wazua Sat, Apr 18, 2026

Kenya Railway: State of desrepare and painful nostalgia
#1 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 11:56:42 AM

Drove along the old track line last weekend from Fort-Tenan (Fatana in local dialect) all the way to, Kipkelion (Lumbwa),Londiani, Mau Summit, Molo, Turi, Elburgon,Njoro and finally Nakuru and could not hold back my tears! Sad Sad Sad

I grew along the railway track and traveled on it a-thousand times!

Looking at the state the monumental viaducts (those loooong silver bridges) choking in rust was too sad for me.

I went to Molo railway station and I literally collapsed due to overwhelming emotions, I was a toddler there few decades ago! The stairs we used to slid on and play kati with one @Jane Njeri was choking with moss!!! Sad Sad Sad

The local were tethering goats on once lovely platform lamp posts...

The once massive EABL Malting Depot owned by Njenga Karume is a pale shadow of itself, it actually resembles a maasai cow shed! The rail tracks serving the deport are buried in thick silt and mud!

ION:Any wazuan who was bornm on the track like me in the house? Please share and let us do something to revive this golden relic!

#2 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 12:13:10 PM

@impunity I feel you, was born and raised along the railway. The neglect and disrepair along the stations is in your words heart wrenching mabati from the small worker's houses have disappeared not to mention the windows. .... wacha to.
#3 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 12:28:08 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
@impunity I feel you, was born and raised along the railway. The neglect and disrepair along the stations is in your words heart wrenching mabati from the small worker's houses have disappeared not to mention the windows. .... wacha to.

Its so sad, only those who were born away from tracks cannot feel the pain.

Kwanza the platform at Nakuru railway station is so potholed mpaka you wonder if Kenya has been at war recently!
The Nakuru railway restaurant, the once best Railway in East and Central Africa is a den of wild bats!!! The G4S guy guarding the premises was sleeping when I visited.
What used to be Upper Class waiting lounges have no windows and the American-made sofa-bed are hood to rats!
I feel like moving to that statehouse and kick Ohunye out so that I can bring back some glory to this railways of Kenia.

#4 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 2:00:54 PM

Rahatupu wrote:

Its so sad, only those who were born away from tracks cannot feel the pain.

Kwanza the platform at Nakuru railway station is so potholed mpaka you wonder if Kenya has been at war recently!
The Nakuru railway restaurant, the once best Railway in East and Central Africa is a den of wild bats!!! The G4S guy guarding the premises was sleeping when I visited.
What used to be Upper Class waiting lounges have no windows and the American-made sofa-bed are hood to rats!
I feel like moving to that statehouse and kick Ohunye out so that I can bring back some glory to this railways of Kenia.

go to the small stations Chang am we, maji ya chumvi, konza, Dagoretti, molo. ... even Mombasa a once bustling station is no more. Solution may come with the sgr.
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 11:49:55 AM

World Bank unearths massive fraud at RVR

#6 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 11:53:41 AM

@Impunity did you read this story?

https://www.1843magazine...ures/the-lunatic-express
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 12:01:42 PM

KR has in the mean time put up a huge mordern building in Westlands which they plan to rent out!!!! WHAAA....T

Everytime I read about the upcoming SGR and its plans form one...wait.. Atanas Mwangi (the current KR MD), I shudder, how long will it take us to run it to the ground.

I pray the SGR is completely delinked from KR, gava should please create a separate body to run it.
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 12:53:54 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
KR has in the mean time put up a huge mordern building in Westlands which they plan to rent out!!!! WHAAA....T

Everytime I read about the upcoming SGR and its plans form one...wait.. Atanas Mwangi (the current KR MD), I shudder, how long will it take us to run it to the ground.

I pray the SGR is completely delinked from KR, gava should please create a separate body to run it.

Changing the forest but retaining the same monkeys!
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 2:48:26 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Changing the forest but retaining the same monkeys!

I would rather the SGR die but the MGR remains...this is our history...we cant lose it.

#10 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2017 2:55:10 PM

@Impunity did you read this story?

https://www.1843magazine...res/the-lunatic-express

I read it well but with a lot of tears and pains.
It brought great past sweet memory which the dimwits at the head of Kenya Railways and the gaament in general cannot understand.

@Uhunye never boarded the passenger lunatic trains as he was a blueband kidwhile the @KaleSingha only managed to sell chicken by rail side in Turbo...he was too poor to afford a ride!

Thats the sadness!!!!!!!!!!