68 Pages«<2930313233>»
KCB buy buy buy
#601 Posted : Saturday, March 11, 2017 2:15:40 PM

You have been a member since:: 1/3/2007
There is something about KCB that worries me. I do not trust their numbers. I think the CBK & Treasury are protecting KCB but the rot will show up some time!

If KCB went through a thorough review of all its loans, I think the NPLs will jump. My gut feeling.

See how this guy makes wazuans miss out on the right buses

Lipstick on a pig. Nothing has changed. If not today then tomorrow. Good luck.
MadDoc
#602 Posted : Saturday, March 11, 2017 2:33:13 PM

There is something about KCB that worries me. I do not trust their numbers. I think the CBK & Treasury are protecting KCB but the rot will show up some time!

If KCB went through a thorough review of all its loans, I think the NPLs will jump. My gut feeling.

This is one stock where you veer from your fact based approach. Is it the management you don't trust or is it just irrational bias?
Ebenyo
#603 Posted : Saturday, March 11, 2017 3:03:10 PM

MadDoc wrote:
[quote=obiero][quote=VituVingiSana]There is something about KCB that worries me. I do not trust their numbers. I think the CBK & Treasury are protecting KCB but the rot will show up some time!

Stick to your goals.As long as you are getting what you want its fine.Change when things are not going your way.Above all LEARN daily.it will be fine with you.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#604 Posted : Saturday, March 11, 2017 3:07:50 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
MadDoc wrote:
[quote=obiero][quote=VituVingiSana]There is something about KCB that worries me. I do not trust their numbers. I think the CBK & Treasury are protecting KCB but the rot will show up some time!

Stick to your goals.As long as you are getting what you want its fine.Change when things are not going your way.Above all LEARN daily.it will be fine with you.

Soo true

COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.76; MTN ABP 5.20
#605 Posted : Sunday, March 12, 2017 11:21:38 AM

MadDoc wrote:

This is one stock where you veer from your fact based approach. Is it the management you don't trust or is it just irrational bias?

Management & GoK's influence.Except for KenRe I stay away from GoK firms. It's a gut feeling. I may be wrong. It's not like Safcom (run by Vodafone) where it's the only choice in a rapidly growing sector. I have choices like Equity, NIC, I&M, StanChart, BBK, Co-op, etc. For obvious reasons I don't have NBK on the list. Good luck!

After losing money in KQ, any firm in which GoK has a significant stake needs to be looked at twice. Perhaps my "fear of GoK" is irrational but so far it has saved me lots of money post-KQ. EAPCC vs Bamburi (even ARM > EAPCC). NBK vs any listed bank. The list is long but includes Uchumi, KPLC and KenGen. There's always an undercurrent that concerns me. Inflated tenders, political godfathers, favored appointments, etc.

I have explained why I stick with KenRe in other threads BUT a whiff of stink and I will bail.

The saving grace for KCB is its TBTF status and GoK/KCB will step in to protect it by bending the rules or offering equity/loans.

But I like to sleep at night.
#606 Posted : Sunday, March 12, 2017 3:56:39 PM

MadDoc wrote:

Management & GoK's influence.Except for KenRe I stay away from GoK firms. It's a gut feeling. I may be wrong. It's not like Safcom (run by Vodafone) where it's the only choice in a rapidly growing sector. I have choices like Equity, NIC, I&M, StanChart, BBK, Co-op, etc. For obvious reasons I don't have NBK on the list. Good luck!

After losing money in KQ, any firm in which GoK has a significant stake needs to be looked at twice. Perhaps my "fear of GoK" is irrational but so far it has saved me lots of money post-KQ. EAPCC vs Bamburi (even ARM > EAPCC). NBK vs any listed bank. The list is long but includes Uchumi, KPLC and KenGen. There's always an undercurrent that concerns me. Inflated tenders, political godfathers, favored appointments, etc.

I have explained why I stick with KenRe in other threads BUT a whiff of stink and I will bail.

The saving grace for KCB is its TBTF status and GoK/KCB will step in to protect it by bending the rules or offering equity/loans.

Safaricom??

Ericsson
#607 Posted : Sunday, March 12, 2017 5:33:34 PM

MadDoc wrote:

Safaricom??

I agree with you Obiero
GoK influence in safaricom is much greater than in KCB- and kenya re

@vvs
TBTF means what
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#608 Posted : Sunday, March 12, 2017 5:36:17 PM

Ericsson wrote:
MadDoc wrote:

Safaricom??

I agree with you Obiero

@vvs
TBTF means what

Too big to fail

snipermnoma
#609 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 9:24:25 AM

Ericsson wrote:
MadDoc wrote:

Safaricom??

I agree with you Obiero

@vvs
TBTF means what

Too big to fail

I disagree on level of GoK influence being higher in safaricom than GoK. Reason being Vodafone has by far a greater influence (CEO and CFO are vodafone appointees). Why? Because in safaricom, GoK is the second largest shareholder after vodafone and that is why vodafone are calling the shots. Meanwhile at KCB, GoK is the largest shareholder followed by NSSF. So GoK calls the shots here, including all top management. My view is therefore that GoK has a greater influence at KCB than at safaricom.

That said I also disagree with @vvs on staying away from GoK firms (except Kenya Re). There are a few more GoK firms that are worth investing in.
Ebenyo
#610 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 11:38:06 AM

To minimize risks,its not advisable to be exposed to any element that may pose the same.
E.g,avoid all loss making companies,avoid companies whose management you cant trust-Dont trust Meral and Wamae.
Avoid exposure to one sector.Try to have a footprint in specific sectors.
G.O.K- its not advisable to be exposed here.Neither is it advisable to ignore all firms with gok interest.Safaricom and Kcb combined profit for 2015 and 2016 is kshs 48 bilion.When you choose to ignore this amount of money,what is it then that you want?
My advise will be for one to construct a balanced portfolio which has interest on all profitable sectors of economy.Stick to what works well for you.
What works for you may not work for me.and vice versa.In stocks,there is no perfection and neither do masters exist.Its a learning experience.Even warren Buffet is still learning!
ARAP CHARLES
#611 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 11:50:30 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
To minimize risks,its not advisable to be exposed to any element that may pose the same.
E.g,avoid all loss making companies,avoid companies whose management you cant trust-Dont trust Meral and Wamae.
Avoid exposure to one sector.Try to have a footprint in specific sectors.
G.O.K- its not advisable to be exposed here.Neither is it advisable to ignore all firms with gok interest.Safaricom and Kcb combined profit for 2015 and 2016 is kshs 48 bilion.When you choose to ignore this amount of money,what is it then that you want?
My advise will be for one to construct a balanced portfolio which has interest on all profitable sectors of economy.Stick to what works well for you.
What works for you may not work for me.and vice versa.In stocks,there is no perfection and neither do masters exist.Its a learning experience.Even warren Buffet is still learning!

Uhuru said the other day... ni nini mbaya na watu. wako na maskio na hawasikii, wako na macho lakini hawaoni.. nini mnataka jameni.. nini tunataka.... I HAVE FOOD FOR THOUGHT HERE BWANA EBENYO...Not talking Think Drool smile
Watch and Listen and Live
#612 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 2:17:21 PM

Safaricom is run by Vodafone. MJ was a Vodafone employee. BC also came from Vodafone. The CFOs are from Vodafone. 40% of Safcom is owned by Vodafone. I think GoK is 25%.

@Snipermnoma - Which other GoK controlled firms are good in your view? Why?

Like @Ebenyo said, don't trust Merali or Wamae either. Also Dinitz and Obure (Express and Olympia). A thief is always a thief.

Good luck!
#613 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 3:06:31 PM

Perhaps I am mistaken...
http://linkis.com/co.ke/vUMnY
Ebenyo
#614 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 4:39:37 PM

Safaricom is run by Vodafone. MJ was a Vodafone employee. BC also came from Vodafone. The CFOs are from Vodafone. 40% of Safcom is owned by Vodafone. I think GoK is 25%.

Like @Ebenyo said, don't trust Merali or Wamae either. Also Dinitz and Obure (Express and Olympia). A thief is always a thief.

Good luck!

Chris Kirubi-i dont like the attitude of centum towards shareholders.Employees are benefiting more than shareholders.
He bought kq shares to hype the market despite the company being in negative equity.
Whats your comment on him @vvs?
#615 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 4:50:13 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

Good luck!

Chris Kirubi-i dont like the attitude of centum towards shareholders.Employees are benefiting more than shareholders.
He bought kq shares to hype the market despite the company being in negative equity.
Whats your comment on him @vvs?

Hard to say. Centum has done well under Mworia. He must have been paid per his performance contract.
Kirubi bought KQ, not Centum so it was a personal decision. Take an interest in what Centum buys not what Kirubi claims to buy.
snipermnoma
#616 Posted : Tuesday, March 14, 2017 6:08:47 PM

Good luck!

In my view there are three GoK firms worth investing in: KenyaRe is the best, KCB is decent and KenGen was decent but with recent happenings now only barely makes the cut. I stay away from all the others.
Horton
#617 Posted : Thursday, March 16, 2017 4:27:37 PM

snipermnoma wrote:

Good luck!

In my view there are three GoK firms worth investing in: KenyaRe is the best, KCB is decent and KenGen was decent but with recent happenings now only barely makes the cut. I stay away from all the others.

This Kenyare thing has been a value trap for a while. Not sure despite all the rosy NAVs etc. if it will do well. Anyone done a DCF on KENYARE?
S.Mutaga III
#618 Posted : Sunday, March 19, 2017 6:52:44 PM

After reading a few comments in this thread, I am convinced that some wazuans do not know what a government controlled company is. The largest shareholder in KCB is the Treasury at 17% followed by NSSF at 6%. This puts government ownership at around 23%. This is not enough to control the company despite the notable influence. You should not classify KCB and Safaricom in the same basket as Kengen, KPLC, Kenya-Re etc. In Kenya Re for instance, government ownership was 60% which effectively means the government has the final say. Unless the government owns more than 50% of the company, only then would you classify it as a "government company".
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
S.Mutaga III
#619 Posted : Sunday, March 19, 2017 6:55:15 PM

MadDoc wrote:

Government does not own more than 50% of Safcom or KCB...so technically, it does not control those companies despite the huge influence by virtue of the number of shares.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
Horton
#620 Posted : Sunday, March 19, 2017 7:15:37 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
MadDoc wrote:

Government does not own more than 50% of Safcom or KCB...so technically, it does not control those companies despite the huge influence by virtue of the number of shares.

VVS u have been in this business for as long as a lot of us have. Im sure u understand gut feelings are mostly dangerous. Remember the stock ( the one obiero loves) that u fell in love with last and where lots of guts were involved too?