wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

7 Pages<12345>»
Child custody - married parents
tnai9
#41 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 3:04:39 PM

Now that is one very wise woman. She has moved on and is doing what is best for her "new family". Good that they secretly moved the girl to a new school to cut off that school fees link. "The biological" should read the writing on the wall.

The guy loves that daughter like nothing..Being him, he wont take it lying down..But there are serious lessons, in this issue
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#42 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 3:12:58 PM

tnai9 wrote:
From my many experience interacting with people, htis is waht I've learnt:

1. Those who make most noise and say biological father should stay away and stop interfering with that home are single men who have no idea what they are talking about

2. Those single people, who feel no empathy for the biological father will experience a unique challenge in their marriage in future too... It is said what goes around comes around. So let them wait for their test, not necessarily a baby from x but a test nonetheless

3. When they get married and realize how naive they were, they keep quiet and "disappear"

4. Those people who are never married before are so ignorant of so many things... they still live in their dreams

Blood is very very thick..I feel for my guy ..I imagine the feeling that his daughter is 'out there' living and being assisted to do home work by a man who probably hates him, ..its depressing and really worrying...

Choices have consequences. He deserves the agony and punishment.
gk
#43 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 3:34:39 PM

tnai9 wrote:

Now that is one very wise woman. She has moved on and is doing what is best for her "new family". Good that they secretly moved the girl to a new school to cut off that school fees link. "The biological" should read the writing on the wall.

The guy loves that daughter like nothing..Being him, he wont take it lying down..But there are serious lessons, in this issue

That's not love.He is just on an ego trip and ought to do what is the best interests of the child at that age and social stability is the most paramount. There's more to upbringing than kulipa kalo.
sitaki.kujulikana
#44 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 3:55:13 PM

gk wrote:
tnai9 wrote:

That's not love.He is just on an ego trip and ought to do what is the best interests of the child at that age and social stability is the most paramount. There's more to upbringing than kulipa kalo.

perfect, hata this mambo ya visiting sijui where its coming from if the step father is treating the girl as his own, the biological guy should be mature enough and let the girl grow up in peace, imagine the confusion the girl goes through in school having to explain the 2 fathers scenario.

The biological guy anatia finyu to break the other family Sad
#45 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:00:29 PM

This biological father is up to no good.He wants to distabilize this new family.

I imagine he has issues with his new wife and probably kids.I imagine they do not match up to his ex both wife and kids and he wants an association with the ex.

Soon he will "omba" the lady for old time sake.

Let him send the fees if he feels he must and he can reconnect with the girl when she is 18.For now akae kando.
tnai9
#46 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:06:19 PM

gk wrote:

Why do courts award access/visitation rights, joint custody etc?
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
tnai9
#47 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:25:35 PM

This biological father is up to no good.He wants to distabilize this new family.

I imagine he has issues with his new wife and probably kids.I imagine they do not match up to his ex both wife and kids and he wants an association with the ex.

Soon he will "omba" the lady for old time sake.

Let him send the fees if he feels he must and he can reconnect with the girl when she is 18.For now akae kando.

My colleague has been married think for close to nine yrs and I know they are (look)happy, good careers(both graduates, hubby paid a bit well by Kenyan stds), think they are a bit comfortable. The X is a diploma holder stays where rent is like half his X boyfy's. Donno what his hubby does. So the above may not be true. Think the guy just wants his daughter

Of course am using rent as a yard-stick here which may not be 100% right..but is a pointer

#48 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:27:07 PM

What is in the best interest of the children? Childrens' rights.
That is what is most impt. and that is what would guide the Court's decision were this matter to follow the legal channel.
And not just one child, but also all the other children of both Bulls' homes.

So what is best for them?

Let's begin with the child at the heart of this imbroglio.

Once a previously unmarried woman marries, the law automatically assumes the step dad has acquired parental responsibility over the kid, meaning the law recognises the kid as the man's legal dependant and his responsibility to cater for the physical, educational and emotional well-being of that kid. In fact were the step dad to also separate with this woman,the law provides that the step dad can be sued for child support if he ceases providing for the kid's sch fees, maintenance and medical needs!

But what about the biological dad?
By virtue of his biological connection he has natural parental responsibility, as opposed to acquired (in the case of the step dad),responsibility for the his kid.

The question then must arise: Does the woman getting married therefore strip the biological dad of his parental responsibilities to the kid? I stand to be COLLected but yes, as full parental responsibility now shifts to the step dad in raising his daughter as he deems best.

Court would deem the best environment would be within the family set up which the biological man cannot offer,and which the step dad is providing.
And so kid would go to new family set up, thereby denying biological dad custody of his little ka daddy/ ka mummy.

So together with the kid's mom they would be compelled have to make visitation arrangements for biological dad to be meeting with his kid.
Plus these arrangements have to be in such a way that they don't interfere with both Bull's families (read not interfere with kid's siblings and step siblings). In this way all kids are expected to live well within their respective families, with the kid occasionally meeting his biological dad.

Should the biological father feel his daughter is not being adequately taken care of, he can file suit at the Family Court, with evidence, showing why he should instead be granted custody.

Sorry but family courts were really made for, nor favor men.
They are instead good for getting cash out of your men's pockets to pay for the estranged mother (your ex) to take your kid for what she calls 'holidays' yet the farthest holiday you went with her was taking her shags.

My 2 pre-Matiang'i legal cents.

sitaki.kujulikana
#49 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:35:23 PM

interesting points @Intelligentsia, now would the court consider more money better for the kid, or would other social considerations take precedence, what I take from the scenario is that the biological dad has more money.

if we were to flip it, such that the biological dad is poor and does not want his kid attending high end school, or indulging in pizza and buggers instead he wants his kid to tafuna githeri, in a nice locl public school.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:38:25 PM

@Intelligentsia, nice piece though some rights cannot be take away provided the laid down guidelines are followed by the biological father e.g. visitation, basic support, treatment, na kadhalika!!!!
tnai9
#51 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:42:15 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

Court would deem the best environment would be within the family set up which the biological man cannot offer,and which the step dad is providing.
And so kid would go to new family set up, thereby denying biological dad custody of his little ka daddy/ ka mummy.

Biological father is married..the kid will have a step mother..

As an aside I am not sure who is better between a step mother and a step father?

#52 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:51:28 PM

@Intelligentsia, nice piece though some rights cannot be take away provided the laid down guidelines are followed by the biological father e.g. visitation, basic support, treatment, na kadhalika!!!!

Surely the "biological" cant be buying unga, nyama, medicine, clothes, paying fees etc for only his kid while the other kids in his X's new family are impoverished. It's either he supports all kids or none.
#53 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:54:09 PM

tnai9 wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:

Biological father is married..the kid will have a step mother..

As an aside I am not sure who is better between a step mother and a step father?

A child is best raised by her/his mother. So the best combination would be Child + mother + step dad.
#54 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:56:46 PM

Surely the "biological" cant be buying unga, nyama, medicine, clothes, paying fees etc for only his kid while the other kids in his X's new family are impoverished. It's either he supports all kids or none.

You guys dont want support yet one fainted yesterday at JKIA while going to look for support from #Makueni!!!!

Anyway am sure in the children's act what can be done is defined. Let me look for it.
#55 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 5:06:47 PM

tnai can you believe that I'm actually going to agree with hardwood?

It seems your friend has a case of sour grapes and he needs to grow up a bit. He's not the first father to watch his kid grow with another man.

The issue is that yes he has rights to be a PARENT to the kid. Not to pay her school fees.

When you say that he'd prefer that his daughter goes to a better school. That's a good thing. However, he should stop interfering with the family of a woman he left 10 years ago.

I can't see how a court removes that child and gives it to him simply because he has more money. Hiyo ni madharau.

How would you feel if you were the new man ati your kids are being taken to kamukunji primary school and some fella who dumped the daughter ati says his is special. Aende makini.

Will your friend now insist that his daughter takes weetabix when her step brothers and sisters take uji?

There's no court that's going to help him. They'll just say he's the biological father. But a woman can also refuse financial help from a man....You can't force her to take your money...Hiyo weka kwa child fund or something..

Lakini going to insist sijui your kid goes to which school is very bad behavior.

He should talk with them like a man and offer his help as a PARENT. Not an ATM machine...

If I was the new man kwanza I'd be in Ethiopia by now. Don't interfere with other people's families. Especially when you say he's the one who left..

It is not the work of courts to destroy one family to make one rich man happy. Let him tetea himself to be a helper to his child but asiletee huyo jamaa mwingine nyef nyef kwa nyumba yake...He has waited 10 years he can wait another 8 before buying her a phone.

Sansa
#56 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 6:25:30 PM

If the mother had previously allowed him to have contact with his daughter but now refuses to allow him then something must have changed. Yes, the father has a right to see his kid but if he does things that irritate the custodial parents then of course they wont want him coming around.

Why did he give the kid a phone. Had he spoken with the mom about that phone? Does he know what decisions have been made about kids having cell phones in that house?

Were his visits to the kid consistent or was he turning up when he felt like it? Does he know how the visits were affecting the kid afterwards.

Was he bringing his kid around his other family and if so how were those people treating the kid?

This school he wants to take the kid to, is it somewhere the current parents can easily drop her/pick her? Can their other kids go to the same or a similar school?

#57 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 6:28:07 PM

tnai9 wrote:
Wazuans,
I am asking this for a non wazuan colleague smile . Lawyers in the forum,
A friend has an ongoing issue where there is a toi -girl,think abt 10yrs old he got with his X, but they have both married(different pple) but the guy has been supporting the dota, paying fees, etc. The toi stays with the mother. Lately the foster father has really brought issues about contact btn the two Xs effectively denying access to the girl. The girl has also been secretly transferred to another school by the custodial parents without informing the biological father.

The guy is headed to court seeking full/ joint custody. Any wazuans with experiences is such matters? what are the pitfalls/secrets?

The guy (aka colleague) is stupid.

githundi
#58 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 9:45:42 PM

No man should interfere with the affairs of another man's home.

Depends on the community (ies) they come from.
If they are Kikuyus...I agree with you.
The baby belongs to the man the lady has married.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#59 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 11:13:47 PM

Always saddens me when a child is in the middle of these battles. Something is very wrong with us humans that two irresponsible adults need to go see one adult (judge) to sort out their mess. Can't they sit look at the options and come up with the obvious conclusion the judge would arrive at and implement for the sake of the child??? This tag of war for the young girl because they both 'love' her too much is simply, pure nonsense. It could scar her for life.

#60 Posted : Tuesday, January 10, 2017 11:32:43 PM

That man needs 6 canes on his buttocks, plus a whole week of cleaning streets. Only such 'childish' punishment can drive some sense to his 'childish' brain.

There is more to bringing up a child than flashing cash around. Does he even care about that child really, or he is in this for his ego?

Taking that girl to a different school from the other kids, buying her expensive gadgets, cloths and whatever else just puts her into a collision course with the other kids. The kind of mental torture those other kids might put her through just because of such treatment would lender her mental status completely messed up and not even Makini or Riara would correct the damage.

You can imagine these kids deciding they wont talk or play with her simply because she is the special one(remember watoto ni watoto and such treatment is not far fetched. It even happens to real brothers and sisters, sembuse huyu wa 'nje'). The father-daughter visits going forward would mean he would be spending time wiping her tears as she narrates to him how she is hated by the other children. I wonder whether that would make him love her more.

Further, the mere reason of showing that girl she is more privileged/superior than/to the other kids is in itself immoral. That is not how to bring up kids. You should not implant 'classes' to such kids at their age. As much as humanly possible, children should know all kids are equal. They are supposed to be taught how to share whatever much or little they have, not to have mobile phones while their siblings cant afford them. This man is trying to sow seeds in her that he might live to regret.

One more fact is that as long us that girl is living a generally good/decent life, she is safer with the mother than with a step mother. Majority of children raised by step mothers will give hallowing stories of the kind of things they were taken through by their step mothers. Now why would this man want such a life for his daughter who he allegedly loves yet her real mum is still alive? Do you know how much many children would pay just to be with their mums regardless of how rich or poor their mums are?

Finally, the court is just a bigger torture for the kid. The easiest would be to sit down as adults and agree maturely how to handle the situation going forward, and he shouldn't go there with his big ego. Honestly, he is being done a favor. He has a right to see his child, but the child's mental well-being should be more superior a consideration that his mental well-being. I am sure he can handle not seeing the daughter every day easier than the girl can handle the kind of ridicule he is about to put her through.

Actually if he wants a kind of happy life for the girl, he may consider supporting her education in the school her current parents chose, as long us its decent. He might even consider going the extra mile and treating all the children when he decides to so that his daughter will never grow an evil ego like his. Kama ni nguo, si anunulie tu wote and his girl will be dressed decently as he wishes and the other kids will not feel left out. When they are of age and able to understand, they shall chose what to do with their lives. As much he has a right to his daughter, he should, as a parent, also consider what picture he will paint to the other children.

The other man also have a responsibility to protect the other children from 'ridicule' from this one girl. Imagine her bragging to them all the time the way their school is big, has this and that and they are there asking their dad why he takes the other girl to a different school and them to a bad school. How do you answer that as a man? How do you start explaining to the other kids that its the other dad who pays for the older girl, but me as your dad I cant afford what the other dad does. How can that even work. What kind of a family would survive that way. Its usually hard for a man to explain why he can't buy his kids what their neighbors have, imagine now explaining this situation to these dot.com kids.

Money should not be a substitute to common-sense.