wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

Kenya Re-purposing Satellite Dishes for Space Exploration
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 5:26:02 AM

NAIROBI — The construction of a huge radio telescope in South Africa is giving a boost to the science and space industries in Kenya. The country’s top space physicist says telecommunication companies are leasing out their now-obsolete satellite dishes for use in the new project.
Several African countries are working to build a large radio telescope known as the Square Kilometer Array, or SKA. The core station will be in South Africa, while other countries across the continent - Ghana, Mauritius, Botswana and Kenya - will host nodes that will operate together.......
Scientists hope to expand the Kenyan space program to include the development of satellites that would be launched into orbit from a Kenya-based station.

The country previously had a launch station in the sea off the coast of Malindi which is no longer operational. Baki says they want to re-establish one on land, taking advantage of a strategically prime location near the equator.

News you'll never see on the local media
Rink
bird_man
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 7:38:49 AM

Space exploration?How about we deal with some of our problems on the ground first?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 7:42:23 AM

Kwani how long will you people ask for Ugali, we have a facility at the coast that has been dormant. After the Uhuru satellite was launched in the 70's no other notable activity has taken place.
#4 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 6:54:54 AM

Kenyan highlands from space

thuks
#5 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 12:11:41 PM

bird_man wrote:
Space exploration?How about we deal with some of our problems on the ground first?

Agreed, treat diseases first then egos
I care!
#6 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 12:18:35 PM

bird_man wrote:

Nobody said Kenyans are going up there to explore. Rather, it's space exploration right from you couch.....and anyway, this things are intertwined. You never know. The explorations might even find the source of diseases!
Hobitke
#7 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 12:22:54 PM

It would be great if an observatory was built here.
Thitifini
#8 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 3:44:49 PM

Hobitke wrote:
It would be great if an observatory was built here.

We lost that to SA/Morocco 2014 or thereabouts.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#9 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 4:21:39 PM

Looks like one of the pictures was taken during the "IEBC must go " protests. Or what is that smoke in the middle?smile
Anti_Burglar
#10 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 4:25:45 PM

Looks like one of the pictures was taken during the "IEBC must go " protests. Or what is that smoke in the middle?smile

lol.

I will die of laughter in this Wazua.