Two Rivers Mall
Gakware
#81 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 11:46:02 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
So, what's the future for Village Market next door?

Village market will retain serious clients..Parking is now sorted out and they are adding a few shops..Two rivers is inconsequential to Village market.The threat to Two Rivers is Rosslyn Riviera mall

And what with this English and Spanish naming of Kenyan Malls?
Why can we have original local names like #Kamindi Self Ridges, Shujaa etc?

You are not the target group.They are targeting the experts who live in Kenya and the rich kenyans.So they must give names that they can identify with.

Middle class wakutane Kamindi,Maguna Andu na Mathai.And drinks can be got from Kamakis.

ION when I was young we had a family friend whose matatu was named

"Kùhoha tì kùùma".Todate it still tickles me.

Stay on your lane, which is lined with these pubs and convenience stores:

- Kumi Kumi Bar Restaurant and Lodge

- Muukio Ta Wa Njogu Bar and Restaurant

- Ripa kabra ya Kunywa Bar, Restaurant

- Tahika na ukome Bar and Lodging

- Kunywa Ta Magui Ikumi Bar and Restaurant

- Njoroge Ee Ruraya Supermarkets

- Tuthugumire cia Kahua Pub

- Ukuigua Uguo Convenience Stores

- Thendi cia Bonathi Bar and restaurant

- Wandindikira kii Bar and restaurant.

- Ndikuinuka Umuthi Wines and Spirits

- Tucungwa Twega Bar and Restaurant.

- Tonyia Inji Ikumi Bar and Restaurant:

- Kahura Kanua Mart

- Miitu ya Nndaracaini bar and restaurant

- Wandahuhu kwendia Mwana Drinking Joint

- Thoko ya Mitugo Miaganu bar and restaurant

Sambaady translate.

Ati tonyia inji ikumi!!!!!!!!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
The past is the past, you either run from it or learn from it!
#82 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 12:56:37 PM

wukan
#83 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 1:10:43 PM

Applause Applause Applause Two rivers the biggest trophy of failed urban planning. Now we are building Sandton city which came up as the Joberg CBD decayed into a slum.

Now we think it's cool to shop and have recreational facilities in a fortressLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#84 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 1:25:28 PM

wukan wrote:
[imghttps://pbs.twimg.com/media/C5HzWHwWcAAor9m.jpg[/img]

Applause Applause Applause Two rivers the biggest trophy of failed urban planning. Now we are building Sandton city which came up as the Joberg CBD decayed into a slum.

Now we think it's cool to shop and have recreational facilities in a fortressLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Blame Kidero and his ODM county leadership for turning the city to a dump. Garbage everywhere, potholes, illegal structures etc etc. I have seen they have even allowed the kibera slum to expand east (north?) of mbagathi way (along the railway line) and soon it will reach nyayo stadium and city centre.
wa P
#85 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 2:33:31 PM

wa P wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
I will always shop at the Mama Mboga and mama Duka on my way home. They take loads of risks for low returns. They are the ones running this economy and not those big malls

hakuna mama mboga muthaiga na runda, sasa where do you want us to buy our groceries smile I would rather stick to my lane at carrefour

Send your Maid to Marikiti twice a week. She will get everything you need at a lesser cost :). Food stuff in those supermarkets are expensive than in Europe

Once you reach a "certain" level in society and reside in some of the residences, you've to conform with your neighbors expectationssmile smile smile smile smile smile

Marikiti ni ya watu wa umoja na kawangwaresmile smile smile

That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls

You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls

Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage.

Now that is a valid argument@Hardwood.

So true...

NOT True. Vegetables in large supermarkets are mainly supplied by something akin to 'cartel'. They dont care where produce comes from.

Trust me...the best way is to grow your fruits and vegetables. That is, if your lane is ample enough to afford what it takes.

Let me stick to my lane…Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@waP

http://www.nation.co.ke/...40148-9sox7m/index.html

Mukono of Uchumi Supermarkets spends most of his time receiving samples from farmers wishing to supply the supermarket chain with fresh produce.

When dealing with new suppliers, Mukono first requests for a sample. Once satisfied, the farmer’s land is accessed.

“We look at a number of things. The kind of technology used on the farm, the source of water and hygiene.”

Once satisfied, the farmer is given approval to supply the produce.

The frequency of the supply depends on the harvest time. However, to effectively manage supply and avoid disappointing customers, the supermarket contracts a number of suppliers for a particular product.

For instance, three or four farmers will be contracted to supply onions or mangoes.

Zucchini Greengrocers Ltd, a popular store in Nairobi for high-end consumers, also follows a similar pattern, but often insists on farmers being consistent with supply of fresh produce. Reliability is crucial in keeping customers coming back to the grocery.

“We first request farmers to bring samples of the produce. We then conduct a farm visit to establish the source of water used. This is to ensure that they are not using sewer water. We then give them our price for the products,” says Edwin Okoth, the procurement manager.

Talk is cheap. Esp Uchumi talk.
Fresh and juice have near total monopoly.
Most stuff destined for Eurep that fail in chemical residues is what you will queue at Two Rivers to buy.

(Though Carrfour has different sourcing strategy than nakumatt and its sister companies.
#86 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 2:39:00 PM

wa P wrote:

Talk is cheap. Esp Uchumi talk.
Fresh and juice have near total monopoly.
Most stuff destined for Eurep that fail in chemical residues is what you will queue at Two Rivers to buy.

(Though Carrfour has different sourcing strategy than nakumatt and its sister companies.

What about the produce sold by mama mboga. How does it rate when it comes to chemical residues?
Vallerrie
#87 Posted : Thursday, March 02, 2017 3:24:49 PM

Vallerrie wrote:
All I know is it's causing mad traffic on Limuru road

Quite true...People driving all the way from Eastlands slums, Rongai, Ngong etc to Two Rivers to take pizza and soda and window shop and pollute our air.

This town and life is for us all. From those in Kibera slums to those in Runda. Respect fellow human beings. They have a right to be at that mall. Humility is a virtue.

Runda, Rosslyn, Gigiri, Muthaiga, Nyari residents etc do not drive to Eastlands simply be because say Spangreen or Mashujaa mall or some other mall has been opened and wish to window shop..or take up some offer...Similarly Eastlands people should not drive all the way to Runda..

The opinion expressed in this comment are Mawinder's own and do not reflect the views of Vallerrie. Thank you smile
Vallerrie
#88 Posted : Thursday, March 02, 2017 3:33:36 PM

Even during this terrible drought the sukuma are very green, succulent and the leaves extra large. Kwani where do they grow them?

Kwa zile Greenhouse za Maina Kageni Laughing out loudly