why shud I pay cross-network prices? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/26/2010 Posts: 71 Location: Thika/Nairobi
Safaricom is remarkable by just about every measure. It has captured a commanding market share and a subscriber base of over 7m in a developing economy, become East Africa's most profitable business and has helped pioneer one of the world's fastest-growing mobile-banking services. It is also no stranger to controversy.I think Kenyans are already conversant with the network,and satisfied of course,they would not wish to indulge in services they don know of....brace yourself for more tough 'wars' thumbs up sfcom http://echoproperties.kbo.co.ke Echo estate management Limited
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
Jaguar wrote:[quote=2012 On the other hand I will be ]very very annoyed if I call your SCOM at 10pm when the cost is like 2/- and you already migrated bila warning to some funny network. By the way will there be a display when I call to warn me? I am also lost, how will I know the call charges as i will not be able to tell your "current" network?
What CCK is doing is the same thing FCC did to regulate the communication industry in the US which was dominated by AT&T. Safaricom cannot escape this time around, and the best thing for them is to focus on data vending. Knowledge is contagious...Infect truth!
@ All - Lets avoid repeating ourselves too much. A good idea is to continue contributing in the original thread and abandon this one. Click on the link below to go to the original thread. The Original ThreadNever count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
just like nature one is given options if u want to move sawa if u want to stay the choice is yours why complain!? LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Afroblk wrote:What CCK is doing is the same thing FCC did to regulate the communication industry in the US which was dominated by AT&T. Safaricom cannot escape this time around, and the best thing for them is to focus on data vending. Nonsense... There is a HUGE difference between Ma Bell (AT&T) & Safaricom. Whereas Ma Bell had the monopoly sorta granted to them... Safcom had to fight it out with KenCell (& the incumbent Telkom/KPTC) Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Safaricom gets reprieve in review of competition laws www.businessdailyafrica....20/-/1nub66/-/index.htmlGOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Meanwhile, Telkom, through Mobicom, begins major assault on Safaricom www.businessdailyafrica....0/-/s9ox2fz/-/index.htmlGOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Not casting aspersions but : Frontier Economics = UK company, Vodafone = UK company. Did we expect a different conclusion?
Gordon Gekko wrote:Not casting aspersions but : Frontier Economics = UK company, Vodafone = UK company. Did we expect a different conclusion? CCK was being funny... The recommendations make sense... Kwani??? Are people married to safaricom? If you think it is expensive... WALK AWAY... ama be like me... Zain/Airtel is my main squeeze The rest are wapango wa kando... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@vvs, a contradiction ....Zain = Merali
Gordon Gekko wrote:Not casting aspersions but : Frontier Economics = UK company, Vodafone = UK company. Did we expect a different conclusion? Ati "Not casting aspersions but"... is nothing more than casting aspersions! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Gordon Gekko wrote:@vvs, a contradiction ....Zain = Merali Not anymore... He has sold out almost all... I think he owns less than 5% even if that... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
I am not sure whether they have any strategy that will work. Zain started off on a wrong footing during the early days. May be unless the three companies consolidate to one company, they will still struggle in the next 5-10 years
Investor
Stocks
No mercy on Safaricom.Let the CCK dogs bite