#521 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 9:12:35 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
This months bond auction cancelled...

what happened? i called cbk this evening and was
told to come tomorrow.

Guess bids were high...14-15 levels...too expensive for gava to lend at those rates.They arent thaaaaaat desperate for cash.

so mpaka next month tena?

Yes Sir...
#522 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 9:14:49 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

told to come tomorrow.

Guess bids were high...14-15 levels...too expensive for gava to lend at those rates.They arent thaaaaaat desperate for cash.

Not that desperate..... Ohoho wait and see in the next month or so. Fruits of wastage smile
#523 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 9:15:56 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

told to come tomorrow.

Not that desperate..... Ohoho wait and see in the next month or so. Fruits of wastage smile

We will just do another eurobond...
#524 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2017 11:58:53 AM

Ryko wrote:
Ryko wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
[quote=Ryko]this calculation looks great.
Someone kindly share with me a link or a guide on how i can apply for the above bond(the procedure), can it be done online or i must go to Central Bank.Got some idle cash and this looks worth

https://www.centralbank.go.ke/securities/[/quote]

Thanks Taurrus, i appreciate tomorrow heading to the CBK to make my application. I have been in the money market wave looks gloomy i am switching to Bonds.

I have one final question, if anyone would mind explaining i will appreciate.

Scenario: Assuming i apply for a 3M Bond (5 years) after 4 years i wish to get all my money back. Will i loose any intrest?? what do i stand to loose if i redeem halfway?. I sincerely did not understand the secondary market bit.

The one year you held the bond you will receive interest payment semi annually...when you want to sell it you do so at the secondary market where yields are determined by the current interest rate environment...plus its a negotiation between different dealers in the market..3M will be considered an odd lot and you might be nyolewad quite a bit on selling.

@Maka 5 years is damn looonngg, i might just land a Nairobian "wow-man" and in 11 months she might tell me she has my triplets yet nilizika saving ya 3M Sad Sad

1. There are bonds i see written 20 years but redeemable every 5 years, does it mean i can invest in that and get all my cash out after 5 years without the secondary stuff?

2. For any experienced Wazuan: I have noted once you bids for the bond you have to waits for results. (a rough calculation if you bid for 3M what is the likely amount CBK can accept? ). Just a rough estimate

Finally, I think the 2 years option is the best so far, 5 years is for cash that one will never need. Its best to assume that cash disappeared. Secondary market is a "No" go zone. With this precaution in my head i think i dip my legs in.

If you want you can buy the bond leo and sell it kesho...i have traded the 30 year bond numerous times so you dont hv to necessarily hold it for a few months or years as long as you get a proper exit you offload...

Do you need to own quite a chunk of "EVEN" odd in the region of 100M (Kabura) in order to avoid the heavy kinyozi while trading the 30 YR Bond?

I doubt if a 3M guy can trade a 30 year Bond and come out smiling the following day.

you can i have done it a couple of times...look at last weeks price list (not mine) but there was an SDB that was bought at 16%...Seller must have been desperate remembered he had a bond sold it at whatever rate the broker gave him/her...

@Tisha, is that 16% of the capital ? i.e 16% of say 3M = 480,000?

#525 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 11:28:42 AM

Ryko wrote:
Ryko wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
Someone kindly share with me a link or a guide on how i can apply for the above bond(the procedure), can it be done online or i must go to Central Bank.Got some idle cash and this looks worth

Thanks Taurrus, i appreciate tomorrow heading to the CBK to make my application. I have been in the money market wave looks gloomy i am switching to Bonds.

Scenario: Assuming i apply for a 3M Bond (5 years) after 4 years i wish to get all my money back. Will i loose any intrest?? what do i stand to loose if i redeem halfway?. I sincerely did not understand the secondary market bit.

The one year you held the bond you will receive interest payment semi annually...when you want to sell it you do so at the secondary market where yields are determined by the current interest rate environment...plus its a negotiation between different dealers in the market..3M will be considered an odd lot and you might be nyolewad quite a bit on selling.

@Maka 5 years is damn looonngg, i might just land a Nairobian "wow-man" and in 11 months she might tell me she has my triplets yet nilizika saving ya 3M Sad Sad

1. There are bonds i see written 20 years but redeemable every 5 years, does it mean i can invest in that and get all my cash out after 5 years without the secondary stuff?

2. For any experienced Wazuan: I have noted once you bids for the bond you have to waits for results. (a rough calculation if you bid for 3M what is the likely amount CBK can accept? ). Just a rough estimate

Finally, I think the 2 years option is the best so far, 5 years is for cash that one will never need. Its best to assume that cash disappeared. Secondary market is a "No" go zone. With this precaution in my head i think i dip my legs in.

If you want you can buy the bond leo and sell it kesho...i have traded the 30 year bond numerous times so you dont hv to necessarily hold it for a few months or years as long as you get a proper exit you offload...

Do you need to own quite a chunk of "EVEN" odd in the region of 100M (Kabura) in order to avoid the heavy kinyozi while trading the 30 YR Bond?

I doubt if a 3M guy can trade a 30 year Bond and come out smiling the following day.

you can i have done it a couple of times...look at last weeks price list (not mine) but there was an SDB that was bought at 16%...Seller must have been desperate remembered he had a bond sold it at whatever rate the broker gave him/her...

Wewe sasa...even sent you the calcs anyway look at this 2 scenarios;

You bought the 30 year @ 14.8% today then sold it at 14.3% on 15th....5 days before coupon payment...

@14.8%

@14.3%

#526 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 5:24:32 PM

Issuing IFB1/2017/12Yr. Coupon 12.50%. Settlement 27-Feb-17. Maturity Date 12-Feb-29. Amortised payments: 21-Feb-22 (20%), 19-Feb-24 (45%) & 12-Feb-29 (100%).
#527 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 6:50:45 PM

Issuing IFB1/2017/12Yr. Coupon 12.50%. Settlement 27-Feb-17. Maturity Date 12-Feb-29. Amortised payments: 21-Feb-22 (20%), 19-Feb-24 (45%) & 12-Feb-29 (100%).

14%+ else no one will buy this.
snipermnoma
#528 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 7:09:27 PM

Ryko wrote:
Ryko wrote:
Taurrus wrote:

You bought the 30 year @ 14.8% today then sold it at 14.3% on 15th....5 days before coupon payment...

@14.8%

@14.3%

@maka could you share the spreadsheet you used to do these calculations? Tafadhali...
snipermnoma
#529 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 7:11:00 PM

The way they have been rejecting bids, 14% seems high. Perhaps 13%...anyway, we will see what happens
#530 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 7:28:07 PM

snipermnoma wrote:
Ryko wrote:
Ryko wrote:
Taurrus wrote:

@14.8%

@14.3%

@maka could you share the spreadsheet you used to do these calculations? Tafadhali...

Wekelea email I send you...
Pesa Nane
#531 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:03:47 PM

wazua@googlegroups.com
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Liv
#532 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 8:39:51 AM

CBK will only accept anything below CBR +4%....if everyone quotes 14% and above they might cancel the whole bond.

This one is IFB ....so coupon rate grossed up is 13.9% (10% tax rate) and 14.7% ( 15% tax rate)
#533 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 8:49:37 AM

Liv wrote:

CBK will only accept anything below CBR +4%....if everyone quotes 14% and above they might cancel the whole bond.

This one is IFB ....so coupon rate grossed up is 13.9% (10% tax rate) and 14.7% ( 15% tax rate)

Let them cancel. They cancelled the last one too. At some stage, they'll come begging...
snipermnoma
#534 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 10:03:47 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:

wazua@googlegroups.com

snipermnoma@gmail.com
Scubidu
#535 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 10:13:26 AM

Kenyans always looking for super normal profits. Are we just punishing the government for leakages and spending inefficiencies?
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
#536 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 11:13:30 AM

snipermnoma wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

wazua@googlegroups.com

snipermnoma@gmail.com

Sent...
Pesa Nane
#537 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 2:28:51 PM

snipermnoma wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

wazua@googlegroups.com

snipermnoma@gmail.com

Sent...

Not received
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#538 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 3:04:05 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
snipermnoma wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

wazua@googlegroups.com

snipermnoma@gmail.com

Sent...

Not received

Hiyo yenu ya groups imekataa...ambia sniper awatumie...amepata yeye.
Liv
#539 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 11:59:30 PM

Liv wrote:

Let them cancel. They cancelled the last one too. At some stage, they'll come begging...

You can't win against a government ...sorry.
Didn't you note most of the funds rejected in the cancelled bond ended up in the Treasury bills? Bids for 182 and 364 days totaled 23 billion this week and CBK took 21b of these.....at flat interest rates.
Dahatre
#540 Posted : Saturday, February 04, 2017 9:37:18 AM

Guys:
I have question:

Has any of you played around with layered (laddered?) buys/bids of Tbills?
Been toying with the idea as a method to catch rising rates since I missed the huge run-ups we had a couple of years back-cuz money was tied up in a 364-day T-bill.

The way it would work if I had ~600K and wanted to bid on an 182-day bill:
I would bid 100K each month, for six months-continuously. I would then have some chums every month in a cyclic manner so that I am ready to jump into better rates if and when they come up instead of tying up my whole 600K in a single 182-day bid.

Could also work with 91-day bills. Heck, I suppose one could bid every week there was an auction throughout the year....

Thoughts?
TIA.