wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Bankers I need consultation
enyands
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 9:37:12 AM

Dear wazuans i want to deposit my cheque of 100k from coop bank into my mother's account in Barclay's bank to finish a building project.

I'm meant to understand that when the cheque matures they won't pay her unless she gives evidence of where the money is coming from and what the money is going to do. Is this true ? And how can I go around it?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 9:43:16 AM

Surely, that cannot be true.
Who is she to give the evidence to and how?
Is M-Pesa also subject to the same? If this happens, we will go back to the donkey years of cash only transactions.

#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 10:04:15 AM

enyands wrote:
Dear wazuans i want to deposit my cheque of 100k from coop bank into my mother's account in Barclay's bank to finish a building project.

I'm meant to understand that when the cheque matures they won't pay her unless she gives evidence of where the money is coming from and what the money is going to do. Is this true ? And how can I go around it?

That only applies to deposit or withdrawals of over Kshs 1 million
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 10:07:58 AM

enyands wrote:

That only applies to deposit or withdrawals of over Kshs 1 million

And specifically cash
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 1:22:57 AM

Mpesa your mother the cash and save her lots of unnecessary stress of going to stupid banks.
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 7:40:25 AM

enyands wrote:

100k is loose change.
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 8:20:08 AM

enyands wrote:

False. No one will ask any question. You can even deposit 999,999.
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 8:57:45 AM

For cheques they will not ask the source of funds, but cash nowadays they ask for source even for amounts below a million depending on your account activity.

Banks are now overcautious
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 9:49:13 AM

They might ask if your account usually deals with amounts of between Ksh 100-1000.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 9:53:46 AM

enyands wrote:

100k is loose change.

haiya! please come back to kenya! lol
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 9:57:00 AM

This largely depends on the bank and age/activity of the account........ sometimes the branch based on fraud activities experienced in the recent past.
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 12, 2017 8:15:54 PM

It all depends on amounts transacted before.Has she ever deposited cheques in her account of such an amount?If not the bank will be curious to know source of funds.

Part of prudential guidelines from CBK on Anti Money Laundering.

Just give her a fowarding note saying..."Dear mum....please receive this 100k as part of my support towards completion of our house

Your sweet and loving son Enyands.

She can show that to the branch manager.
#13 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 1:44:47 PM

It all depends on amounts transacted before.Has she ever deposited cheques in her account of such an amount?If not the bank will be curious to know source of funds.

Just give her a fowarding note saying..."Dear mum....please receive this 100k as part of my support towards completion of our house

Best advise, just brilliant.
enyands
#14 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 5:35:01 PM

Thanks a bunch.i have instructed someone to deposit. I'll wait and see banks reaction
#15 Posted : Friday, January 13, 2017 11:27:05 PM

enyands wrote:

Thanks a bunch.i have instructed someone to deposit. I'll wait and see banks reaction

100k is pesa kidogo. There shouldn't be any problems.
wa P
#16 Posted : Saturday, January 14, 2017 8:35:55 AM

I strongly oppose this letter on following grounds,

1. It is a record showing a brother contributed to mom's house. The other sons may have contributed, maybe more than 100k but no letter so will be disadvantaged.

2. He should sign as, 'one of your sweet and loving son'

That said....Brilliant suggestion.
enyands
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 4:09:42 PM

So this what happened :
Coop bank called my account signatory to ask if that signatory signed my cheque leaf and if it's OK to honor payment and my signatory said yes

My mother withdrew the cash with no problem from barclays . It's cheaper than mpesa as someone mentioned because it's free, there is no exposure risk like withdrawing 100k from an mpesa agent.

It short it was a success and the over verification thing was just a hype.Ahsanteni
Taurrus
#18 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2017 7:21:30 PM

enyands wrote:
So this what happened :
Coop bank called my account signatory to ask if that signatory signed my cheque leaf and if it's OK to honor payment and my signatory said yes

My mother withdrew the cash with no problem from barclays . It's cheaper than mpesa as someone mentioned because it's free, there is no exposure risk like withdrawing 100k from an mpesa agent.

It short it was a success and the over verification thing was just a hype.Ahsanteni

You think so?
enyands
#19 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2017 10:30:13 PM

Taurrus wrote:
enyands wrote:
So this what happened :

You think so?

Taarus can you withdraw 100k from an agent in CBD and walk free with no fear on the street
Taurrus
#20 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 12:20:30 PM

enyands wrote:
Taurrus wrote:
enyands wrote:
So this what happened :

You think so?

Taarus can you withdraw 100k from an agent in CBD and walk free with no fear on the street

Danger everywhere! from agents /tellers roads,kp, everywhere !