Sports
Joe Kadenge
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines. Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties. The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone. The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc yeah... it's a fact... i tell people sports are risky careers hawasikii... first for every maradona and pele there are millions of corpses that litter the road to success. For each Wanyama there are thousands of players who didn't make it. I played rugby and was very deliberate not to go play "pro" as some of my colleagues did huko Singapore, sijui Canada, Sri Lanka. Why? in sports you are a diminishing asset - great to have when young and almost useless when old and injured! unlike sports other careers people can waste our meagre salaries in the 20s eating all the chicken in Nairobi and drinking all that can be drunk but our value does not decrease - it increases with time. Sasa Obi Mikel at 29 is heading towards china aka retirement home. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines. Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties. The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone. The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc If we are being hypocritical because of calling for financial literacy and responsibilities then well and good. But the truth must be told. The athletes shelf life is very low, so when they have their windfall, they need to be wise early and invest. There are other retired athletes around the world doing well, borrow a leaf. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines. Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties. The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone. The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc If we are being hypocritical because of calling for financial literacy and responsibilities then well and good. But the truth must be told. The athletes shelf life is very low, so when they have their windfall, they need to be wise early and invest. There are other retired athletes around the world doing well, borrow a leaf. I meant hypocrisy in expecting a 20 year old sports person to behave any differently from other 20 year-olds. Expecting a 20 year old who wakes up with untold riches as a result of a new contract to start thinking about his retirement is a pipe dream. They may look in control and assured playing whichever sport but take away the controls in place by professional sports organizations such as limitation on alcohol consumption and public behavior and many of these kids would struggle to sustain their careers for more than 12 months. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
masukuma wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines. Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties. The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone. The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc yeah... it's a fact... i tell people sports are risky careers hawasikii... first for every maradona and pele there are millions of corpses that litter the road to success. For each Wanyama there are thousands of players who didn't make it. I played rugby and was very deliberate not to go play "pro" as some of my colleagues did huko Singapore, sijui Canada, Sri Lanka. Why? in sports you are a diminishing asset - great to have when young and almost useless when old and injured! unlike sports other careers people can waste our meagre salaries in the 20s eating all the chicken in Nairobi and drinking all that can be drunk but our value does not decrease - it increases with time. Sasa Obi Mikel at 29 is heading towards china aka retirement home. Kuna rugby Singapore na Srilanka ?
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines. Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties. The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone. The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc If we are being hypocritical because of calling for financial literacy and responsibilities then well and good. But the truth must be told. The athletes shelf life is very low, so when they have their windfall, they need to be wise early and invest. There are other retired athletes around the world doing well, borrow a leaf. I meant hypocrisy in expecting a 20 year old sports person to behave any differently from other 20 year-olds. Expecting a 20 year old who wakes up with untold riches as a result of a new contract to start thinking about his retirement is a pipe dream. They may look in control and assured playing whichever sport but take away the controls in place by professional sports organizations such as limitation on alcohol consumption and public behavior and many of these kids would struggle to sustain their careers for more than 12 months. Did you eat everything you earned in your 20s? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines. Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties. The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone. The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc If we are being hypocritical because of calling for financial literacy and responsibilities then well and good. But the truth must be told. The athletes shelf life is very low, so when they have their windfall, they need to be wise early and invest. There are other retired athletes around the world doing well, borrow a leaf. I meant hypocrisy in expecting a 20 year old sports person to behave any differently from other 20 year-olds. Expecting a 20 year old who wakes up with untold riches as a result of a new contract to start thinking about his retirement is a pipe dream. They may look in control and assured playing whichever sport but take away the controls in place by professional sports organizations such as limitation on alcohol consumption and public behavior and many of these kids would struggle to sustain their careers for more than 12 months. Did you eat everything you earned in your 20s?  Surely, since sports is unlike other jobs, it then should be automatic that if you're a sportsman, you'll worry about your future in your 20s! If guys in 'normal' employment are buying plots and starting successful businesses, why shouldn't that athlete?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:masukuma wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:I hope the likes of Oliech and Wanyama are planning for their retirements. Am not trying to be salty but Joe Kadenge was very well paid in his days. Financial literacy is very important Hii ni system ya kujipanga. Don't drive big cars in your hey days then later ukuje kutusumbua na guilt trips telling us mambo ya national hero. Make hay while the sun shines. Such hypocrisy, i wonder how many even here in Wazua remember what they did with their meagre earnings in their twenties. The average person is very financial aware from teenage but financial maturity checks in after age 30. Unfortunately for sports stars, its already too late as their earning capacity is long gone. The world is littered with broke sports stars, think Maradona, Jonah Lomu (RIP), Scottie Pippen,Chidi Immoh etc yeah... it's a fact... i tell people sports are risky careers hawasikii... first for every maradona and pele there are millions of corpses that litter the road to success. For each Wanyama there are thousands of players who didn't make it. I played rugby and was very deliberate not to go play "pro" as some of my colleagues did huko Singapore, sijui Canada, Sri Lanka. Why? in sports you are a diminishing asset - great to have when young and almost useless when old and injured! unlike sports other careers people can waste our meagre salaries in the 20s eating all the chicken in Nairobi and drinking all that can be drunk but our value does not decrease - it increases with time. Sasa Obi Mikel at 29 is heading towards china aka retirement home. Kuna rugby Singapore na Srilanka ? maze.... wanyax wa nax would get random countries to go play. yes hizo mbili took some of our players in the early 2000s. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Meanwhile...