wazua Thu, Aug 7, 2025

Trends 2017
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 8:17:24 PM

As 2016 closes its curtains here are some of the trends to expect in 2017.

1. The virtual experience. The virtual gear and assistants were the IN gift this Christmas period in the west. This is the newest status symbol. I wait to see the $ale numbers from Amazon, Google and Samsung. The trend will def pick up in the new year. I give it time in Kenya before Madowo tries this.

2. Online shopping. Amazon shipped more than 1Billion items just this christmas season world wide. Alibaba sold goods worth $17.8B on Singles day in Nov. More and more businesses are ditching the "brick and mortar" store for online shopping. More in store in 2017.

3. Traditional TV is dead. Welcome Netflix, hulu, Amazon, Apple, Showmax Coming soon Alibaba entertainment and ...... Why do we still don't have "On Demand" TV in Kenya?

4. More data and cloud services - More and more services will be based on the cloud. The cloud generation continues

5. Cyber threats. Pakistan almost launched a nuclear war on Israel over a fake news article. So now these threats are no longer limited to some people wanting to steal your credit card details, or sabotaging your website, they include sabotaging the national power grid or bringing down the communication equipment of a country...

6. Online jobs. kuhustle, ajiradigital. Looking forward to see what they have to offer.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 10:09:37 PM

Say something about intelligent or targeted advetisement.

Didn't know it works until an advert for sonething I have been searching online showed up on my Facebook timeline.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 10:19:59 PM

I don't know why you never mentioned wazua here.

Matapakas are so deperate for traffic, they can't user my profile

Muganda...Tuko pamoja jinga hii!!!!!

#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 11:07:15 PM

Say something about intelligent or targeted advetisement.

Didn't know it works until an advert for sonething I have been searching online showed up on my Facebook timeline.

That was a 2016 trend. All websites are doing it now including this one. As I type, nike shoes are flashing on my side. But facebook gets it and does it so well. I wait to see what they do with FB live in as far as monetizing it.
Anti_Burglar
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 7:31:39 AM

I don't know why you never mentioned wazua here.

Matapakas are so deperate for traffic, they can't user my profile

Muganda...Tuko pamoja jinga hii!!!!!

lol
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 9:04:43 AM

1. The virtual experience. The virtual gear and assistants were the IN gift this Christmas period in the west. This is the newest status symbol. I wait to see the $ale numbers from Amazon, Google and Samsung. The trend will def pick up in the new year. I give it time in Kenya before Madowo tries this.

2. Online shopping. Amazon shipped more than 1Billion items just this christmas season world wide. Alibaba sold goods worth $17.8B on Singles day in Nov. More and more businesses are ditching the "brick and mortar" store for online shopping. More in store in 2017.

3. Traditional TV is dead. Welcome Netflix, hulu, Amazon, Apple, Showmax Coming soon Alibaba entertainment and ...... Why do we still don't have "On Demand" TV in Kenya?

4. More data and cloud services - More and more services will be based on the cloud. The cloud generation continues

5. Cyber threats. Pakistan almost launched a nuclear war on Israel over a fake news article. So now these threats are no longer limited to some people wanting to steal your credit card details, or sabotaging your website, they include sabotaging the national power grid or bringing down the communication equipment of a country...

6. Online jobs. kuhustle, ajiradigital. Looking forward to see what they have to offer.

That's a great analysis, but it's all Internet based, what do you see offline? Self-drive vehicles etc.

On my part I see a big rise in individual and corporate blogging.

Traditional media as you correctly put it is dead. Nation & Standard cannot continue relying on newspapers and expensive advertising rates on print media. Imagine paying about 600k for a full page ad? That's insane as statistics show that persons aged under 35 are not buying or reading newspapers offline.

I see more multinationals coming to Kenya looking for emerging markets away from Trump.

A drastic reduction in corruption.

An increase in millionaires mostly through Internet based companies and fashion.

Gradual fall of Nakumatt will continue as others enter their space and direct online product marketing/sales take root.

#7 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 9:37:14 AM

And maybe @alama is correct about illegal personal data mining and sharing not necessarily here but by our mobile providers and their services like mpesa.
I've already seen a trend where politicians are using these data to wish constituents merry Christmas & new year. Imagine how they'll exploit this during elections.

#8 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 9:42:40 AM

That's a great analysis, but it's all Internet based, what do you see offline? Self-drive vehicles etc.

On my part I see a big rise in individual and corporate blogging.

Traditional media as you correctly put it is dead. Nation & Standard cannot continue relying on newspapers and expensive advertising rates on print media. Imagine paying about 600k for a full page ad? That's insane as statistics show that persons aged under 35 are not buying or reading newspapers offline.

I see more multinationals coming to Kenya looking for emerging markets away from Trump.

A drastic reduction in corruption.

An increase in millionaires mostly through Internet based companies and fashion.

Gradual fall of Nakumatt will continue as others enter their space and direct online product marketing/sales take root.

Individual V/Blogging will surely take course. Caroline Mutoko, Grace Msalame have started doing it for several companies.

On cars, Toyota will continue to unveil Toyota Mirai - A car said to run on Hydrofuel - maji..waiting to see how that goes, the first car was sold in 2015 but toyota has been providing this fuel.

Today was particularly a good day for Tesla, their test drive car avoided a crash by sounding an alarm and stopping when the car infront crashed. the driver was recording. This happened in Netherlands the video is online.

Google has also had their self drive cars on the road for a while, the traffic regulations are being drafted tho and the debate will be long and tough after Tesla's accident earlier in the year.

Uber wants to introduce self drive cabs. I dont know how that will go down.

Some technologies have been there and will continue - Bitcoins and Blockchain technology, 3D printing.

NAkumatt had an online page, I dont know why it hasn't taken off. I see people buying from some random facebook sellers, surely many would trust Nakumatt Uchumi etc.

Posta.....this is the year they style up or perish.

***On Broadcasting and Tv***
Kenyan TV still has an audience, the only problem is the quality of content and how its delivered. Sadly this can only be changed by a new fresh team, the existing team is already too accustomed. A revival like K24s tho, the newbies brought the old habits from other stations with them...
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 9:54:31 AM

Its an election year so trends will be:

1. Increased intolerance of diverse opinions, we have already seen cops in Parliament, expect more from the ruling class/tribe.

2. More corruption: eat before you go syndrome, happens everytime.

3. Less traffic, especially if Uberpool is introduced (wonder how NTSA will handle this given their law that pool car passengers must be relatives)

4. Higher inflation as drought bites and food prices rocket. I think we may see double digit inflation given how eurobond cash will be spent for votes.

5. Weaker shilling despite CBK's myopic policy of selling dollars to keep the shilling strong. It just can't hold.

6. Higher interest rates as national budget will not be enough for 2 above. Eat more syndrome will lead to borrow more.

7. Chelsea will win the league and Arsenal fans will wait for the proverbial "next season" for the 13 year in a row.

8. The ruling party/tribe is in for the fight of their lives as millennials have little loyalty in tribal voting.

9. Oil prices may rise.

#10 Posted : Friday, January 06, 2017 6:54:08 PM

Norway has become the first country to kill FM radio signal.

Although this will take years to generate any talk in Kenya, this is a point to note. Podcasts and other digital platforms are the way to go.

The government estimates that radio stations will save more than 200 million kroner ($23.5 million) a year by ditching FM, allowing them to invest further in radio content.
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 7:35:07 PM

Amazon has gone full throttle in broadcasting, and its making it big! Who will follow this cue? Safaricom? Zuku?
chemirocha
#12 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 8:22:42 PM

Amazon has gone full throttle in broadcasting, and its making it big! Who will follow this cue? Safaricom? Zuku?

Safaricom certainly has the clout and the resources to invest in high quality broadcast content.

It would be interesting to know the if the sales figures support would such a business opportunity.
#13 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 7:31:12 PM

With the 1st half of 2017 gone, its time to do some stocktaking.

1. Brick and Mortar businesses continue to get depressed.

2. TV in Kenya is so boring it hurts. If 10over10 and theTrend are the shows to talk about then kuna shida. I heard some advertisement calling for local content for some "on-demand" service. Why are networks not owning the on demand portfolios? They have not woken up these people.

3. Cyber-threats - Need I say more? The new monster in town is Ransomware. Someone tried to get to Safaricom, NHS was cut out, Ukraine's power grid was hacked... who's next?