Is Kenyan music dying?
#11 Posted : Saturday, May 13, 2017 8:47:39 AM

How does art evolve?

Art evolves with the times to remain relevant and to preserve the present time for future generation. For example, in the 60's/70's we had Daudi Kabaka, Fundi Konde, Fadhili Williams and their style...

Very slippery explanation, especially when we realize time is a very open and moot reality.

Maybe the problem is alienation in the Marxian sense. Kenyans being of the white collar heritage and opportunities being so scarce, have decided to ignore all authenticity for Marmon.

Vallerrie
#12 Posted : Saturday, May 13, 2017 4:55:11 PM

Two things that Kenyans suck at but don't want to accept; football and music.
Alba
#13 Posted : Saturday, May 13, 2017 9:37:30 PM

Vallerrie wrote:

NOT true. Thats too simplistic a view.
Alba
#14 Posted : Saturday, May 13, 2017 10:48:28 PM

There are certain types of music that last forever and become classics. Examples include Bob Marley, Congolese Rumba of the 1970s and 1980s etc.

There are other types of music whose flavour fades very quickly. These include the commercial soukous of the early 1990s like Aurlus Mabele and Kanda Bongoman.

Perhaps the golden era of Kenyan music that is being described was more of the latter type that gets people excited for a short time. But soon people get tired of it.
#15 Posted : Sunday, May 14, 2017 2:05:13 AM

Alba wrote:
Vallerrie wrote:

NOT true. Thats too simplistic a view.

#16 Posted : Sunday, May 14, 2017 9:39:02 AM

Kenya's biggest problem affecting the youth in the current market is what I call the illusion of being Mark Zuckerberg. All the youth I know btwn 20 - 24 are in IT...

#17 Posted : Sunday, May 14, 2017 11:18:08 AM

Kenya's biggest problem affecting the youth in the current market is what I call the illusion of being Mark Zuckerberg. All the youth I know btwn 20 - 24 are in IT...

it's a GOOD THING!! Wacha wajaribu hizo vitu zikipiga mawe - they will still have skills!! The one thing we as kenyans in africa are accepted to be great at (except athletics is IT). Whether those honours are justified or not is a totally different matter. Just today one of my Mzungu collegues who has worked in the development world said - You kenyans are like the 'Indians' of Africa. when it comes to IT. I suggest we milk it. Bulgerians and Russians maybe better at comps but india is reaping the most out of this whole thing... perception is greater than reality!
#18 Posted : Sunday, May 14, 2017 1:34:27 PM

it's a GOOD THING!! Wacha wajaribu hizo vitu zikipiga mawe - they will still have skills!! The one thing we as kenyans in africa are accepted to be great at (except athletics is IT). Whether those honours are justified or not is a totally different matter. Just today one of my Mzungu collegues who has worked in the development world said - You kenyans are like the 'Indians' of Africa. when it comes to IT. I suggest we milk it. Bulgerians and Russians maybe better at comps but india is reaping the most out of this whole thing... perception is greater than reality!

By the way, how did Bulgarians become so good in IT? I've always wondered...

#19 Posted : Sunday, May 14, 2017 3:49:06 PM

I don't really know... but cultures are funny... where you have most of your people going... you tend to get great at it! there is really no reason Tanzania cannot win a single gold medal at the olympics... really! but since they don't expend their resources in a targeted way - they don't become 'great'! My take on IT is that having many people doing it... will not have a negative consequence on our economy... since it's very versatile skill and at the same time very needed in this age - it's a win-win solution.
#20 Posted : Sunday, May 14, 2017 4:28:28 PM

Are you an accountant @2012?