wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

10 Pages«<34567>»
KCSE 2016 Results
#81 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 8:56:54 AM

creativekaggs wrote:
After analyzing the results of top KCSE performers from various top schools, I discovered that ENGLISH was their worst performed subject.

Most top students got A's in other subjects and B+ in English. What's up with this?
Why can't KNEC consider the better grade of the two mandatory languages i.e. English or Kiswahili.
To increase the pool of students qualifying for STEM courses, for the purposes of grading and university admissions, only one language should be mandatory. The other can be optional, just like in the KCE exams of the old 7-6-3 system.

Very good observation.
#82 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 9:01:48 AM

KCSE GRADE SUMMARY
A 141
A- 4,645
B+ 10,975
B 17,216
B- 23,745
C+ 32,207
C 44,792
C- 61,026
D+ 80,951
D 112,135
D- 149,929
E 33,399

MAGA... Make the 'A' great again

That curve is skewed. There should have been about 1500 As for us to get a normal distribution curve. Matiangi alinyonga marks sana.

These results are very accurate. The median Kenyan is a "D". I am a little embarrassed lakini kusema ukweli the way we behave is just a reflection of our collective intelligence and as Matiangi has clearly showed us we are not very bright. Kumbe si kupenda kwetu ni ujinga huwa inatufanya tufanye zile vitu huwa tunafanya.

@alma is right, we are all idiots. So the As will vote for akina Ole Kiyiapi, Ekuru Aukot and Miguna while the Ds and D-s will vote for Baba and UK and Sonko and Bishop Wairimu. We cannot be helped!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly classic, this post needs to be pinned
#83 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 9:03:34 AM

aemathenge wrote:
These results are very accurate. The median Kenyan is a "D". I am a little embarrassed lakini kusema ukweli the way we behave is just a reflection of our collective intelligence and as Matiangi has clearly showed us we are not very bright. Kumbe si kupenda kwetu ni ujinga huwa inatufanya tufanye zile vitu huwa tunafanya.

@alma is right, we are all idiots. So the As will vote for akina Ole Kiyiapi, Ekuru Aukot and Miguna while the Ds and D-s will vote for Baba and UK and Sonko and Bishop Wairimu. We cannot be helped!!!

I hate you.

I Hate You.

I HATE YOU.

I am actually very worried.

D and below: 295,463 (51.7 % of all candidates)
D+ and above: 275,698 (48.3% of all candidates)

The lowest D+ guy is smarter than half of all the candidates and all these guys are going to get an ID each and each vote has equal weight.

@Masukuma, please advise because you are the elections expert. I think the election system we use was designed under the the assumption that we are a country of smart people. We have now come to the difficult realization that that assumption was wrong. Is there a system that would help us get competent leadership?

On a serious note, where will all those people go?

Thank God they won't be finding their way into some Medical course, (assuming MKU will not enroll them after a two weeks bridging coursePray Pray )
#84 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 10:23:07 AM

aemathenge wrote:

I hate you.

I Hate You.

I HATE YOU.

I am actually very worried.

D and below: 295,463 (51.7 % of all candidates)
D+ and above: 275,698 (48.3% of all candidates)

The lowest D+ guy is smarter than half of all the candidates and all these guys are going to get an ID each and each vote has equal weight.

@Masukuma, please advise because you are the elections expert. I think the election system we use was designed under the the assumption that we are a country of smart people. We have now come to the difficult realization that that assumption was wrong. Is there a system that would help us get competent leadership?

Who told you the system of governance (not election) was designed for 'smart people'? representation has nothing to do with people being 'smart' or otherwise! at the core of the election system is the concept of a 'voice'!.
#85 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 11:04:33 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
KCSE GRADE SUMMARY
A 141
A- 4,645
B+ 10,975
B 17,216
B- 23,745
C+ 32,207
C 44,792
C- 61,026
D+ 80,951
D 112,135
D- 149,929
E 33,399

That curve is skewed. There should have been about 1500 As for us to get a normal distribution curve. Matiangi alinyonga marks sana.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly classic, this post needs to be pinned

Wouldn't it be interesting that I decide to vote Uhuru simply because of Matiangi?

Those of us who have had the displeasure of interviewing "university" students are not shocked.

Let real data tell the truth about the state of our country.

My question now is this

Since all the ones with C+ are going to public universities, does it now mean that USIU, Strathmore, Daystar etc now have to take in the students with D+

I remember in our time that was the case. The best students to public universities, the ones who's parents just had to get a degree in their family to those funny universities being built on funny strips of roads in the city centre.

If Uhuru brings back Matiangi, I'll vote for him. This is the change we wanted. Something that you can see. And now we see.

thuks
#86 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 11:39:07 AM

How is it four yrs down the line?
Motomoto
My daughter's results:
Total score 392
Maths A
English A
Others A-
...congrats
Mine - 395. Very good result. Now if the parents
descend on the teachers with whips and other
assorted weapons, I will not be among them
I care!
#87 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 1:54:49 PM

KCSE GRADE SUMMARY
A 141
A- 4,645
B+ 10,975
B 17,216
B- 23,745
C+ 32,207
C 44,792
C- 61,026
D+ 80,951
D 112,135
D- 149,929
E 33,399

Bishop Wairimu ni nani?
#88 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 1:57:09 PM

KCSE GRADE SUMMARY
A 141
A- 4,645
B+ 10,975
B 17,216
B- 23,745
C+ 32,207
C 44,792
C- 61,026
D+ 80,951
D 112,135
D- 149,929
E 33,399

Bishop Wairimu ni nani?

Labda Teresia wa FEM
#89 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 1:59:28 PM

Has Bonnie Mwangi announced his results?
kiash
#90 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 2:47:08 PM

Shak wrote:
Where's the Kabarak principal? I remember a fat glowing article in one of the dailies attributing the success of the candidates to his 'outstanding' management of the institution. Such school heads and their boards need to be punished severely

I heard these guys have been stealing the exam for such a longtime. Imagine going to a primary school , your parents pay for you to pass, go to Kabarak High school and they pay for your KCSE and you endup in Daystar where the same parents will pay the lecturers and you end up becoming a lawyer and pay the judges to pass your judgements

That is the system in Kenya actually.

At the end of the day you think such a fellow is so brilliant d'oh! d'oh!
#91 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 3:21:56 PM

He got a D
A New Kenya
#92 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 3:24:19 PM

Mang'u39As
Alliance 25
Kenya high24
Chavakali23
Nairobi school 10
Kabarak 2As
Starehe 3As
Maranda 3As 0; 3 A-
Nyamira high 2As
Rang'ala 4
Kakamega high 1A
Murang'a 2As
Booker high 2As
Mbale 1A

Maranda high school results
A 3
A- 104
B+ 84
B 66
B- 55
C+ 30
C 18
C- 13
D+ 1
Mean grade 9.193
#93 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 3:37:24 PM

Mang'u39As
Alliance 25
Kenya high24
Chavakali23
Nairobi school 10
Kabarak 2As
Starehe 3As
Maranda 3As 0; 3 A-
Nyamira high 2As
Rang'ala 4
Kakamega high 1A
Murang'a 2As
Booker high 2As
Mbale 1A

Maranda high school results
A 3
A- 104
B+ 84
B 66
B- 55
C+ 30
C 18
C- 13
D+ 1
Mean grade 9.193

The list above is still inaccurate

#94 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 3:57:02 PM

He got a D

masomo haitakangi ujinga!!
#95 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 4:08:46 PM

He got a D

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly E in maths?? and his best was C- in CRE. Anajifanya ng'ombe akamuliwe na nani sasa?

Anyway, shouting and frothing does not require any gradessmile
#96 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 4:34:48 PM

He got a D

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly E in maths?? and his best was C- in CRE. Anajifanya ng'ombe akamuliwe na nani sasa?

Anyway, shouting and frothing does not require any gradessmile

I kinda feel sorry for BM.For him to go and seat the exams means he alot.He has realised there doors that will remain shut forever coz of lack of basic certificate.He appeared eloquent in his interviews so he is not a dunda as such......maybe he should take a 2 year sabbatical from frothing and start from 3rd form then in some 6 years to come he may become a lawyer.
#97 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 4:42:46 PM

Bonny is proof that exams are an unfair way of assessing people!

I kinda feel sorry for BM.For him to go and seat the exams means he alot.He has realised there doors that will remain shut forever coz of lack of basic certificate.He appeared eloquent in his interviews so he is not a dunda as such......maybe he should take a 2 year sabbatical from frothing and start from 3rd form then in some 6 years to come he may become a lawyer.

#98 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 5:16:41 PM

it's true.... he is not suited for 'masomo' as we know it. life is interesting in that it provides us with many channels where we can grow ourselves. his happens not to be masomo. by the way - do you know how hard it is to read when you have kids and famo and you need to generate unga?
#99 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 6:19:09 PM

it's true.... he is not suited for 'masomo' as we know it. life is interesting in that it provides us with many channels where we can grow ourselves. his happens not to be masomo. by the way - do you know how hard it is to read when you have kids and famo and you need to generate unga?

The point am trying to drive is this........Masomo is not everything but without it there are doors that remains closed forever.

I feel that is the case for Bonnie.Maybe those sponsors would like to give him a serious job in an NGO but for lack of some basic certs he is technically knocked out and remains their KYM for street demos.

Ask yourself,why did he feel the urge to do the exams?What void is he trying to fill?What opportunities has he missed coz of lack of the papers?How much better would he be if he had some papers??

creativekaggs
#100 Posted : Saturday, December 31, 2016 5:48:20 AM

Most students are either science-inclined or humanities-inclined. Very few are above average in both science and humanities.

As such all students shouldn't be forced to study two sciences and two languages. One of each should suffice.

Currently there are five subject groups.
1. English and Kiswahili
2.Mathematics
3. Two sciences
4. GEO/CRE/IRE/History
5. Arts/Technology/Home science/Agriculture/ Business/French/German/Arabic/Music etc

It should be mandatory for a student to be examined in only one subject from each group.

A sixth group should be introduced where a student chooses:-
For science-inclined, one or two extra science(s).
For humanities-inclined, extra humanities.

The best performed subject from each group and any other seventh subject should be considered for grading purposes.

I'm suggesting these as a Form two concerned parent and a former 1992-1993 Physics teacher.