Karai(Naivasha) Accident
#101 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 3:39:30 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

We understand that you need to race your blue subarus on that road to enjoy the power of your machines lakini safety of the villagers comes first.

We are talking about a road network that serves not only Kenya but the rest of East Africa.

It is the height of hypocrisy to ignore the safety of other road users. We are not trying to imitate rally drivers.

There are hundreds of bumps on that 950km road from mombasa to malaba. Why focus on only one bump? Why not those at mtito andei, salama, mlolongo, salgaa, timboroa, cheptiret, jua kali, kipkarren etc etc?

I don't know why this bump issue is still alive, its clear that accident was caused by either a defective vehicle or a crazy driver, and compounded by some drivers who lack common courtesy on the road, actually I am with the resident who want more bumps put up on that stretch, how many minutes will a driver lose even after more bumps are erected 10/15 minutes.

@sitaki_ujinga, the more the bumps, the less average speed for the journey...

.....and the more safer for the motorists and pedestrians.
#102 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 3:43:16 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
the thing about kila kitu in kenya is that tuko na experts wengi on all matters. i think it's easy to be a critic! very easy! kuwa doer ni noma. Kila mtu ni expert wa kazi ya watu wengine and kwanza they are not even the best in their jobs. I stopped listening to people talk about 'what happened'. there was a certain security expert who was always giving advice to the police... akapatiwa job huko akanyamaza!

I don't think its bad to have opinions and to be an expert, even huko world of scientists they have theoretical scientists and practical ones, and in most cases you can not switch them, but its from the theories that the practical guys get their directions, so I think the experts play a vital role.
if you assemble a group of architects and engineers and have them do battle against the fundis and the watu wa mkono in say laying a slab or putting up a masonry wall the latter will most likely do a better job.

ni domo domo mob!! anyway - wakuongea wacha waongee... but they are not even great at what they do kwao. maAcademics!! Textbook knowledge... but the truth is wrapped up using this quote!

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.

Kuongea ni free... somethings are easy to articulate but not do and only the man who has been in the field can know this.

Criticism is good and helps improve results. I don't need to know how something is done to criticize, I can critique by observing how someone is doing something to point out their shortcomings

I agree that criticism is productive when applied with tact! however, it becomes easy for people to listen to critics who are outsiders more and take them as authorities on the subject matter and not understand the setup the 'man in the arena' is working in. let's face it - criticism is easy!! very very easy! you just need to have a modicum of intelligence to criticise. Plus the biggest issue i have with critics is that they are not 'that good' at what they do in the 1st place.... kazi ya wengine ni rahisi! Remember when Asbel lost the race - all manner of couch potatoes with one packs were 'advising him'... how he should have done it! just because you know 'HOW TO DO IT' does not mean that 'YOU CAN DO IT' even when the task is a simple as running (placing one leg before the other at high speed). Understanding how to do something is like 5% of the total task and that is where we lose the value of the 95%.

Let us not forget that you also gave your expert opinion and critic without getting your facts right about the road and like the chorus was, blaming the bump

Masukush #40 Posted : Monday, December 12, 2016 wrote:

there are better ways to handle this - rumble bumps to warn the drivers that a huge bump in coming. Flyovers - but they aint cheap! flyovers with blocked roads katikati. As seen you just change the type of casualties by just putting a huge bump in the middle of the road.

That was post #40 on this thread, but the point is, dont try to gag others yet no one gagged you. People should give their opinion expert or not.
sitaki.kujulikana
#103 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 3:52:08 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

We understand that you need to race your blue subarus on that road to enjoy the power of your machines lakini safety of the villagers comes first.

We are talking about a road network that serves not only Kenya but the rest of East Africa.

It is the height of hypocrisy to ignore the safety of other road users. We are not trying to imitate rally drivers.

There are hundreds of bumps on that 950km road from mombasa to malaba. Why focus on only one bump? Why not those at mtito andei, salama, mlolongo, salgaa, timboroa, cheptiret, jua kali, kipkarren etc etc?

I don't know why this bump issue is still alive, its clear that accident was caused by either a defective vehicle or a crazy driver, and compounded by some drivers who lack common courtesy on the road, actually I am with the resident who want more bumps put up on that stretch, how many minutes will a driver lose even after more bumps are erected 10/15 minutes.

@alpha_blonde smile cumulatively you lose an hour or so and a pedestrian gains several years
Iganamagana
#104 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 3:56:32 PM

chemirocha wrote:

@Hardwood. No one is focusing on one bump though this is one bump that needs to go fast. The long term solution should remove bumps from our highways. Bumps belong to class D (not all class D since some are bypasses)and other village roads! Imagine if tunnels could have been factored in some places like Survey,Witeithie, Njomoko, Clayworks, fig-tree and Ruiru on Thika road? The extra cost would have been minimal and maintenance cost almost nil.
#105 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 3:57:14 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

@alpha_blonde smile cumulatively you lose an hour or so and a pedestrian gains several years

You could have used 😅😅..'Iyo napenda'... which is the new phrase after 'sipendangi ujinga'... sasa hiyo umeandika ni nini
#106 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:07:19 PM

Did I hear that right?

Classic 105 FM, in one of its news briefings, has it that for those who wish to submit DNA in order to identify bodies of those burnt beyond recognition, fathers' DNA is NOT acceptable.

DNA must come from mother or sibling, but not the father.

What would be the rationale behind such a requirement?
#107 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:14:45 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

@Hardwood. No one is focusing on one bump though this is one bump that needs to go fast. The long term solution should remove bumps from our highways. Bumps belong to class D (not all class D since some are bypasses)and other village roads! Imagine if tunnels could have been factored in some places like Survey,Witeithie, Njomoko, Clayworks, fig-tree and Ruiru on Thika road? The extra cost would have been minimal and maintenance cost almost nil.

Then let us use FIFO (first in first out) approach so that we replace all the other 200 bumps on the class A road from mombasa to malaba and then finally deal with that naivasha one that is more recent.

And FYI tunnels have a tendency to become a habitat for thugs or being turned into toilets and dumping grounds, or could become flooded. Flyovers are better and the ministry has promised to put up flyovers in all those areas you mentioned.

http://www.the-star.co.k...moved-at-sh300_c1317130

#108 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:19:01 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

Classic 105 FM, in one of its news briefings, has it that for those who wish to submit DNA in order to identify bodies of those burnt beyond recognition, fathers' DNA is NOT acceptable.

Men behave badly. More than four unrelated bodies may have been sired by one ndume
Iganamagana
#109 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:28:58 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

Men behave badly. More than four unrelated bodies may have been sired by one ndume

They do not want to open several pandora's boxes.
#110 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:29:03 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

Women cheat you that you are the father, Gava doesnt want you to get the shock of your life while grieving Sad Sad Sad
Iganamagana
#111 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:32:57 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

Then let us use FIFO (first in first out) approach so that we replace all the other 200 bumps on the class A road from mombasa to malaba and then finally deal with that naivasha one that is more recent.

And FYI tunnels have a tendency to become a habitat for thugs or being turned into toilets and dumping grounds, or could become flooded. Flyovers are better and the ministry has promised to put up flyovers in all those areas you mentioned.

http://www.the-star.co.k...moved-at-sh300_c1317130

Now you are talking. Tunnels can also be designed to ensure enough natural lighting plus visibility and little artificial lighting at night to ensure security. We could do a combination of both tunnels and footbridges considering security and cost factors.
#112 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:34:28 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

Women cheat you that you are the father, Gava doesnt want you to get the shock of your life while grieving Sad Sad Sad

One can never be sure who the father is but one can be certain who the mother or sibling is. Collecting DNA from fathers would lead to many inconclusive cases.
#113 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:42:57 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

They may never identify anyone
#114 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:46:00 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

They may never identify anyone

Only the mother knows who the father of the kid is. Ok some mothers don't even know who the father is since their airports are quite busy.... it's that complicated. So the only helpful DNA can only come from the mother and siblings (unless baby was switched at birth).
#115 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:46:47 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

One can never be sure who the father is but one can be certain who the mother or sibling is. Collecting DNA from fathers would lead to many inconclusive cases.

I bet to differ.

You speak of a perfect world but you and I know Kenia (Inchi Ya Majambazi, Inchi Ya Kitu Kidogo) is not perfect.

Unjambazi and Kitu Kidogo extends to our public hospitals in general and maternity wards in particular.

Numerous cases of child replacement, exchange and outright theft have been reported on our (hogwash) media.

On these grounds alone, I reject the rationale of accepting mother/siblings and disregarding father DNA.

Do you feel me?
#116 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:49:36 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

I bet to differ.

You speak of a perfect world but you and I know Kenia (Inchi Ya Majambazi, Inchi Ya Kitu Kidogo) is not perfect.

Unjambazi and Kitu Kidogo extends to our public hospitals in general and maternity wards in particular.

Numerous cases of child replacement, exchange and outright theft have been reported on our (hogwash) media.

On these grounds alone, I reject the rationale of accepting mother/siblings and disregarding father DNA.

Do you feel me?

I have edited my post above #114 and put a caveat.
#117 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 4:50:44 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Did I hear that right?

Mbona unajibu unatafuta swali?
#118 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 5:20:16 PM

Mbona unajibu unatafuta swali?

Frustrations my man, frustrations.

We have given certain institutions the mandate to carry out certain initiatives and when they do so, we do not want the results.

IEBC, NEMA, KEMRI, EACC, NTSA, Land Commission, a whole alphabet of them.

Someone at NTSA saw it fit to put up those bumps. Now we want them gone. Someone saw it fit to put those footbridges, now we want tunnels.

I live on the Meru-Kirinyaga-Makutano Road.

Khat (miraa) couriers cruise this roads at speeds I did not know ProBoxes could cruise at.

Instead of asking law enforcement officers and Silkal to enforce speeding rules, residents are demanding that speed bumps come up every one hundred meters.

Yet these same residents see no evil in drying grass and rice stalk right on the road.

The dried stuff is then made into bales, right on the road and then sold to highway users right there on the road.

Frustrations my man, frustrations.