wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

Radio
#1 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2016 7:46:58 PM

Do people still listen to radios even in the car? Forget the forced radio of Maina and Kingangi and ghetto in the matatus...
I know some of our parents will listen to vernacular stations but who listens to Capital, Kiss, Classic etc?
I went to one of the these stations to enquire about placing an advert, I was shocked at the high price and wondered if it was value for money. Can't remember the last time I saw someone listening to radio...

its2013
#2 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2016 8:20:56 PM

Do people still listen to radios even in the car? Forget the forced radio of Maina and Kingangi and ghetto in the matatus...
I know some of our parents will listen to vernacular stations but who listens to Capital, Kiss, Classic etc?
I went to one of the these stations to enquire about placing an advert, I was shocked at the high price and wondered if it was value for money. Can't remember the last time I saw someone listening to radio...

No one I know listens to local radio in their cars. Personally, when I'm not listening to my playlists, I tune in to BBC
Pretty hurts
#3 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2016 8:36:14 PM

its2013 wrote:

No one I know listens to local radio in their cars. Personally, when I'm not listening to my playlists, I tune in to BBC

Yes. People do. Radio has a bigger reach than TV

Ask yourself why Maina was quitting then he relented

You can't listen to music full day
You will want those morning fellows to cheer you up while listening to sports and local news updates, jam updates, ads...
kayhara
#4 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2016 8:45:05 PM

In Nairobi and Mombasa guys rarely listen to radio but mashinani radio is king I can tell you this Classic is popular in Nairobi, Capital among a few middle class, radio citizen is national radio, Milele fm and Radio maisha very popular in coast and western, and venacular stations rule in their ushagos, in many shopping centers you will find radio on blast, bodaboda, ocha matatus don't do dj mixes they play radio, my mum even has a battery powerd ka-radio so that she can move with it in the kitchen, bedroom, under the shade etc
To Each His Own
#5 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 12:55:03 AM

Inooro Fm.Ask any kiuk.

And the guys are good not just entertainment but education too.

Mugambo wa Murimi!
#6 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 1:11:39 AM

I listen to Waumini 90pc of the time, especially in the morning. I switch to Classic on Satos afternoon for that Radull's sports show. When I just want music bila other issues, though rarely, Nation FM is still there, playing music full time.

By the way, you will be more surprised by the quotes they are giving for Online channels. It's much higher these days though the reach is wider and faster for the young target groups...
#7 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 7:18:38 AM

I listen to Waumini 90pc of the time, especially in the morning. I switch to Classic on Satos afternoon for that Radull's sports show. When I just want music bila other issues, though rarely, Nation FM is still there, playing music full time.

By the way, you will be more surprised by the quotes they are giving for Online channels. It's much higher these days though the reach is wider and faster for the young target groups...

i used to have those max 90mhz radios and i got tp listen to waaumini quite a bit. i got better radios on the ones i got fater it was thugged and these days i listen to One FM... ama ni X fm? (wako na afrobeats poa). but I generally don't do active radio but rather passively listening. i touch the dial only nikienda out of town until i stumble on something palatable. i will never listen to radio outside the car - hapo ndio mixes zinafanya kazi.
Wakanyugi
#8 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 11:02:23 AM

Recently I discovered an online web page that allows you to listen to FM radio from all over the world.

LINK

You can thank me later
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#9 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 11:38:07 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Recently I discovered an online web page that allows you to listen to FM radio from all over the world.

LINK

You can thank me later

WooooooW!. Awesome!Applause Applause Applause .THAAAAAAANKS!!
Atalaku
#10 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 11:56:00 AM

VOA got better music than the crappie played in our local radio stations. KBC is still better than many local stations and once in a while I tune in...both stations
#11 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 3:38:21 PM

Atalaku wrote:
VOA got better music than the crappie played in our local radio stations. KBC is still better than many local stations and once in a while I tune in...both stations

Sundowner on KBC, now starts from 5pm...this will last a long time.
Radio Jambo is 90% full discussing relationship and mushene...they claim to be expert in marriages and sex.

#12 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 5:32:50 PM

Still wondering though...why were you going to radio to advertise if you think nobody is listening?
#13 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 5:41:16 PM

Still wondering though...why were you going to radio to advertise if you think nobody is listening?

I was doing a campaign and with radio you can explain a bit more than a billboard or print or online. Radio and TV are the best but it's now a nightmare since you cannot be sure what your target are watching unlike before when you could hit NTV, KTN, Citizen & radio; Kiss, Classic & Capital and you were assured of 80% reach of the middle class.

#14 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2016 5:43:42 PM

I was doing a campaign and with radio you can explain a bit more than a billboard or print or online. Radio and TV are the best but it's now a nightmare since you cannot be sure what your target are anymore after the digital evolution in Kenya, unlike before when you could hit NTV, KTN, Citizen & radio; Kiss, Classic & Capital and you were assured of 80% reach of the middle class.