wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

6 Pages123>»
Karai(Naivasha) Accident
#1 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 7:23:52 AM

Truck driver with fuel cargo loses control, rams into matatu forcing multiple collisions. Then bursts into flames in big explosion burning vehicles on both sides of the road

40 people dead
#2 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 7:47:37 AM

Truck driver with fuel cargo loses control, rams into matatu forcing multiple collisions. Then bursts into flames in big explosion burning vehicles on both sides of the road

40 people dead

#3 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 9:38:47 AM

40 people dead

I was travelling on this road just recently and was remarking with my companions how dangerous it is for these trucks to be driven on free gear. Then this happens. These drivers need to be reigned in. Where is NTSA?
#4 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 9:51:57 AM

This is extremely sad.May all those who have lost loved ones have strength to bear the loss.

Someone commented about the bumps on that section and I support his sentiments.

How about trucks with such cargo moving only at night?

chemirocha
#5 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 10:20:29 AM

Shak wrote:

40 people dead

I was travelling on this road just recently and was remarking with my companions how dangerous it is for these trucks to be driven on free gear. Then this happens. These drivers need to be reigned in. Where is NTSA?

NTSA are too busy collecting revenue. It was an absurd idea for bumps to be setup on that stretch of road nevermind the lack of signage.
Chaka
#6 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 11:17:56 AM

Shak wrote:

How can one tell that its on free gear?
#7 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 11:54:59 AM

SAD!!!!....The Karai stretch and it's silly bumps has been discussed here before. Listening to a driver who was right behind the truck before it veered off, it seems the truck hit an unmarked bump! There are many in this country and ole you if you are not familiar with them. On another note, what is the marking code for Kenyan road bumps and what are the stand sizes?. For the few i have seen, some as big as a whale, they are marked cross, across, along ,at an angle or painted black altogether!Sad
Theu
#8 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 12:32:22 PM

SAD!!!!....The Karai stretch and it's silly bumps has been discussed here before. Listening to a driver who was right behind the truck before it veered off, it seems the truck hit an unmarked bump! There are many in this country and ole you if you are not familiar with them. On another note, what is the marking code for Kenyan road bumps and what are the stand sizes?. For the few i have seen, some as big as a whale, they are marked cross, across, along ,at an angle or painted black altogether!Sad

Very true. Bumps without any warnings are an accident waiting to happen especially at night. Witnessed an accident near Nanyuki due to unmarked bumps.. NTSA bure kabisa
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 1:20:15 PM

Fare thee well fellow Kenyans.
#10 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 2:18:57 PM

May they rest in peace. We should not have bumps on highways where speed is over 80, if any let them be on exit and local roads where speed limit is less.
#11 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 3:29:41 PM

ati the logic was to erect bumps to prevent deaths.
#12 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 3:37:51 PM

Aren't this heavy cargo vehicles supposed to use Mai Mahiu Road??? Do we really need NTSA?

#13 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 4:12:23 PM

With all those vehicles at that accident spot, it seems they had slowed down due to the bumps. Even if the lorry driver never knew that there were bumps there, he must have seen the vehicles ahead of him and those coming from the opposite direction slowing and done the same. I suspect the brakes of the lorry failed.

Many people here are blaming the bumps for the accident which is wrong. I believe a driver who cant see changing road conditions eg bumps, potholes, or pedestrians/donkeys/mbuzi crossing the road etc and respond appropriately has no business being on the road. That is careless driving. NB. I have seen vehicles ramming into the back of others kwa bumps on Thika road at midday despite huge warning signs that there are bumps ahead, and also presence of rumble strips and markings on the bumps. Even at night these accidents should not happen because vehicles have headlamps that illuminate the road for the driver.
#14 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 4:12:32 PM

Have Kenyans become makondoo such that they need a NTSA officer manning a road at 3am so that they can use the proper road, or use the road properly? Shouldn't these truckers use the road during the day...by law?
chemirocha
#15 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 4:18:45 PM

With all those vehicles at that accident spot, it seems they had slowed down due to the bumps. Even if the lorry driver never knew that there were bumps there, he must have seen the vehicles ahead of him and those coming from the opposite direction slowing and done the same. I suspect the brakes of the lorry failed.

Many people here are blaming the bumps for the accident which is wrong. I believe a driver who cant see changing road conditions eg bumps, potholes, or pedestrians/donkeys/mbuzi crossing the road etc and respond appropriately has no business being on the road. That is careless driving. NB. I have seen vehicles ramming into the back of others kwa bumps on Thika road despite huge warning signs that there are bumps ahead, and also presence of rumble strips and white markings.

Erecting bumps on a highway is criminally wrong road design. That fact cannot be ignored during the investigations into this tragic accident.
#16 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 4:56:19 PM

chemirocha wrote:

Many people here are blaming the bumps for the accident which is wrong. I believe a driver who cant see changing road conditions eg bumps, potholes, or pedestrians/donkeys/mbuzi crossing the road etc and respond appropriately has no business being on the road. That is careless driving. NB. I have seen vehicles ramming into the back of others kwa bumps on Thika road despite huge warning signs that there are bumps ahead, and also presence of rumble strips and white markings.

Erecting bumps on a highway is criminally wrong road design. That fact cannot be ignored during the investigations into this tragic accident.

Bumps can reduce accidents. For instance since they erected bumps on the sachangwany - Salgaa section accidents have reduced since truck drivers are no longer free wheeling as they go downhill and losing control of their vehicles.

Also there are many bumps on that road from Kinungi upto eldoret and beyond and they have been there for yrs and they have saved many lives. So you can't say its wrong to have bumps on a highway. The issue with the current accident is that the accident lorry was carrying flammable cargo that spilled and caused a huge fire.
chemirocha
#17 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 5:28:12 PM

chemirocha wrote:

Bumps can reduce accidents. For instance since they erected bumps on the sachangwany - Salgaa section accidents have reduced since truck drivers are no longer free wheeling as they go downhill and losing control of their vehicles.

Also there are many bumps on that road from Kinungi upto eldoret and beyond and they have been there for yrs and they have saved many lives. So you can't say its wrong to have bumps on a highway. The issue with the current accident is that the accident lorry was carrying flammable cargo that spilled and caused a huge fire.

Ideally traffic on a highway should flow continuously at speed and introducing bumps is an unnecessary hazard to all road users.

The Sachangwan stretch is narrow, poorly lit and always busy. It would be dishonest to claim that the freewheeling morons are the leading cause of accidents on that section of the highway.
#18 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 5:32:48 PM

chemirocha wrote:
Shak wrote:

40 people dead

NTSA are too busy collecting revenue. It was an absurd idea for bumps to be setup on that stretch of road nevermind the lack of signage.

From some pictures in the blogs I see some "rapids" before the bups..the rapids are three mini bumps...I think these are meant to warn the driver of an impending BIG bump.
My only proble is I dont know the distnce between these "rapids" and the BIG bump.

The ones on the Thika Superhighway are so close to the main bumps/zebras that they rarely help at all.

#19 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 5:38:03 PM

Aren't this heavy cargo vehicles supposed to use Mai Mahiu Road??? Do we really need NTSA?

I ma told this lorry was a small mini tanker, same engine as a canter...it was not a tanker as our hogwash media is crying!

#20 Posted : Sunday, December 11, 2016 5:39:49 PM

chemirocha wrote:

Ideally traffic on a highway should flow continuously at speed and introducing bumps is an unnecessary hazard to all road users.

The Sachangwan stretch is narrow, poorly lit and always busy. It would be dishonest to claim that the freewheeling morons are the leading cause of accidents on that section of the highway.

Would you call that road a highway? Bumps are placed at sections where pedestrians are more likely to cross the road