wazua Fri, Apr 17, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Scholarships for poor children -
Ric dees
#1 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 11:51:10 AM

@ Mukiha AKA CfC Stanbic

You once touched on a very sensitive subject sometime back and you were to discuss it, though i have tried to dig it up in vain, i have brought the onus to myself and to bring all to perspective, Mukiha seems to hold a view that scholarships do not benefit poor children?? or should not be granted to poor children?
Please expound? clarify, site failed examples vis a vis successful ones??

Ric dees ( former Scholarship recipient)
Ric dees attached the following image(s):
scholarship.jpg (3kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
sky5
#2 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 12:00:23 PM

Scholarships actually do benefit the poor academically. But they also benefit the not-so-poor very much at the expense of the very poor.

However, whether you succeed or fail- whether rich or poor- after the sponsorship is not the call of the sponsor but the recipient.
Ric dees
#3 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 12:08:53 PM

@Sky5
True what you say, but in Principal is it the right call, that's what i'd like clarified.

EM

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Chaka
#4 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 12:54:09 PM

@Ric Dees
Did you mean..Scholarships for children of the poor ?
Ric dees
#5 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 1:15:12 PM

@Chaka
I think to make things clearer, let me sight case examples.

A young bright boy hailing from say Majengo, Ziwani performs extremely well in KCSE and is granted a scholarship to study in one of the IVY league schools in the US.
All factors considered, is the right thing for the boy education not withstanding, not forgetting the culture of America.

#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 4:58:16 PM

ric it is the right thing kabisa even withstanding the culture. heck the dude is bright isnt he?
chepkel
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 7:39:08 AM

I hate it when they make qualifications for these sponsorship to be for the ones scoring straight As. Because many poor students learn under soo many difficulties and challenges that they may not achieve these high grades but are still bright. I know a boy who is poor and really would like to go to University, it is really frustrating him. He was out of school half of second term and the whole of third term because he lacked fees and still managed to score a C plus. But he does not qualify for any of the scholarships available or rather the ones that i have seen.
Does anyone know how i can help this boy.
Ric dees
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 8:27:53 AM

@Chepkel
Some common misunderstanding is that you have to be a straight A student to get into this schools...answer No!!

Applicants can distinguish themselves for admission in a number of ways. Some show unusual academic promise through experience or achievements in study or research. Many are "well rounded" and have contributed in various ways to the lives of their schools or communities. Others are "well lopsided" with demonstrated excellence in a particular endeavor—academic, extracurricular or otherwise. Still others bring perspectives formed by unusual personal circumstances or experiences.

Academic accomplishment in high school is important, but we also seek people with enthusiasm, creativity and strength of character.

Most admitted students rank in the top 10–15 percent of their graduating classes, having taken the most rigorous secondary school curriculum available to them.

This ii a nut-shell is what a top IVY league college in the US looks for.

I still believe is if most of the companies back home adopted similar traits then i think we would see a renaissance and all who trade in shares would laugh all the way to the bank.

I still marvel at the classic job adverts back at home " A degree in Finance with CPA/ACCA, post graduate would be an added advantage,10 years experience, 5 of which should be a senior level in management etc ,etc..Jeezand we still wonder why we have clowns!!!

chepkel
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 8:57:40 AM

@Ric Dees. He qualifies for admission in the private universities and for a degree in a parallel program. Lakini getting sponsorship is hell. Nevertheless, i have been encouraging him to just apply to any university and once he is admitted he can differ as we look for money to help him. I am sure others have studies in even worse circumstances
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 9:11:34 AM

@Chepkel
I feel for your boy:(
It's sad,that we live in a society where people are highly judged by their grades and never by their capabilities. It's very hard to source for scholarships for students who dont score straight A's regardless of their situation and talents. I wish you had presented your case to the Sk/Wazua charity club last year when tyhe boy was having difficulty with schools fees,coz maybe we'd have been able to help,and he'd now be in a better position having probably scored better grades..but usijali,you can still keep us updated on his situation and we'll see what we can do as a group or from our sources out there. Dont give up on the boy..there's always hope out there somewhere.
5 Pages123>»