Culture
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
As Kidero is wondering where the four years have gone to, it was shangwe na vigelele as sanity was finally brought to Dar - The largest city in East and Central Africa in terms of population and surface area LINKDumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
In Kenya we know it is "Hapa domo tu" as political expediency strangles the nation....Now they are saying that some buildings earmarked for demolition in Huruma can be salvaged Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
hii ikipatikana na magufuli, wacha tu I care!
New authority to tackle jams awaits presidential nod http://www.businessdaily...477516-tio3r0/index.htmlIn the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Wastefull venture, this should be a section within the department of transport. You dont need a whole Authority complete with executives to do this. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Wastefull venture, this should be a section within the department of transport. You dont need a whole Authority complete with executives to do this. one thing you have to give to the jubilant guys is that they know how to find the nyama choma eating joints, its like that ka resourceful guy who we all turn to when planning a bash or looking for a place to meet. look at the ntsa guys with their shinny green cars, and compare that to the traffic cops of whom the lucky ones are given haojin toys, and the others have to tafuta lifts to their various traffic points.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:Wastefull venture, this should be a section within the department of transport. You dont need a whole Authority complete with executives to do this. one thing you have to give to the jubilant guys is that they know how to find the nyama choma eating joints, its like that ka resourceful guy who we all turn to when planning a bash or looking for a place to meet. look at the ntsa guys with their shinny green cars, and compare that to the traffic cops of whom the lucky ones are given haojin toys, and the others have to tafuta lifts to their various traffic points. And these haojin guys dont even have loos! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
[quote=Angelica _ann]New authority to tackle jams awaits presidential nod http://www.businessdaily...77516-tio3r0/index.html[/quote] This will be followed by a commission to investigate why the authority to tackle jams has jammed Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Fyatu wrote: As Kidero is wondering where the four years have gone to, it was shangwe na vigelele as sanity was finally brought to Dar - The largest city in East and Central Africa in terms of population and surface area LINK Ati Kidero wondering??? Tell him to ask his pocket, he'll find all the 4 years stashed in there in cash. BBI will solve it :)
Leo ni Kuthuku (bad)...haiii
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
Muheani wrote:Leo ni Kuthuku (bad)...haiii 5000 vehicles headed to Macha and some are Wandi'ngas so stalling after every 5 KMs.Poleni lakini. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Bigchick wrote:Muheani wrote:Leo ni Kuthuku (bad)...haiii 5000 vehicles headed to Macha and some are Wandi'ngas so stalling after every 5 KMs.Poleni lakini. I was in that traffic coming to Nairofi, wee that was a bit much. They should consider upgrading m-rd soonest. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Stuck on Msa Road near gateway mall last 2 hrs!!
That weekend was the mother of all. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,547 Location: nairobi
kaka2za wrote:This will be followed by a commission to investigate why the authority to tackle jams has jammed Lol HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
murchr wrote:Bigchick wrote:Muheani wrote:Leo ni Kuthuku (bad)...haiii 5000 vehicles headed to Macha and some are Wandi'ngas so stalling after every 5 KMs.Poleni lakini. I was in that traffic coming to Nairofi, wee that was a bit much. They should consider upgrading m-rd soonest. Mombasa road all the way to Mombasa city should be the size of Thika road. It connects our two biggests cities for heaven's sake. Anyway, vision 2060 Lord, thank you!
Euge wrote:murchr wrote:Bigchick wrote:Muheani wrote:Leo ni Kuthuku (bad)...haiii 5000 vehicles headed to Macha and some are Wandi'ngas so stalling after every 5 KMs.Poleni lakini. I was in that traffic coming to Nairofi, wee that was a bit much. They should consider upgrading m-rd soonest. Mombasa road all the way to Mombasa city should be the size of Thika road. It connects our two biggests cities for heaven's sake. Anyway, vision 2060 Mombasa is not in Central, hence not important. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:Euge wrote:murchr wrote:Bigchick wrote:Muheani wrote:Leo ni Kuthuku (bad)...haiii 5000 vehicles headed to Macha and some are Wandi'ngas so stalling after every 5 KMs.Poleni lakini. I was in that traffic coming to Nairofi, wee that was a bit much. They should consider upgrading m-rd soonest. Mombasa road all the way to Mombasa city should be the size of Thika road. It connects our two biggests cities for heaven's sake. Anyway, vision 2060 Mombasa is not in Central, hence not important. In July 2009, the cabinet approved the expansion of Msa road. Tendering took place and The world bank offered funding in 2011 on conditions Business Daily wrote:Thursday February 3, 2011.
The World Bank has issued a conditional offer to finance the construction of a multi-billion shilling pay-for-use road to ease traffic jams around Nairobi.
Country representative Johannes Zutt, said the institution would only finance the project once the selected contractor-Strabag International complied with its social and environmental safeguards including land acquisition and legal provisions in Kenya.
“If the government of Kenya so desires, the World Bank Group would be prepared to finance a concession undertaken by Strabag, on the condition that Strabag agrees to expand its integrity compliance procedures and training programmes to cover the company more completely,” he said in a statement on Wednesday without expounding.
The project dubbed Nairobi Toll Road (NTR) would entail paving of the 77-kilometre road between the Athi River Junction on Mombasa Road and Kikuyu on Naivasha Highway.
Though the project was to be started two years ago the ground breaking is yet to come to fruition after the World Bank raised several objections over Strabag’s involvement.
Then the project collapsed https://www.nation.co.ke.../-/s7ylo2z/-/index.html
The roads minister started looking for alternative financiers. China was already committing to Thika road so they were not an option. In Sep the world bank came back Quote:“As for the concession of the flyover which collapsed; we are back at it again. The World Bank has granted us money for the preparation of that project. We are working on it and we expect to go to the World Bank Board maybe in March next year to get the funds. So the preparation is now on full blast, March 2012 Nothing happened. May 2012 Quote:Top Ministry of Finance and Roads officials are in Washington DC to negotiate with the World Bank for the revival of the collapsed Nairobi-Urban Toll Road, this time as a Sh34billion public-funded project. The issue is being pursued as a matter of urgency because as Thika Road nears completion, the amount of traffic that is expected to pour into Uhuru Highway could cripple traffic movement.
Finance Minister Njeru Githae said yesterday that officials including Treasury permanent secretary Joseph Kinyua, Roads PS Michael Kamau, Kenya National Highway Authority officials and other technical teams from the ministries are negotiating with World Bank technical teams for funding to the tune of US$300million (Sh25billion) for the project. “We have a full team from Treasury and the Ministry of Roads there,” Githae said. “The good news is that the technical team of the World Bank has actually approved, subject to the approval of the World Bank board, US$300m. We are required as government to contribute about $100m (Sh8.3bn).”
Tender was floated - Dec 2012 https://www.businessdail...0/-/lxe7k2/-/index.html
2013 hadithi continued while the Chinese were finalizing their project (A2) Anyway, when you hear the WB is financing a project, just dont hold your hopes high "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Culture
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!