Karai(Naivasha) Accident
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
masukuma wrote:there are better ways to handle this - rumble bumps to warn the drivers that a huge bump in coming. Flyovers - but they aint cheap! flyovers with blocked roads katikati. As seen you just change the type of casualties by just putting a huge bump in the middle of the road. The bump is NOT to blame. The accident was caused by careless driving. Those bumps (and rumble strips, signs) have been there for about 1 yr and that is the first accident. Stretches without bumps have had more accidents within that period. 
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Yaani UK has laid the blame squarely on the bumps.. he he he... BBI will solve it :)
hardwood wrote:Quote:Between 2000 and 2016, more than 200 pedestrians have died between Naivasha and Kinungi towns along the busy highway. The majority of those killed on that section of the road have been school children mainly from Kinungi trading centre crossing the road to and from school. Following numerous accidents, area residents held demonstrations and urged the Government to erect speed bumps on the highway. Their demands were met last year when the bumps were erected in Kinungu, Raini and Kayole centres, which saw the number of fatal accidents drop drastically. If it's a busy area with school kids and all, you weka a bridge not bumps!! i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
2012 wrote:Yaani UK has laid the blame squarely on the bumps.. he he he... Tortoise juu ya ukuta! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
2012 wrote:Yaani UK has laid the blame squarely on the bumps.. he he he... What is funny? Yes it part of the problem among others. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
harrydre wrote:hardwood wrote:Quote:Between 2000 and 2016, more than 200 pedestrians have died between Naivasha and Kinungi towns along the busy highway. The majority of those killed on that section of the road have been school children mainly from Kinungi trading centre crossing the road to and from school. Following numerous accidents, area residents held demonstrations and urged the Government to erect speed bumps on the highway. Their demands were met last year when the bumps were erected in Kinungu, Raini and Kayole centres, which saw the number of fatal accidents drop drastically. If it's a busy area with school kids and all, you weka a bridge not bumps!! Use your brain sometimes. Do you know that the only roads in Kenya with pedestrian foot bridges are thika rd, mombasa rd, university way and valley road? And that all the towns, trading centres and villages have bumps? And that between mombasa and malaba there are about 200 bumps. If bumps are working in the whole country, in hundreds of towns, trading centres and villages, and even on thika superhighway ensuring that man and beast can cross the roads safely why not at karai?
Bigchick wrote:2012 wrote:Yaani UK has laid the blame squarely on the bumps.. he he he... What is funny? Yes it part of the problem among others. About 10,000 vehicles use that road each day and go over that bump without any incident. Those are about 3m vehicles since those bumps were erected early this year. How is the bump to blame when its only 1 out of 3,000,000 vehicles which has had an issue with those bumps? They should be investigating the mechanical soundness of the canter to establish why it didn't slow down at the "well marked" bump like all the other vehicles in the vicinity did. For 14 cars on a highway to be ignited it means they were close together and must have slowed down at the bump before they were engulfed by what survivors call a river of fire from the inflamable cargo. In fact survivors say the motorists ahead were reversing and pushing the cars behind in a bid to escape from the oncoming river of fire.
hardwood wrote:Bigchick wrote:2012 wrote:Yaani UK has laid the blame squarely on the bumps.. he he he... What is funny? Yes it part of the problem among others. About 10,000 vehicles use that road each day and go over that bump without any incident. Those are about 3m vehicles since those bumps were erected early this year. How is the bump to blame when its only 1 out of 3,000,000 vehicles which has had an issue with those bumps? They should be investigating the mechanical soundness of the canter to establish why it didn't slow down at the "well marked" bump like all the other vehicles in the vicinity did. For 14 cars on a highway to be ignited it means they were close together and must have slowed down at the bump before they were engulfed by what survivors call a river of fire from the inflamable cargo. In fact survivors say the motorists ahead were reversing and pushing the cars behind in a bid to escape from the oncoming river of fire. Exactly, we Kenyans like passing the blame to someone else all the time, mara bump, si KENHA si NTSA si Jubilee. In short, this supposedly new to the road driver (an assumption because we still don't know who he was) was not keen to observe road signs ( a road sign has been shown on the apparently very flat road not the down hill story that was first being circulated and very well done bump) and notice the break lights of the cars ahead of him. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
2012 wrote:Yaani UK has laid the blame squarely on the bumps.. he he he... I use that rd when going ushago and this yr I have gone thrice meaning I have driven over those bumps 6 times and never noticed anything odd about the bumps since they are like all other bumps including those on thika rd.....ie bump sign, rumble strips then white marked bumps.
Used that road again today to and fro Can't be just an issue of the bumps..they're not immediately after the corner. There's enough space allowing drivers to see the bumps Coming down there are rumble strips. 3 sets In addition, this section is after the Kinungi section. (Heading towards Nvs). There are bumps there too Possible brakes failure?/Driver error? He was 25.
Lolest! wrote:Used that road again to and fro
Can't be just an issue of the bumps..they're not immediately after the corner. There's enough space allowing drivers to see the bumps
Coming down there are rumble strips. 3 sets
In addition, this section is after the Kinungi section. (Heading towards Nvs). There are bumps there too
Possible brakes failure?/Driver error? He was 25. This is what I've been saying all along. That it must be a case of brake failure or careless driving. Not bumps. The bumps are smooth and well marked.
murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Bigchick wrote:2012 wrote:Yaani UK has laid the blame squarely on the bumps.. he he he... What is funny? Yes it part of the problem among others. About 10,000 vehicles use that road each day and go over that bump without any incident. Those are about 3m vehicles since those bumps were erected early this year. How is the bump to blame when its only 1 out of 3,000,000 vehicles which has had an issue with those bumps? They should be investigating the mechanical soundness of the canter to establish why it didn't slow down at the "well marked" bump like all the other vehicles in the vicinity did. For 14 cars on a highway to be ignited it means they were close together and must have slowed down at the bump before they were engulfed by what survivors call a river of fire from the inflamable cargo. In fact survivors say the motorists ahead were reversing and pushing the cars behind in a bid to escape from the oncoming river of fire. Exactly, we Kenyans like passing the blame to someone else all the time, mara bump, si KENHA si NTSA si Jubilee. In short, this supposedly new to the road driver (an assumption because we still don't know who he was) was not keen to observe road signs ( a road sign has been shown on the apparently very flat road not the down hill story that was first being circulated and very well done bump) and notice the break lights of the cars ahead of him. A driver who doesn't notice road signs or brake lights of the vehicles ahead of him, and goes over 3 sets of rumble strips and the bump without slowing has no business being on the road. He must have been asleep or the brakes failed.
The first car that was hit by the out-of-control canter was a Toyota Avensis KBR on the other side of the road heading to Nairobi which had 5 people of which 2 survived, but it wasn't burnt. They were coming from "uthoni" at subukia. Then the canter hit other oncoming vehicles and spilled deadly cargo that exploded and burnt many. #Sad #RIP
We are a stupid lot, yaani hata after that guys are still overlapping and blocking others hapo. Reckless driving at the same spot even after what happened just the other day. Hata kama, ujinga ingine haieleweki, even if the president is angry I mean he can't get his cops to deal with this menace, hizi ni ujinga Sasa.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:We are a stupid lot, yaani hata after that guys are still overlapping and blocking others hapo. Reckless driving at the same spot even after what happened just the other day. Hata kama, ujinga ingine haieleweki, even if the president is angry I mean he can't get his cops to deal with this menace, hizi ni ujinga Sasa. I agree with you. We've brainless drivers on our road. I was in Naivasha yesterday and I noticed reckless driving at the accident spot. Maybe humans are built to self destruct and we've never known.
radio wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:We are a stupid lot, yaani hata after that guys are still overlapping and blocking others hapo. Reckless driving at the same spot even after what happened just the other day. Hata kama, ujinga ingine haieleweki, even if the president is angry I mean he can't get his cops to deal with this menace, hizi ni ujinga Sasa. I agree with you. We've brainless drivers on our road. I was in Naivasha yesterday and I noticed reckless driving at the accident spot. Maybe humans are built to self destruct and we've never known. I saw a handful forensic experts collecting evidence with adequate and appropriate gear, next to them a group of 'experts' kondoo Kenyans with zero protection analyzing the situation. i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
radio wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:We are a stupid lot, yaani hata after that guys are still overlapping and blocking others hapo. Reckless driving at the same spot even after what happened just the other day. Hata kama, ujinga ingine haieleweki, even if the president is angry I mean he can't get his cops to deal with this menace, hizi ni ujinga Sasa. I agree with you. We've brainless drivers on our road. I was in Naivasha yesterday and I noticed reckless driving at the accident spot. Maybe humans are built to self destruct and we've never known. Or the road and connection of roads leading to the spot- and other spots- induce a certain psychology that appears to be reckless. We shouldn't dismiss such coincidences too lightly. Maybe urban morphology and other areas of study can shed light on this matter.
harrydre wrote:radio wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:We are a stupid lot, yaani hata after that guys are still overlapping and blocking others hapo. Reckless driving at the same spot even after what happened just the other day. Hata kama, ujinga ingine haieleweki, even if the president is angry I mean he can't get his cops to deal with this menace, hizi ni ujinga Sasa. I agree with you. We've brainless drivers on our road. I was in Naivasha yesterday and I noticed reckless driving at the accident spot. Maybe humans are built to self destruct and we've never known. I saw a handful forensic experts collecting evidence with adequate and appropriate gear, next to them a group of 'experts' kondoo Kenyans with zero protection analyzing the situation. These are the people that our local media will rely on to give the public an "informed" story. tycho wrote:Or the road and connection of roads leading to the spot- and other spots- induce a certain psychology that appears to be reckless.
We shouldn't dismiss such coincidences too lightly. Maybe urban morphology and other areas of study can shed light on this matter. As for Tycho, you've had my brains spinning real hard "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
There should be some legal restrictions on transport of such highly inflammable materials.... We should not just be talking about where and how to put bumps only. This accident might just give an idea to al shabab or other like minded groups on how to create terror in future. I hope someone in the internal security in the government has taken up this seriously. The internal security ministry should as soon as possible give direction on how transport of all highly inflammable materials will be carried out.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:radio wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:We are a stupid lot, yaani hata after that guys are still overlapping and blocking others hapo. Reckless driving at the same spot even after what happened just the other day. Hata kama, ujinga ingine haieleweki, even if the president is angry I mean he can't get his cops to deal with this menace, hizi ni ujinga Sasa. I agree with you. We've brainless drivers on our road. I was in Naivasha yesterday and I noticed reckless driving at the accident spot. Maybe humans are built to self destruct and we've never known. I saw a handful forensic experts collecting evidence with adequate and appropriate gear, next to them a group of 'experts' kondoo Kenyans with zero protection analyzing the situation. These are the people that our local media will rely on to give the public an "informed" story. tycho wrote:Or the road and connection of roads leading to the spot- and other spots- induce a certain psychology that appears to be reckless.
We shouldn't dismiss such coincidences too lightly. Maybe urban morphology and other areas of study can shed light on this matter. As for Tycho, you've had my brains spinning real hard Very simple discussion and he decides to morphologically complicate it! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Karai(Naivasha) Accident