Kikuyus: Or these people: From Nyeri vs From Kiambu
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Anti_Burglar wrote:I think Alma is having a meltdown. His pet perspectives have been getting defeats from which they cannot recover one by one the latest one being the doctors thing. It's interesting that he's also caused a meltdown on this side. Sign of being worked on intensely.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
tycho wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:I think Alma is having a meltdown. His pet perspectives have been getting defeats from which they cannot recover one by one the latest one being the doctors thing. It's interesting that he's also caused a meltdown on this side. Sign of being worked on intensely.  thus far, I've not been able to pay bills, I'm against andu my brothers, now I'm having a meltdown I just highlighted the ugliness of some people. Using this nyumba nonsense on each and every issue. As if they have ever come help me pay rent. This mentality must stop and we shall help it end. However, sad or disappointed you are about it. Like I'm supposed to care about your feelings? ha! We are either going to get our 2017 versions of homeguards talking about real issues affecting the common man. Or we stop listening to them. If that's painful or you wish to paint me as tribalist, pole. All I can do on my side is just laugh and post another wise saying. Voters must learn to vote for their own bellies. Not for the bellies of people who show up after leaving the bank with gunias of money. If that's a tribal concept, so be it. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
I'm struggling to figure what this thread is about. We all know that the Kikuyus whether from Nyeri, Laikipia, Naivasha or Kiambu will vote as a block. We have history o prove it. Dividing that vote is a dream. People from Central always vote for the person who can best take care of their agendas and it is most likely one of their own. Another reason is the Kikuyus whether you beleive it or not, are are even more democratic than most. Looking at the last elections, more than half of the presidential candidates were from Central but they voted almost to the last man the person they thought had the best chance of winning and represented their interest. In any democracy in the world, you vote for the person who best represents your interests. You will never divide them by dialect or region, your best strategy should be to listen to what they want and try to negotiate if you want a piece of their vote. BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:I'm struggling to figure what this thread is about. We all know that the Kikuyus whether from Nyeri, Laikipia, Naivasha or Kiambu will vote as a block. We have history o prove it. Dividing that vote is a dream. People from Central always vote for the person who can best take care of their agendas and it is most likely one of their own. Another reason is the Kikuyus whether you beleive it or not, are are even more democratic than most. Looking at the last elections, more than half of the presidential candidates were from Central but they voted almost to the last man the person they thought had the best chance of winning and represented their interest. In any democracy in the world, you vote for the person who best represents your interests. You will never divide them by dialect or region, your best strategy should be to listen to what they want and try to negotiate if you want a piece of their vote. Now my question would be....How have they gained from this again?The ordinary folk in the village how have they gained? possunt quia posse videntur
kaka2za wrote:The greatest advocate for the poor Kikuyu peasant was Jaramogi Oginga Odinga. Read 'Not yet Uhuru '
No wonder they had to initiate the oathing ceremonies soon after. Quote:"Under the KANU government the peasant has for the most part remained as he always was. The wealth of a privileged few in government has had a demoralising effect on their poor countrymen called on to make sacrifices for Uhuru. The politicians have clung to position and been prepared to abandon principles because they have developed an appetite for power and for property that grows with each new form of promotion. This is a leadership that has not shown the moral or the intellectual strength to withstand the pressure of civil service advisers trained in the old ways of the colonial administration to the external economic and political pressures working against true Kenyan independence."
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
maka wrote:2012 wrote:I'm struggling to figure what this thread is about. We all know that the Kikuyus whether from Nyeri, Laikipia, Naivasha or Kiambu will vote as a block. We have history o prove it. Dividing that vote is a dream. People from Central always vote for the person who can best take care of their agendas and it is most likely one of their own. Another reason is the Kikuyus whether you beleive it or not, are are even more democratic than most. Looking at the last elections, more than half of the presidential candidates were from Central but they voted almost to the last man the person they thought had the best chance of winning and represented their interest. In any democracy in the world, you vote for the person who best represents your interests. You will never divide them by dialect or region, your best strategy should be to listen to what they want and try to negotiate if you want a piece of their vote. Now my question would be....How have they gained from this again?The ordinary folk in the village how have they gained? They have electric power in the villages, piped water, tarmac roads, improved dairy, tea, coffee, macadamia prices, free primary and secondary education, top range medical equipment in hospitals, peace in RV diaspora etc etc.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
maka wrote:2012 wrote:I'm struggling to figure what this thread is about. We all know that the Kikuyus whether from Nyeri, Laikipia, Naivasha or Kiambu will vote as a block. We have history o prove it. Dividing that vote is a dream. People from Central always vote for the person who can best take care of their agendas and it is most likely one of their own. Another reason is the Kikuyus whether you beleive it or not, are are even more democratic than most. Looking at the last elections, more than half of the presidential candidates were from Central but they voted almost to the last man the person they thought had the best chance of winning and represented their interest. In any democracy in the world, you vote for the person who best represents your interests. You will never divide them by dialect or region, your best strategy should be to listen to what they want and try to negotiate if you want a piece of their vote. Now my question would be....How have they gained from this again?The ordinary folk in the village how have they gained? They've gained immensely. Compared to other regions, they are far ahead in infrastructure, energy, water, food, education, hospitals, growing businesses etc. while their complains are about, alcohol, land disputes, thugs... these are slightly strange complaints compared to other regions. BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:maka wrote:2012 wrote:I'm struggling to figure what this thread is about. We all know that the Kikuyus whether from Nyeri, Laikipia, Naivasha or Kiambu will vote as a block. We have history o prove it. Dividing that vote is a dream. People from Central always vote for the person who can best take care of their agendas and it is most likely one of their own. Another reason is the Kikuyus whether you beleive it or not, are are even more democratic than most. Looking at the last elections, more than half of the presidential candidates were from Central but they voted almost to the last man the person they thought had the best chance of winning and represented their interest. In any democracy in the world, you vote for the person who best represents your interests. You will never divide them by dialect or region, your best strategy should be to listen to what they want and try to negotiate if you want a piece of their vote. Now my question would be....How have they gained from this again?The ordinary folk in the village how have they gained? They've gained immensely. Compared to other regions, they are far ahead in infrastructure, energy, water, food, education, hospitals, growing businesses etc. while their complains are about, alcohol, land disputes, thugs... these are slightly strange complaints compared to other regions. Ohhh never realised...good for them then. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
maka wrote:2012 wrote:maka wrote:2012 wrote:I'm struggling to figure what this thread is about. We all know that the Kikuyus whether from Nyeri, Laikipia, Naivasha or Kiambu will vote as a block. We have history o prove it. Dividing that vote is a dream. People from Central always vote for the person who can best take care of their agendas and it is most likely one of their own. Another reason is the Kikuyus whether you beleive it or not, are are even more democratic than most. Looking at the last elections, more than half of the presidential candidates were from Central but they voted almost to the last man the person they thought had the best chance of winning and represented their interest. In any democracy in the world, you vote for the person who best represents your interests. You will never divide them by dialect or region, your best strategy should be to listen to what they want and try to negotiate if you want a piece of their vote. Now my question would be....How have they gained from this again?The ordinary folk in the village how have they gained? They've gained immensely. Compared to other regions, they are far ahead in infrastructure, energy, water, food, education, hospitals, growing businesses etc. while their complains are about, alcohol, land disputes, thugs... these are slightly strange complaints compared to other regions. Ohhh never realised...good for them then. I can't prove it but the poorest people in Kenya are from the 'richest' community. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
wukan wrote:Vallerrie wrote:This would have been a very educative thread had it not gone all political.
Let me attempt to be educative. During the colonial period there were lots of okuyos who were taken from their "ancestral lands" to work in the settler farms in the Rift valley. Mostly from Murang'a and Kiambu to form the RV diaspora cousins. Now around the 1950's the colonial govt then decided to kick out rift valley squatters. When they came back to ancestral lands they found the lands had been grabbed. Other militant squatters were thrown to Nyeri. Lacking land jobs or skills this core of landless peasants became the maumau to fight for their land from the settlers and the locals. The Kiambu guys did not support maumau for the simple reason being close to Nairobi they were really enjoying economic benefits. Most of the grabbing was done using the land courts so the system worked in their favour. Murang'a guys because of being herded into colonial villages got together formed companies and adopted business and took over lower Nairobi and also banking/sacco business. Nyeri guys were left with only education to advance opportunities in life and were taken like the poor sons of maumau remnants. These divisions are purely economic sibling rivalry which formed during the colonial period. After independence to protect wealth kiambu got into govt. with the vow that the presidential motorcade would never cross the chania river. Of course the motorcade crossed the river when Kibaki won with Kiambu firmly backing Uhuru in 2002 and also 2005 referendum. Kiambu is still benefiting from its close proximity to the city. With mess in the city the middle class has made kiambu towns the dormitory towns which has really brought economic benefits to the locals. They have felt the economic growth under Jubilee I would expect high voter participation. Now Kiambu MPs have now attacked Muranga biasharas(interest rate capping) which has made the Muranga guys say they want PK as Nairobi governor to protect their business interests or else. Nyeri is bitter they have no cabinet secretary and don't feel the growth like in the Kibaki era so the voter apathy is there. This just pure nonsense of the power elite. Kenya is just a family business and your votes are just shares in the company. Wow! The things I learn on this site. Thank you so much Wukan, I never knew there's so much happening in the background of Kenyan politics.
Vallerrie wrote:wukan wrote:Vallerrie wrote:This would have been a very educative thread had it not gone all political.
Let me attempt to be educative. During the colonial period there were lots of okuyos who were taken from their "ancestral lands" to work in the settler farms in the Rift valley. Mostly from Murang'a and Kiambu to form the RV diaspora cousins. Now around the 1950's the colonial govt then decided to kick out rift valley squatters. When they came back to ancestral lands they found the lands had been grabbed. Other militant squatters were thrown to Nyeri. Lacking land jobs or skills this core of landless peasants became the maumau to fight for their land from the settlers and the locals. The Kiambu guys did not support maumau for the simple reason being close to Nairobi they were really enjoying economic benefits. Most of the grabbing was done using the land courts so the system worked in their favour. Murang'a guys because of being herded into colonial villages got together formed companies and adopted business and took over lower Nairobi and also banking/sacco business. Nyeri guys were left with only education to advance opportunities in life and were taken like the poor sons of maumau remnants. These divisions are purely economic sibling rivalry which formed during the colonial period. After independence to protect wealth kiambu got into govt. with the vow that the presidential motorcade would never cross the chania river. Of course the motorcade crossed the river when Kibaki won with Kiambu firmly backing Uhuru in 2002 and also 2005 referendum. Kiambu is still benefiting from its close proximity to the city. With mess in the city the middle class has made kiambu towns the dormitory towns which has really brought economic benefits to the locals. They have felt the economic growth under Jubilee I would expect high voter participation. Now Kiambu MPs have now attacked Muranga biasharas(interest rate capping) which has made the Muranga guys say they want PK as Nairobi governor to protect their business interests or else. Nyeri is bitter they have no cabinet secretary and don't feel the growth like in the Kibaki era so the voter apathy is there. This just pure nonsense of the power elite. Kenya is just a family business and your votes are just shares in the company. Wow! The things I learn on this site. Thank you so much Wukan, I never knew there's so much happening in the background of Kenyan politics. Be careful about misinformation. Some things are so recent that you just need remember or check up. Like 2005 referendum
masukuma wrote:watu wanapora hii nchi mbele na nyuma halafu unawafuata na hupati kitu hapo? I think we should do a Miguna thing - tupa watu huko ndani wavuruge vitu! wahindi wamekuwa president mara ngapi? tuwache kuwa washenzi! I can understand (not condone) if Waiguru, Kabura and the hordes of hidden people eating nyama vote for Uhuru... asifiye mvua imemnyea and Kila mwamba ngoma ngozi huivuta pande yake... hao wanavuta pande yao... be a grownup and vote for YOUR INTERESTS! Vuta pande yako! Uhuru and Co. don't have YOUR INTERESTS at heart! ethnicity is not an interest unless it gives you a tangible increment in your pocket. The only reason I would vote for Ruto is coz i need to keep Kaleos happy and 'we' promised them! sitaki vita home... but I am under no illusion that nitapatia Uhuru... I wish half of the voters would reason like you. VOTE purely for your personal interests. It would be nothing short of a political revolution.
FRM2011 wrote:masukuma wrote:watu wanapora hii nchi mbele na nyuma halafu unawafuata na hupati kitu hapo? I think we should do a Miguna thing - tupa watu huko ndani wavuruge vitu! wahindi wamekuwa president mara ngapi? tuwache kuwa washenzi! I can understand (not condone) if Waiguru, Kabura and the hordes of hidden people eating nyama vote for Uhuru... asifiye mvua imemnyea and Kila mwamba ngoma ngozi huivuta pande yake... hao wanavuta pande yao... be a grownup and vote for YOUR INTERESTS! Vuta pande yako! Uhuru and Co. don't have YOUR INTERESTS at heart! ethnicity is not an interest unless it gives you a tangible increment in your pocket. The only reason I would vote for Ruto is coz i need to keep Kaleos happy and 'we' promised them! sitaki vita home... but I am under no illusion that nitapatia Uhuru... I wish half of the voters would reason like you. VOTE purely for your personal interests. It would be nothing short of a political revolution. You must first know how the system works to know what your personal interests are. Otherwise personal interests may not apply. It's this understanding of the system that's lacking heavily. Our history is almost inaccessible, and most of us are busy laboring for bread to care.
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
masukuma wrote:watu wanapora hii nchi mbele na nyuma halafu unawafuata na hupati kitu hapo? I think we should do a Miguna thing - tupa watu huko ndani wavuruge vitu! wahindi wamekuwa president mara ngapi? tuwache kuwa washenzi! I can understand (not condone) if Waiguru, Kabura and the hordes of hidden people eating nyama vote for Uhuru... asifiye mvua imemnyea and Kila mwamba ngoma ngozi huivuta pande yake... hao wanavuta pande yao... be a grownup and vote for YOUR INTERESTS! Vuta pande yako! Uhuru and Co. don't have YOUR INTERESTS at heart! ethnicity is not an interest unless it gives you a tangible increment in your pocket. The only reason I would vote for Ruto is coz i need to keep Kaleos happy and 'we' promised them! sitaki vita home... but I am under no illusion that nitapatia Uhuru... @Collardgreens, hapo unakibarua. Prior to 2022 elections you'll have to either mobilize your fellow okuyo neighbors to vote for Ruto en masse or go around your area telling all and sundry that you are voting for Ruto. Either way, you have a slim chance of surviving when things go South. Imagine a situation where you are the only Okuyo who voted Ruto and the rest voted, say, PK. Utasurvive kweli? Ama your area, maybe a square kilometer, overwhemingly voted for Ruto thus a Ruto, island. Do you think you will survive the surrounding mob? Hawa watu hawatataka kujua. The criteria is you are Okuyo, fullstop.
alma1 wrote:tycho wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:I think Alma is having a meltdown. His pet perspectives have been getting defeats from which they cannot recover one by one the latest one being the doctors thing. It's interesting that he's also caused a meltdown on this side. Sign of being worked on intensely.  thus far, I've not been able to pay bills, I'm against andu my brothers, now I'm having a meltdown I just highlighted the ugliness of some people. Using this nyumba nonsense on each and every issue. As if they have ever come help me pay rent. This mentality must stop and we shall help it end. However, sad or disappointed you are about it. Like I'm supposed to care about your feelings? ha! We are either going to get our 2017 versions of homeguards talking about real issues affecting the common man. Or we stop listening to them. If that's painful or you wish to paint me as tribalist, pole. All I can do on my side is just laugh and post another wise saying. Voters must learn to vote for their own bellies. Not for the bellies of people who show up after leaving the bank with gunias of money. If that's a tribal concept, so be it. This reminds me of the Mungiki at least in the nineties. It was easy for them to call others 'Ngati' and they even killed many for that. But when I think about it, I realize that them too are Ngati but they don't know it. Frank Kitson gives us a glimpse of the ngati psychology in his 'gang-counter gang'. The Ngati were largely driven and actually voted by and for their bellies. So did the maumau. Even now when we think policy, we go Ngati. This is a Ngati country. Ngati land. What can remove us from this Ngati shallow mindedness? Certainly not a wager or a dare but an elaborate exploration of our history and the reconstruction of our nationhood.
Maybe Harry Thuku is Kenya's only true but unsung hero. Why I say this is, why, or what made him to change from the fire brand in the early 1920's to the conservative after detention?
I can't put the change to torture, or inducement of personal wealth. I believe his re-education showed him the futility of violent uprising.
Our wise men and traditional priests failed to understand what was happening, and they, being oblivious of the rules of tradition took the wrong course.
We must all face mt. Kenya and Jerusalem and understand them properly in order to make sound judgements. In fact, mt. Kenya is Jerusalem.
Kenya is at the very center of global politics and her failure to respond accordingly is a shame.
We must all face mt. Kenya and Jerusalem and understand them properly in order to make sound judgements. In fact, mt. Kenya is Jerusalem.
Jerusalem is not Zion. Meru Holiness
Much Know wrote:tycho wrote:
Jerusalem is not Zion. The burden of proof is on you. Prove it!
tycho wrote:Much Know wrote:tycho wrote:
Jerusalem is not Zion. The burden of proof is on you. Prove it! Jerusalem is in the middle east, it is too hot and arid there. There are basic logistics like feeding people seasonally which Israel and the middle east can't manage. Not unless we are talking of the very distant future, of which discussing where Zion is is pointless. Moreover, that would make the prophesy by Yesu that "no one knows the time or place", because we can see the middle east and Israel is far from coping, so we can "guess" that the time and place is "not ready", rendering the prophesy partially and perhaps totally assailable at this particular point in time! Moreover, Jesus, the "real deal" himself did not speak very enthusiastically about Israel, Jerusalem, the temple, Judaism e.t.c. Funny enough, he foretold that that no stone would be left standing at the temple, with hindsight you may say that was obvious for aging reasons e.t.c, but all Jews thought the temple will stand "forever" is it not so? Jesus was more of a "global thinker". That is not to negate the role of the Jews in history, there are indeed several Jews who are Christian, or practice a form of Judaism that confirms Christ role and truth. Meru Holiness
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
virtually all Kiambu people were originally from Muranga. Could Kiambu case be similar to Australia's? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Kikuyus: Or these people: From Nyeri vs From Kiambu