wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

RMS Job Scam
#21 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 6:17:56 PM

My stand on these people still stands.Anyway let us wait for them to shortchange that land thief and they will be taken back home. I propose them to be fenced in their to avoid them interacting with good people and stealing from them. Very bad people!!!!!!!!!!!!

Electric fence ama?

#22 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 6:44:34 PM

This might be a slightly different scenario, but from experience I know of a good number of individuals, mostly from poor backgrounds who travel all the way from western sides of Kenya to come bahatisha with the EPZ (garment) factory jobs in Nairobi, and these are jobs that mostly pay minimum wage,

I would assume if someone is willing to folk out the transport and the accommodation hassle to come try that out, there might be some who would be willing to pay the 1k, especially considering that this is a known company.

there was also this company the other day I think based in kayole that was promising people ngo jobs and guys had to part with 5k and a good number of people were caught up, I think there is a very big desperation for jobs out there.

yes - there are desperate people out there. We are all in agreement on that, where I think we fall into the trap is guestimating how big/small it would be. how 'many' were the patsies that fell for the Kayole job? my assessment is that kenyans generally part with cash when they have a fair amount of certainty that the job is theirs - i could be wrong but i don't see many a poor youth parting with 1k to apply for a job online.

How many part with more than that for pyramid schemes that promise heaven? We pay pastors for prayers sembuse a job offered by a well known company?

Why should anyone pay RMS yet they are only getting a kibarua to that would profit RMS in the first place? Isnt this job supposed to get RMS business?

**Daylight robbery**

that's indeed the catch isn't it - Kenyans are ready to folk out cash if you promise them heaven. i.e. I will assist you get this job or i promise you that you will get wealth. not as a barrier of entry - do you see my point? by the way the last time i check the figures the number of Kenyans suing for their loss of cash in Pyramid schemes were like 26k.

I think RMS is weeding out people and it will work. People will not apply kwa wingi! it's a barrier of entry. you generally get less people, less time spent of time wasters. people who decide to chuck that 1000 will be serious people with a fair amount of certainty that they will hack it.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 7:01:43 PM

This might be a slightly different scenario, but from experience I know of a good number of individuals, mostly from poor backgrounds who travel all the way from western sides of Kenya to come bahatisha with the EPZ (garment) factory jobs in Nairobi, and these are jobs that mostly pay minimum wage,

I would assume if someone is willing to folk out the transport and the accommodation hassle to come try that out, there might be some who would be willing to pay the 1k, especially considering that this is a known company.

there was also this company the other day I think based in kayole that was promising people ngo jobs and guys had to part with 5k and a good number of people were caught up, I think there is a very big desperation for jobs out there.

yes - there are desperate people out there. We are all in agreement on that, where I think we fall into the trap is guestimating how big/small it would be. how 'many' were the patsies that fell for the Kayole job? my assessment is that kenyans generally part with cash when they have a fair amount of certainty that the job is theirs - i could be wrong but i don't see many a poor youth parting with 1k to apply for a job online.

How many part with more than that for pyramid schemes that promise heaven? We pay pastors for prayers sembuse a job offered by a well known company?

Why should anyone pay RMS yet they are only getting a kibarua to that would profit RMS in the first place? Isnt this job supposed to get RMS business?

**Daylight robbery**

that's indeed the catch isn't it - Kenyans are ready to folk out cash if you promise them heaven. i.e. I will assist you get this job or i promise you that you will get wealth. not as a barrier of entry - do you see my point? by the way the last time i check the figures the number of Kenyans suing for their loss of cash in Pyramid schemes were like 26k.

I think RMS is weeding out people and it will work. People will not apply kwa wingi! it's a barrier of entry. you generally get less people, less time spent of time wasters. people who decide to chuck that 1000 will be serious people with a fair amount of certainty that they will hack it.

If that is the reasoning, it is more skewed to advantage RMS in that, they will have gained by collecting poor desperate people's monies - those who are thinking like you and are willing to give it a shot - but in the same time disadvantage them in acquiring real smart talent that will be put off by this gimmick, real talent that can sell, not just people looking for a job. I think you more than anyone else knows selling is no mean feat.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 8:08:09 PM

If rms think they are doing the right thing, why are they not mentioning that 1k in their advert. Isn't this giving con artists who charge job seekers a fee more justification for their ill schemes? Theives, majabazi

I'm really surprised that our most reasonable 'facts' man can't see this
#25 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 8:40:15 PM

Masukuma should be banned

but when you have such a useless owner of wazua, unakubali tu

Like seriously masukuma and wazua muganda want to give a straight con job like this one, mafuta...

Masukuma, you should be ashamed of yourself.

Muganda you are ok with yourself. Since wazua is now the place to tell people other's phone numbers. If only the users knew. Bure kabisa!!!!

Mike Ock
#26 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 8:52:01 PM

Jokers can be easily weeded out using a good application form software. Almost every single job seeker in Kenya applies for a job at the U.N. They must get hundreds of thousands of applications every month, and they could make billions if they charged that 1k, but sio wakora, they weed out people using software filters on their application forms.

Also, think about the heavy handedness of that advertising campaign. All RMS stations are playing it every five minutes. They have never been so aggressive in looking for applicants before. There is clearly a profit motive with this scheme. Shame on them.
githundi
#27 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 8:55:54 PM

Calling this a job scam is a bit misleading.
Rms just want some sales staff to assist in reaching out to politicians in every county for adverts in the run up to elections in the month of August.
The are rumours they will be paid a retainer of 10k plus uknown commission per month. I think they want to use the 1 k registration fee to cover recruitment costs. The morality about it,I am not sure. Surely RMS are not in this for charity.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#28 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 8:58:30 PM

githundi wrote:
Calling this a job scam is a bit misleading.
Rms just want some sales staff to assist in reaching out to politicians in every county for adverts in the run up to elections in the month of August.
The are rumours they will be paid a retainer of 10k plus uknown commission per month. I think they want to use the 1 k registration fee to cover recruitment costs. The morality about it,I am not sure. Surely RMS are not in this for charity.

Sales staff to reach out to politicians? What do you eat for breakfast?
#29 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 9:16:13 PM

who said it would 'at least attract 100k' people to pay 1000? the whole math after words is premised on that 100k people dishing out 1000 - sio? someone pulled a random number out of his a..... let me make this child friendly sorry - someone pulled a random number OFF THE TOP OF HIS HEAD and then went on to make calculations off it and draw conclusions from it. the only facts that are out there are
1) RMS is looking for 60 sales people
2) if you are interested lipa 1000 to weed out time wasters
the 100k is a product of a fertile imagination

Precisely. I thought that 100k figure was quite a stretch.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 9:20:25 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
who said it would 'at least attract 100k' people to pay 1000? the whole math after words is premised on that 100k people dishing out 1000 - sio? someone pulled a random number out of his a..... let me make this child friendly sorry - someone pulled a random number OFF THE TOP OF HIS HEAD and then went on to make calculations off it and draw conclusions from it. the only facts that are out there are

You are missing the point by a mile, the lady was giving a scenario. If the judiciaries jobs attracted 80K - am assuming these are certified lawyers, sembuse sales people?
#31 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 9:44:00 PM

Problem of Kenyans is that they only see money being collected.

No one looks at the costs side.

RMS will probably need to hire HR personnel to go through the applications and come up with long lists and shortlists, traverse the counties conducting interviews, perform induction for the new sales people.

If I was in the same position, I would also charge an admin fee.

#32 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 9:46:41 PM

RMS will probably need to hire HR personnel to go through the applications and come up with long lists and shortlists, traverse the counties conducting interviews, perform induction for the new sales people. Even Mwakazi is being paid for the voice over.

#33 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 9:50:19 PM

Wirring seller wirring buyer, it is an open market. Capitalists market!!!!
sitaki.kujulikana
#34 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 9:50:54 PM

RMS will probably need to hire HR personnel to go through the applications and come up with long lists and shortlists, traverse the counties conducting interviews, perform induction for the new sales people.

I thought that's the cost of doing business, they are not even receiving manual applications, they can receive as many and just randomly select the number they need, if they must charge then they should refund after the exercise, otherwise it will be no different than those SMS ushinde things they do.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 9:58:43 PM

Lets take your scenario. RMS will hire an HR personnel.

Of who's benefit is this exercise for?

The sales person is going to be hired by RMS to bring business right?

So why should I pay to get that job that will in the end benefit my employer?

We are so used to being conned and played such that we dont know and care for what is right anymore. Burekabisa
#36 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 11:08:49 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

You are missing the point by a mile, the lady was giving a scenario. If the judiciaries jobs attracted 80K - am assuming these are certified lawyers, sembuse sales people?

no the judiciary does not hire 'lawyers'. it hires everyone, ICT Officers , Audio-Visual Technicians, Process Servers, Court Bailiffs, Clerical Officers, Court Interpreters, Archives Assistants, Archivist, Secretarial Assistants, Secretaries, Court Clerks, Drivers, Administrative Assistants e.t.c.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 11:17:15 PM

Masukuma should be banned

but when you have such a useless owner of wazua, unakubali tu

Like seriously masukuma and wazua muganda want to give a straight con job like this one, mafuta...

Masukuma, you should be ashamed of yourself.

Muganda you are ok with yourself. Since wazua is now the place to tell people other's phone numbers. If only the users knew. Bure kabisa!!!!

I want whatever @alma is drinking/smoking Laughing out loudly
Taurrus
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2016 11:28:04 PM

They are NOT Charging any CASH! they are using a cheap software without customizing!
#39 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 5:58:05 AM

Sukumawiki should just remember what he told us about election periods and funny ways of raising cash

This could be one such method. Remember Skay allegedly got burnt in 2013. Risasi imebaki moya...

I could be wrong....
Muheani
#40 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 7:11:40 AM

Lets take your scenario. RMS will hire an HR personnel.

Of who's benefit is this exercise for?

The sales person is going to be hired by RMS to bring business right?

So why should I pay to get that job that will in the end benefit my employer?

We are so used to being conned and played such that we dont know and care for what is right anymore. Burekabisa

Mpesa recently advertised for customer care jobs. Applications were done online and I understand Dellloite was hired to do the long and short lists. The applicants were not charged a cent.
RMS has no justification to charge.