Coca Cola products
penkon
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 28, 2017 10:19:24 AM

Nigerians boycott Coca-Cola drinks after court rules them 'poisonous'

http://cnn.it/2otnfmM
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 28, 2017 8:34:49 PM

10 hours later with no comment is unlike wazua.

Ama pesa imemwagwa to silence debated'oh! d'oh!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 28, 2017 9:41:37 PM

kenmac wrote:
10 hours later with no comment is unlike wazua.

Give us time to contemplate... https://www.theguardian....-human-waste-drinks-cans
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 28, 2017 10:04:33 PM

[quote=kenmac]10 hours later with no comment is unlike wazua.

Give us time to contemplate... https://www.theguardian....human-waste-drinks-cans[/quote]

Please don't.
I don't take sodas but today I tried a sprite cz I could find my fav juice.Sasa sinywi TENA!

yuck.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 29, 2017 11:24:58 AM

I stopped taking Coca Cola products. My family doesn't either. Taking Coke is as good as smoking to your health.

#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 29, 2017 12:33:05 PM

I take coke whenever I feel like (which is not very often). I do regulate consumption for myself and children but I have no intention of stopping its consumption.

Its a great drink, it may not be healthy but so what, if all this health risks were real, half the world population would be dead.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 29, 2017 12:57:53 PM

I see no cause of alarm in this case. From that article the UK rejected the coca cola products not because they were poisonous but because the preservative level was above UK regulations......but was still far below FAO regulations.

"The UK standards limit benzoic acid in soft drinks to a maximum of 150 mg/kg. Both Fanta and Sprite have benzoic levels of 200 mg/kg which is lower than the Nigerian regulatory limit of 250 mg/kg,"

Codex recently reduced its international limit for benzoic acid volume from 600 mg/kg to 250 mg/kg, and is considering a further reduction in the coming years.
"The previous levels are still considered as safe -- they are just not necessary," says Tom Heilandt, secretary of the Codex Alimentarius Commission, explaining the change. "More work will be done over the next few years to see if the levels could be further adjusted."
The levels found in Nigeria Coca-Cola products should not pose health risks, according to Dr Markus Lipp, a senior food safety officer at the FAO.
"The current acceptable limit for benzoates by the Codex Alimentarius Commission is set to be 250mg/kg," he told CNN.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 29, 2017 1:07:39 PM

This statement is also curious:

But authorities in the UK seized and subsequently destroyed a shipment, Adebo claimed, because the products contained excessive levels of sunset yellow and benzoic acid. The latter substance can form the carcinogen benzene when combined with ascorbic acid, according to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Most soft drinks, juices on our supermarket shelves are preserved with benzoic acid (sodium benzoate) and fortified with ascorbic acid (vitamin C). KEBS needs to say something about this.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 29, 2017 11:59:41 PM

But authorities in the UK seized and subsequently destroyed a shipment, Adebo claimed, because the products contained excessive levels of sunset yellow and benzoic acid. The latter substance can form the carcinogen benzene when combined with ascorbic acid, according to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Most soft drinks, juices on our supermarket shelves are preserved with benzoic acid (sodium benzoate) and fortified with ascorbic acid (vitamin C). KEBS needs to say something about this.

Benzoic acid iko kwa kila kitu mpaka fresh mkate.95% of all ready to eat food in supermarket has Benzoic acid.
Just check your bread and that sweet Afya juice.

#10 Posted : Friday, March 31, 2017 8:41:47 PM

Benzoic acid iko kwa kila kitu mpaka fresh mkate.95% of all ready to eat food in supermarket has Benzoic acid.
Just check your bread and that sweet Afya juice.

I love Afya juice.. Hope it doesn't kill me

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45