wazua Sun, Jan 26, 2025

13 Pages«<111213
Alcoblow - Is it the solution?
#241 Posted : Monday, November 03, 2014 10:12:03 AM

butterflyke wrote:
RINK
A group of 24 Administration Police (AP) officers raided a police roadblock in Nairobi and freed one of their bosses who had been arrested by regular police for drink driving.

The illegal rescue early Saturday morning has heightened tension between the two police units which have been at loggerheads in the recent past.

The armed APs stormed the road block on Lang’ata Road and freed their boss, a chief inspector, who had been arrested by police and officials from the National Traffic and Safety Authority at around 2:30 a.m.

The inspector had failed a breathlyser test and, while he waited for the officers to take him to the police station alongside other people who had been arrested, he called his juniors.

Police at the road block told the Sunday Nation that the seven officers conducting the breathalyser tests stopped the inspector who was driving a personal vehicle and realised he had taken alcohol beyond the required limit.

About two months walisimamisha wakubwa wa jeshi, walipigwa kama step children and detained at DoD for some hours!!!!
#242 Posted : Monday, November 03, 2014 11:34:25 AM

butterflyke wrote:
RINK
A group of 24 Administration Police (AP) officers raided a police roadblock in Nairobi and freed one of their bosses who had been arrested by regular police for drink driving.

The illegal rescue early Saturday morning has heightened tension between the two police units which have been at loggerheads in the recent past.

The armed APs stormed the road block on Lang’ata Road and freed their boss, a chief inspector, who had been arrested by police and officials from the National Traffic and Safety Authority at around 2:30 a.m.

The inspector had failed a breathlyser test and, while he waited for the officers to take him to the police station alongside other people who had been arrested, he called his juniors.

Police at the road block told the Sunday Nation that the seven officers conducting the breathalyser tests stopped the inspector who was driving a personal vehicle and realised he had taken alcohol beyond the required limit.

It will be interesting to know how this will end.
#243 Posted : Monday, November 03, 2014 11:53:54 AM

So this army and AP guys, they are set free?
#244 Posted : Monday, November 03, 2014 11:57:12 AM

The army guys actually took the NTSA guys hostage and they had to beg to be released!!!
#245 Posted : Monday, November 03, 2014 11:59:40 AM

The army guys actually took the NTSA guys hostage and they had to beg to be released!!!

LOOOOL....anyways Kenya has become a joke. Seems the army runs everything...like Pakistan.
Buster
#246 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 2:11:38 PM

C & P

The Court of Appeal has said the use of breathalysers to arrest drunk drivers is illegal.

A three-judge bench on Friday said the laws introduced by NTSA are inconsistent with the Traffic Act.

The court ordered that they be taken back to Parliament for review.

The decision was reached after a successful petition by Reminisce club on Langata road.

In March 2014, the court ruled that the two cases that sought to abolish the breathalysers be argued together.

Justice Mumbi Ngugi consolidated the first case filed by Richard Ogendo and another by Kariuki Ruitha - proprietor of Reminisce Sports Bar.

Pottermark Enterprises, the company that supplies the gadgets under the Alco-blow brand was also involved as an interested party.
sitaki.kujulikana
#247 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 2:26:22 PM

we lack commonsense as a country, even systems meant to help are crushed the moment they touch the 'top' people.
#248 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 2:56:31 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
we lack commonsense as a country, even systems meant to help are crushed the moment they touch the 'top' people.

NTSA is not the system to help us my friend. That's a corruption den.

Just incase you didn't understand what the ruling was about

Section 44 of the Traffic Act criminalises the driving of a car under the influence of alcohol to an extent that the driver has no proper control of the vehicle.

Nowhere does it discuss the amount of alchohol you should or should not drink. As the alcoblow tenderprenuers would like to suggest.

Stop blaming courts and figure out why you voted for the fellow who can't read simple english and make a law that's consistent with existing laws.

#249 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 3:15:26 PM

Hate it or love it alcoblow has had a positive effect on Kenya.
I do not drink and drive because the prospect of arrest and a huge fine is deterrent enough. I take cabs instead, and those drink-ups baada ya kazi are out of the question. It's been going on long enough that this is the norm now. All my friends know, 'don't bother calling @quicksand on a weekday, he never shows'.
Drinking less is a GOOD thing. You waste less money and spend more time with your loved ones. Not drinking and driving is also another good thing.
I am mostly a sensible and considerate fellow, and yet driving under influence is one thing I would occasionally find myself doing (weak will power, bad habits). I am not alone in this regard. It is only too easy to be tempted into thinking you will drink moderately or you will be Ok...alcoblow cures us of this temptation.
On the balance of outcomes, alcoblow is a good thing.
sitaki.kujulikana
#250 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 3:53:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

NTSA is not the system to help us my friend. That's a corruption den.

Just incase you didn't understand what the ruling was about

Section 44 of the Traffic Act criminalises the driving of a car under the influence of alcohol to an extent that the driver has no proper control of the vehicle.

Nowhere does it discuss the amount of alchohol you should or should not drink. As the alcoblow tenderprenuers would like to suggest.

Stop blaming courts and figure out why you voted for the fellow who can't read simple english and make a law that's consistent with existing laws.

sawa, I totally, 100% agree with you, did not know about the law, thanks for pointing that out.
I am also very sorry, I will not vote for the fellow who can't read again, I beg for your forgiveness.

The pub owner was right, those things are just for corruption sake, the guys from the pubs can properly control their vehicles, after all the car knows the way home.
sitaki.kujulikana
#251 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 3:57:03 PM

quicksand wrote:
I do not drink and drive because the prospect of arrest and a huge fine is deterrent enough. I take cabs instead, and those drink-ups baada ya kazi are out of the question. It's been going on long enough that this is the norm now. All my friends know, 'don't bother calling @quicksand on a weekday, he never shows'.
Drinking less is a GOOD thing. You waste less money and spend more time with your loved ones. Not drinking and driving is also another good thing.
I am mostly a sensible and considerate fellow, and yet driving under influence is one thing I would occasionally find myself doing (weak will power, bad habits). I am not alone in this regard. It is only too easy to be tempted into thinking you will drink moderately or you will be Ok...alcoblow cures us of this temptation.

you are very wrong, I agree with @alma the law is against that thing it was brought up by a fellow who can't read simple english, and its just meant for corrupt guys, I don't think it has had any positive effect, in fact I think you are making that story up, the alcoblow I am sure has made your life miserable and made some tender guys rich smile
Buster
#252 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 9:33:28 PM

Clarification: Use of Alco-blow

In 2014, a case was filed at the high court to suspend the breathalyzer rules. The case was heard and dismissed by the court on the grounds that the breathlizer rules were lawful.

In 2015, the above decision of the high court was appealed before the court of appeal and the decision was read on Friday 7th April 2017.

In its ruling, the court of appeal dismissed the whole appeal and upheld the high court decision. The court noted that the breathalyzer rules did not introduce any new offenses other than those in the Traffic Act.

In its observation,the court noted that there was need to amend the Traffic Act to realign it to the breathalyzer rules.

NTSA informs members of the public that driving under the influence of alcohol is an offense and that the Authority will continue to execute its mandate so as to keep our roads safe.

Francis Meja
Director General NTSA
Mseto binti
#253 Posted : Friday, April 07, 2017 11:10:54 PM

Hiii ni uuuupusi bwaaaana! Since when did drinking for a hardworking fellow become an issue? Can NTSA deal with real problems on our roads waashane nasi waliojiweza! Otherwise how do we attain Dutch courage without the
The blessed drink? Haya Jesu aliturn water into wine, Watu wakapewa!

butterflyke wrote:
RINK

About two months walisimamisha wakubwa wa jeshi, walipigwa kama step children and detained at DoD for some hours!!!!

I found meaningful work🤓
#254 Posted : Saturday, April 08, 2017 10:59:16 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
quicksand wrote:

you are very wrong, I agree with @alma the law is against that thing it was brought up by a fellow who can't read simple english, and its just meant for corrupt guys, I don't think it has had any positive effect, in fact I think you are making that story up, the alcoblow I am sure has made your life miserable and made some tender guys rich smile

Sitaki, you are learning slowly. Very slowly.

I get it, you are trying to use my previous arguments to make yours...

But you still don't get it. Obviously you vote for these fellas who passed this law.

Laws are not supposed to be made to make you find Jesus. Otherwise, we might all as well join ISIS.

Laws are supposed to be created to get those that go against the norm consistently. With these I mean like Jubilee gov't all the time. Their homies stealing money in gunias..All the time....

Not charging a simple broke matatu driver 30k for overlapping. Why the hell do you think we have cops in Kikuyu, hapo Gatitu getting 200 bob for a manyanga, 100 bob for a nissan every day? Ama you want to find out if I really went to primary school like joho..I actually have a phd, in something you can't pronounce.

It's because the stupid fella you voted for made it a law.

I don't pay hongo. But my kids first. 200 bob vs 30k. Washa niripe hio hongo.

You don't get it..

As long as you create stupid laws, the more corruption you have....

Tafadhali sitaki, tembea dunia....Itumbi has only gone to state house and thinks amefika...He's your boss lakini, bado.

I can leave a pub high like a kite. But unless a cop in Massachussets sees me wobbling on the road or not using the turn lights, he can't arrest me

We call it entrapment...

That is what alchoblow is. ENTRAPMENT.

I thought you were going to cause an offence, so I arrest you. I Kenyan thinking. I thought you are drunk, so you are going to kill people.

When you think about laws like that, I shall take it a few steps for you.

I thought you are a malaya, so I should touch your boobs. Wait, entrapment...I thought you are a kyuk, so you are a thief....I thought, I thought I thought...

There's nothing worse than a drunk driver...That I agreee with...

But please, in Kenya...Road blocks are illegal...But please, like please.

The law is supposed to be consistent. All the parts...Sio the part that you like.

This was and is a bad law....It may have saved you from being stupid, but it's still a bad law.

I hate laws created because of morality. There's nothing wrong with drinking. There's nothing wrong with driving. Actually when you think about it, there's nothing evil about drinking and driving.

But the traffic law is right.

There's something wrong about not having control of your car.

You don't have to drink to cause accidents. In fact, you could be sober. But sick. Probably have a nut in your nut.

If you want to make people to stop drinking, please give birth to better children.

I drink. I don't drive. Don't even drive when I'm sober. That has nothing to do with alcoblow.

These kind of laws are the ones that have made murchr have a job.

Bad laws. Very bad laws don't protect you. They actually f*** you up.

Think dummy. Matatu drivers are sober at 10am. But they kill people. It was not the alchohol, dummy.

It was, "NOT HAVE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE". Now I know why you vote for these people,.

#255 Posted : Saturday, April 08, 2017 11:30:04 PM

Just incase you get muganda telling you who my grandmother is, let me make a few things clear...

I hate drunk drivers drinking or driving.

Hate it so much I don't drive. Anywhere.

But there's no worse human being to me than a moralist. His morals are not mine. Otherwise you are saying Alphdoti and Guru are right. Let's all become muslims.

Bad laws don't help you...They don't. I could be high on spider weed. Or a muslim terrorist who doesn't drink passing through Thika road....

Anyway...Let me stop there. The courts have said their part.

My question is this.

What the hell is this NTSA thing supposed to be doing? Why and who set it up? What the hell is NTSA or those names that look like that one?

I heard that their work is to reduce accidents. That to me doesn't equate to holding up traffic on Waiyaki Way.

Kenyans have become so stupid.!!!!

Let me make myself very clear!!!!

Kenyans have become so stupid!!!!!!!!!

Gov't has made you believe that when you have an accident it's because of your fault. You are the cause...Serekal iko safi kama pamba.

Drunk drivers are on the streets because the Kikuyu Gatitu cop takes 200 bob every morning. I want to see the cop who says I'm lying...Or trying to sue me..Or trying to...That's just a fact.

The cop on Waiyaki Way hapo kabete police station. They look serious at 7 am in the morning. But as I said before, it's entrapment. You can't get 10 cops in a landrover stopping every matatu. You are saying every matatu is a theif.

Come on people.

You voted for these people.

You without seat belt in your car. Complaining on facebook showing us pictures of the cop who arrested you. Cops are not the issue.

It is you. The voter. Voting for stupid laws.

I remember telling Murchr, someone I like and trust, but jubiree jinga damu...

Don't create stupid laws.

The traffic act in Kenya is the most stupid set of laws in the world.

Yes, the former dictator is gone.. He had the right idea. But he was wrong. Very wrong...You do know Michuki was a....someone that....Na mnasema hapa kila sas Michuki. Bad laws are bad laws. The worst laws are the ones that entrap innocents in the hope of getting the criminals.

Michuki is the one who created the current "ukipita hapa na matatu ni soooo moja cops". Terrible for the country. Great for the coward bloggers who have never done anything for their lives other than just say raira.

I say that as someone who gave hongo jana to a cop. I confess....He showed me the law, I told him, niko na 40 bob tu mzee....

Alchoblow my foot.

Tell your tenderprenuer to get another job,.

#256 Posted : Monday, April 10, 2017 4:29:38 PM