wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

8 Pages<1234>»
Dropping Swahili as a Subject in Schools.
Ngalaka
#11 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:11:21 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
I personally at this stage am very grateful that I did kiswahili! I love it! I didn't do well in school at it but I love it! it's such a dear language to me that when I travel and meet others and we start chatting in exclussive swa... it makes me high! exclusive swa! using words kama mjini, nyumbani... dropping misemo here and there... just lovely! I was on an interview juzi where I used words like "MFUMO MBADALA! sheria na Kanuni, michakato na taratibu..." I loved it!!

Most of us, and I guess that includes you, are also very proficient in our vernacular languages even though we didn't take them in school.
Heck our politicians are at their best when they switch to vernacular - the figures of speech, the connection....

Even watu wa mambasani who never went to school speak more appealing swahili to yours - while you probably got an "A" in the language.

The point is a language is not necessarily embraced because it is taught in school, - at what expense.

True. A language isn't necessarily embraced because it's taught in school. So why is a language taught in school?

For its practical benefits to a nation - international commerce.
Swahili is out of its depth on this.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#12 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:13:18 PM

@Tycho thanks. @Ngalaka have you ever been abroad in non English speaking country? You try communicate in English and they ask you to speak your own language? Been in such scenario in Germany, Italy and Russia. Where is your pride?

Secondly, pride boss.....in our "Africaness" if not anything else. Why not make it the language of instruction for all subjects?

Now I know what Ngugi meant by urging in Decolonizing the Mind by reloading at our African languages. Kiswahili (not Swahili) is at the par with the so called international languages.
Anti_Burglar
#13 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:14:38 PM

If everybody had their way to do away with subjects they were not good at in school, where would we be?
Ngalaka
#14 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:21:20 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
@Tycho thanks. @Ngalaka have you ever been abroad in non English speaking country? You try communicate in English and they ask you to speak your own language? Been in such scenario in Germany, Italy and Russia. Where is your pride?

Secondly, pride boss.....in our "Africaness" if not anything else. Why not make it the language of instruction for all subjects?

Now I know what Ngugi meant by urging in Decolonizing the Mind by reloading at our African languages. Kiswahili (not Swahili) is at the par with the so called international languages.

We have our "own" languages bwana - 42 of them. We speak them better than any other language we learnt in school - be it English or Swahili.

Tanzania has taken the route you suggest for us. where has it left them and their education system.
The number of Kenyan expatriates there tells it all.
#15 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:31:22 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
I personally at this stage am very grateful that I did kiswahili! I love it! I didn't do well in school at it but I love it! it's such a dear language to me that when I travel and meet others and we start chatting in exclussive swa... it makes me high! exclusive swa! using words kama mjini, nyumbani... dropping misemo here and there... just lovely! I was on an interview juzi where I used words like "MFUMO MBADALA! sheria na Kanuni, michakato na taratibu..." I loved it!!

Most of us, and I guess that includes you, are also very proficient in our vernacular languages even though we didn't take them in school.
Heck our politicians are at their best when they switch to vernacular - the figures of speech, the connection....

Even watu wa mambasani who never went to school speak more appealing swahili to yours - while you probably got an "A" in the language.

The point is a language is not necessarily embraced because it is taught in school, - at what expense.

True. A language isn't necessarily embraced because it's taught in school. So why is a language taught in school?

For its practical benefits to a nation - international commerce.
Swahili is out of its depth on this.

International commerce isn't the only benefit that we should aim for as a people. Before commerce there's identity.

Your preferred disciplines are out of depth on the issue of identity.
#16 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:38:22 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

We have our "own" languages bwana - 42 of them. We speak them better than any other language we learnt is school - be it English or Swahili.

Tanzania has taken the route you suggest for us. where has it left them and their education system.
The number of Kenyan expatriates there tells it all.

@Ngalaka unless you have some beef with Kiswahili versus our 42.... Tanzania has a better more stable economy than ours. They are more politically stable than any country in the region. All courtesy to Kiswahili. All else is slowly falling in place and like Ethiopia well be left nyuma sana. BTW Ahmaric is spoken all over Ethiopia and it's not foreign.....schooling is in Ahmaric there
#17 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:40:01 PM

While at it why call your language vanacular? It's derogatory!
#18 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 1:54:45 PM

I bet people in hindsight could come up with subjects they think were a waste of time and should be done away with.

But remember education is for Children and not for grown ups, allow the children to explore every subject and later judge their usefulness for themselves.

Ironically, if you were to apply just sheer numbers, more Kenyans in life could argue that Kiswahili is of more use than English for their day to day lives, careers and livelihoods. I am talking about people in the informal sector, businessmen, farmers, traders, matatu sector folks, mama mboga's.

Thats the Kenyan population and not someone who wants to carry out "international commerce". Besides, we are net importers, let the international traders looking to sell us stuff learn to communicate with us, the Chinese don't speak English but seem to have done this very well selling us everything from toilet paper to SGR
Ngalaka
#19 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 2:09:15 PM

Does anyone here believe that Kiswahili would die off from our streets, markets, bars and other public fora, if universally we taught it only up to class three!

And for heavens sake nobody has called for banishing of Kiswahili from our public square.

This is a call to unburden our kids in school with a subject that isn’t taking them nor the country anywhere – noting that whatever benefits we draw from Swahili language would not be any lesser if we didn’t teach it in school up to KCSE.
#20 Posted : Monday, March 06, 2017 2:15:48 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
Does anyone here believe that Kiswahili would die off from our streets, markets, bars and other public fora, if universally we taught it only up to class three!

And for heavens sake nobody has called for banishing of Kiswahili from our public square.

This is a call to unburden our kids in school with a subject that isn’t taking them nor the country anywhere – noting that whatever benefits we draw from Swahili language would not be any lesser if we didn’t teach it in school up to KCSE.

While at it, lets also unburden them by teaching maths to class 3 or 6 or upto where calculus checks in. How in the world does calculus help anyone other than it making maths difficult and ridiculous. (many people could argue for this, yet I am sure there's a good reason why its taught)
8 Pages<1234>»