wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

14 Pages123>»
Struggling with weight loss
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 8:50:38 AM

Good people

Now i need serious help.... I have been struggling to shed off some 5kg i put on in Dec/Jan festivals and it just wont go!

Anyone with a crash programme on loosing weight that does not include the gym? i can do the walking and jogging but i am not disciplined enough for the gym (I have tried this before and it didnt work)

Diet is also highly welcome. I must add i have a problem with anemia (I get anemic very quickly especially when i start on those sorts of programmes so the diet needs to cater for that too).

Here, there is no story of "my friend". Its me me me.
chepkel
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:33:58 AM

The trick is to increase your activity and get rid of junk food if any.

I had my baby in August 2008 and i was 68 Kgs. By November of the same year (approximately 3 months later) i was 95kgs. this is because i used to eat a lot and do absolutely nothing apart from breastfeeding.

I waited until my baby was 1 year before embarking on a weight loss campaign. My appetite went down, so i didn't eat as much as i used to and i increased my activity. Cleaned the house everyday, washed clothes, run around with the baby and i walked a lot. Now i am 60 kgs and sexy as ever.

Increase your activities. When in town walk a lot instead of taking a cab or matatu for reasonable distances, take walks over the weekend(not slow leisure walks but fast walks), take up household chores like mopping, washing and dusting, avoid fatty foods and junks. Eat brown bread instead of white, eat lots of fruits & vegetables, drink loads and loads of water, avoid sodas, beer and other fizzy drink if you have to drink drink water or freshly squeezed juice. Reduce your sugar intake.
Ric dees
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:40:54 AM

@Wendz
Whats your email add? might just have the answer for you...

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
gadj
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:48:37 AM

Try the herbal drug slimtrim from beta healthcare.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:52:55 AM

...I and bibi tried the gym and just like you couldn't get the time. So slowly we are equiping our home gym with simple items (at least one item every month)...since we have attended gym we know how to use the equipment...also good for your kids...if you have a daughter she will really help mother shed off those extra kgs...
...work out vigorously under those bed sheets too...
sky5
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:00:12 AM

I fully support @chepkel. Just do normal exercises (as described by @chepkel above), avoid fats and sugars very much and try the diet of whole grains, fruits and vegetables. You will not only lose weight, but become healthy too.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:10:03 AM

Thanks for all your input. Keep more tips coming. I will copy paste and preferably stick them in my bedroom so that i can see them every morning when i wake up! the fats must go!

My problem is also eating habits. while i do not eat lots of food, i sometimes skip lunch which makes me eat alot in the evening.... I think thats also a killer!

@magigi
Where are you shopping for those home gym items?

@chep
I think i need to do alot of that. prob is, am also studying so whenever i have free time like weekends, i find myself glued in books....

@Ric dees
wendz545@gmail.com - Your help will find me sitting pretty right there!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:23:10 AM

@Wendz
...Nakumatt have a whole range of them...exrcise balls, rollers, adjustable sit up board etc. Nairobi sports house too. Talk first to those gym instructors and explain to them where you want to shed weight (very important as you may not want your bum to go!!!)
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:25:02 AM

December is a good/bad month..

I personally added some layers naskia zinaitwa 'tyres'...
been faithful at the gym for some time now.. four months.. slow but sure..na ikienda i hope Dec sitarudisha hii kitambi.
hopefully wen all is done and done (situps) and the fat is all gone away.. there will be some six pack left...

but wheeeeeeen?
sheep
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:25:04 AM

1.Make time for a hearty breakfast.Include proteins and fats
(peanut/diary butter,avocados-avoid margarine) and complex carbohydrates(e.g brown bread,ngwashe,nduma etc.

2.10.00am eat some light snack eg. 3 slices of brown bread with peanut butter.This helps keep your metabolism high.

3.1.00pm Eat a balanced diet,make sure the serving portions equal the size of your fists.Remember to avoid processed foods and simple carbs.

4)4.00pm Take a light snack,maybe some peanuts(roasted),ngwashe or any slow sugar releasing food.

5)8.00pm Take a light meal,remember to include lots of greens and fruits and very little starch and fats.

6)Happy weight loss.But remember you will soon hit a plateau soon and exercise is a must to progress further.

The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:30:30 AM

hi big sis Wendz.

Live like the cats (lions, leopards, etc) and you will for ever be just the right weight.

You see they don't touch cereals and grass....then borrow a little from the maasais....supu ya muteta now and then....you are sawa thereafter baaby!!
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:31:20 AM

...is your program a fattening or weight reducing one...
Ja-Kom
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:33:10 AM

Exercise,esp jogging will do the trick.Discipline and patience required.And,dnt knw bout this-coz have just come across it,but they say chocolate milk si mbaya pia..see this http://health.yahoo.com/...the-chocolate-milk-diet/
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
chepkel
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:38:21 AM

@Sheep, Peanut butter and Peanuts???!!!!!! Shame on you Kataa hiyo like the plague. Speaking from experience. peanuts and any of its by products will make you fat fat fat fat and more fat. Kwanza in the wrong places.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:38:38 AM

my best friend(my mum) does some stuff that i find really funny like greens(mikengeria na makuno!) all the time, kidogo jogging, rope skipping and other stuff that make her really happy... i also know she is proud of having the most stubborn kids..sometime we sit and come up with stuff that scares the hell out of her...i bet that plays a major role in her youthful look...
PONDI
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 11:02:25 AM

get more yyyes....
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 11:03:51 AM

@chep and sheep

Peanut - eat or not eat? I know i can get good supply if you say it will help otherwise, i can keep a good distance

@magigi
hehehehehe... si uliona in another thread we have a plan B if the bum takes a walk? The "matresses" as guka called them..... but will avoid anything that will tamper with what's important...

@Ja-Kom
Milk? We have never been enemies... will add that to my diet.

@mlefu
Mikingeria tutatoa wapi? If your mom can skip, I surely should be able to! I just need a some jostling..

@Kingfisher...

hehehehehehe... now you call yourself a brother but me thinks umenitupa kabisa..... sasa, if i stick to red meat si nitapata gout? Those cats lifestyle, does it come with the running all over the mara, climbing trees and roof tops and the long distance walking of the maasais and building houses(their women do)? Ngai fafa, hii magoti na magongo itaruhusu hiyo lifestyle kweli?
callaspade
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 11:08:13 AM

....tread mill....walk half an hour in the morning,half hour in the evening,i mean brisk walk.
....check your diet.i was once 110,sasa niko 97 na december nitakuwa 110 tena.
....and there is no rush ,go easy on yourself.consolation is that there is another lady who lives in our house who has lost like 11kgs in less than a year and now looks hot like an iron box.i can take her for dinner minus her jacket.
goodluck wendz and dont expect results in a month !!
kizee
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 11:17:07 AM

excercise and watch what u eat...sheeps sample diet is appropriate..so for excercise combine cardivascular(aerobics,treadmill,bike etc) with light weight training...dont try loosing fat in particular areas as thats not how the body works..whats your diet like btw?
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 11:20:46 AM

@Wendz...skipping a meal (in your case lunch) is never the right way of doing it because you will land on the next meal so hungrily your weight loss plan will be thrown outta the window. Rather, small healthy snacks (say fruits/ veggies)at regular intervals would do the trick.

Can u do swimming? Swimming is one of the best exercises & weight-reduction ways known because it exercises all the muscles simultaneously and you burn fat faster than a Toyo VX burns fuel.

Diet-wise, whose smarter now: pips living in slums/ semi formal regions or us midoro class pips? See typical meals in a day :

Middle class pips

Breakfast: bacon, sausage,fried eggs
Lunch: kuku fry, chapo
Supper: nyam chom & Ugali
(processed flour)washed
down with soda (procssed
sugar)

Exercise: walk from car park to off causes panting, breathelessness

Ghetto fabulous pips:

B/fast: Boiled maize/strungi or/uji
Lunch: Githeri plain, nt even fried. Takes
sugarcane as well during lunch hr(few
dental issues)
Supper: Ugali (from posho mill so not processed thus all nutrients still intact),& sukuma

Exercise: Intensive,by default!