Investor
Stocks
No mercy on Safaricom.Let the CCK dogs bite
I hav no mercy on Safaricom and i believe their exploitation days are over.I fail to understand why some people after being exploited through Safcons exobitant fees can side w/ them aganist CCK.There are so many companies that produce good results in regulated business enviroments.Safaricom ? What's all the noise for ?????? Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,293 Location: Nairobi
if u dont like safcon WALK away... I use YU... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@qw25041985: why such a complex name? Any way, this is not a matter of "taking sides", rather, it is a question of whether the regulation is fair or not. And, BTW, it is not accurate to suggest that SCOM has been operating in an unregulated industry. The question therefore is: is it fair (for example) to require the dominant player to give CCK 90 days notice of any changes in tariffs? What will CCK do with the notice? Well, they will publish it for all and sundry and invite the public to make objections and then eventually approve or disapprove the new tariffs. This is the kind of thing you do when you are dealing with a monopoly. Not in a sector where you started out with three competitors out of whom one became dominant after five years of stiff competition. Can you imagine CBK doing the same...after all, Equity bank controls about 50% of all bank accounts in the country.... and I am told that the number is likely to rise to about 80% in the next 12 months [after their joint venture with M-PESA comes alive this week...] Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Were you born on 25th April 1985? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
Kind of surprised that safcom have not reacted to Zain's lowering of tariff!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
qw25041985 wrote:I hav no mercy on Safaricom and i believe their exploitation days are over.I fail to understand why some people after being exploited through Safcons exobitant fees can side w/ them aganist CCK.There are so many companies that produce good results in regulated business enviroments.Safaricom ? What's all the noise for ?????? You don't get it. We would all want fair and competitive tariffs. The problem is safaricom's competitors do not understand Kenyan's peculiar calling habits. Think about it, why isn't everyone jumping over to Zain with their 3bob zain to zain calls? Is safaricom to blame too? BBI will solve it :)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/16/2010 Posts: 14 Location: Nairobi
mukiha wrote:@qw25041985: why such a complex name?
Any way, this is not a matter of "taking sides", rather, it is a question of whether the regulation is fair or not. And, BTW, it is not accurate to suggest that SCOM has been operating in an unregulated industry.
The question therefore is: is it fair (for example) to require the dominant player to give CCK 90 days notice of any changes in tariffs? What will CCK do with the notice? Well, they will publish it for all and sundry and invite the public to make objections and then eventually approve or disapprove the new tariffs.
This is the kind of thing you do when you are dealing with a monopoly. Not in a sector where you started out with three competitors out of whom one became dominant after five years of stiff competition.
Can you imagine CBK doing the same...after all, Equity bank controls about 50% of all bank accounts in the country.... and I am told that the number is likely to rise to about 80% in the next 12 months [after their joint venture with M-PESA comes alive this week...] chill out! first equity controls just a fraction in banking in this country, its is a political entity. anyways, the point here is safcom needs to be regulated, we can't be having people paying so much for this company not to relate to there profits. It is currently the most expensive service provider, with the most biggest profit margin and then what, its current market value is still equal to the IPO value! where is all that money going to. I think this move came in at a better time, now they better wake up.
safcom, let the cookies crumble LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Why start a new thread on this when there is another one discussing exactly the same thing? Onother peculiar Kenyan habit? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
fellifel wrote: It is currently the most expensive service provider, with the most biggest profit margin and then what, its current market value is still equal to the IPO value! where is all that money going to. I think this move came in at a better time, now they better wake up. My point exactly: why on Earth are people sticking to SCOM [both as customers and as shareholders] if it is the most "unfair" [most expensive tariffs and worst performance as an investment] There is choice, people: 3 other telecom providers and 50-odd companies in the NSE to invest your money in! Who is holding you hostage so that you need government intervention? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Why start a new thread on this when there is another one discussing exactly the same thing? Onother peculiar Kenyan habit? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:Why start a new thread on this when there is another one discussing exactly the same thing? Onother peculiar Kenyan habit? I think the starter did not see the other thread; it's not on the list of Latest Discussions. And he/she joined just a week ago Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
fellifel wrote:chill out! first equity controls just a fraction in banking in this country, its is a political entity. What do you mean by "just a fraction"? Isn't 50% a fraction? It can also be written as 1/2 Also; "Political" Explain further. I shall start a new thread where you can post your comments on this... go here http://wazua.co.ke/forum...sts&t=6968#post78439Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Typical Kenyans... Someone gets LEGITIMATELY successful & then folks want to tear them down... Someone who steals is considered a shujaa... kenyatta, moi, biwott, pattni, merali are 'respected' while the kiosk owner, (real) farmer, dukawala get derided... It pisses me off when people describe the land thief kenyatta as visionary or merali as a tycoon... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
CCK reduces portability fee to 200 bob. Pole Safaricom. If you are shareholder, sell NOW so that I buy at 5 bob. VVS, I agree with you. Kama hupendi Safaricom, si basi utoke! No one is forcing you to stick with it. A line for Yu costs 20 bob only. And you KNOW that the calling rates are much cheaper on the other side of the fence, so whats holding you back. (Maybe the low speed EDGE internet). Plus you can buy a "Kabambe" phone for 2000/= and put your Safcom Sim in it and the other phone to put your "preferred" network. Talk about have your bread buttered on both sides. Safaricom have done nothing wrong. They came in and beat Kencell. And anyone describing Kenyatta a Visionary must be bonkers. He screwed the Mau Mau in the ass. Can someone hear that? Oh wait. Its just Dedan turning in his grave. GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
@All, by the way I don't see the whole affair of crippling Safaricom bringing any meaningful/significant benefits to consumers. 1. The sibling - Zain, Yu, Orange may not break even at lower tarrifs. 2. Innovation, Bamba 20/=, Mpesa etc matter more to common Kenyan than the 3/= difference to call 5 numbers on your phonebook. 3. No credible justification has been tabled to show abuse of dominance by Safaricom. 4. As for investors in Safaricom, NSE is no longer a members only club and the siblings are as well welcome.
NIKO NA SAFARICOM
Rank: Member Joined: 6/7/2007 Posts: 263 Location: humu humu
Rahatupu wrote:@All, by the way I don't see the whole affair of crippling Safaricom bringing any meaningful/significant benefits to consumers.
if interconnection rates are reduced significantly, the other networks will make more money when their calls terminate in safcon network. safcon will just be left with a huge subscriber base but not necessarily huge profits
Rank: Member Joined: 5/7/2010 Posts: 282 Location: Nairobi
@all; CCK is not in the business of crippling operators. Although the gazettement of the 'fair play' rules target Safaricom at the moment, I think they are uncalled for and must be revised. A regulator is not in the business of mobile tarriff price controls.
As for the prices, I think you pay for what you eat! If you eat at Intercon you pay there, if Serena, you pay there also. If you can afford the presidential suite, you pay for it, if you can't you go for the cheaper room. It is as simple as that. Na Niko na Safaricom.
@Wazua.. the real one...
Please combine this thread with the old one discussing the same issue.. otherwise we're repeating the same things..
wazuakenya wrote:compe ni compe and i think cck were bribed Nah... I think the idiots were told to go pound sand by Safaricom thus the 'revenge'... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
No mercy on Safaricom.Let the CCK dogs bite